iRoomba iRobot Plugin

Posted on
Tue Oct 16, 2018 10:53 pm
MarcoGT offline
Posts: 641
Joined: Sep 11, 2014
Location: Germany

Re: iRoomba 980 iRobot Plugin

I plan to buy a roomba, but the 980 would be too expensive for my needs; the 690 would it be fine but I read the firmware v3 is not supported by this plugin.
Any plan to have it supported? I assume only one the 980 will move to v3 too, am I right?

Thanks

Posted on
Tue Oct 16, 2018 11:31 pm
GlennNZ offline
Posts: 617
Joined: Dec 07, 2014
Location: Central Coast, Australia

iRoomba 980 iRobot Plugin

MarcoGT wrote:
I plan to buy a roomba, but the 980 would be too expensive for my needs; the 690 would it be fine but I read the firmware v3 is not supported by this plugin.
Any plan to have it supported? I assume only one the 980 will move to v3 too, am I right
Thanks


Hi
No plans to add support for it - but happy to try; which can be a bit difficult remotely.

Base library seems to not support; but in theory and from what I can tell should remain possible.

Edit:
Further review of other code seems possible but 690 does not support same level of options as i7 and 980. But should be able to shutdown those issues with some debug logging and trial and error which willingly to have a go at.

Remotely possible that new changes to plugin for i7 and i7+ compatibility may actually support 690 already (i7 is on firmware 3 currently)....
remains to be tested....

Glenn

Posted on
Tue Nov 27, 2018 6:43 am
deuan offline
Posts: 28
Joined: Jan 03, 2018

Re: iRomba 980 iRobot Plugin

Warning, this may be a dumb question.

I am trying to use the get password by pressing and holding the home button but I never hear any beeps and the get password always fails with a time out. I have the correct ip as I have fixed it.

Anyone else know how to get my missing beeps :)
Thanks

Posted on
Tue Nov 27, 2018 7:08 am
deuan offline
Posts: 28
Joined: Jan 03, 2018

Re: iRoomba 980 iRobot Plugin

On a closer look at the logs I see this error and my robot does not play beeps it plays a bunch of tones. ;)

Error (client) timeout waiting for plugin response from com.GlennNZ.indigoplugin.irobot for request UiAction
iRobot-Roomba blid is: 3168061234567890
iRobot-Roomba Password=> :1:0909898988:ZQRaueVQqqqqqqqqq<= Yes, all this string.
iRobot-Roomba Error Error in plugin execution UiAction:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "plugin.py", line 318, in getRoombaPassword
File "/Library/Application Support/Perceptive Automation/Indigo 7.2/Plugins/iRobot-Roomba.indigoPlugin/Contents/Server Plugin/roomba.py", line 102, in __init__
File "/Library/Application Support/Perceptive Automation/Indigo 7.2/Plugins/iRobot-Roomba.indigoPlugin/Contents/Server Plugin/roomba.py", line 225, in get_password
File "/Library/Python/2.7/site-packages/configparser.py", line 1232, in set
File "/Library/Python/2.7/site-packages/configparser.py", line 1219, in _validate_value_types
TypeError: option values must be strings

Any ideas?

Posted on
Tue Nov 27, 2018 1:44 pm
Different Computers offline
User avatar
Posts: 1903
Joined: Jan 02, 2016
Location: East Coast

Re: iRoomba 980 iRobot Plugin

From reviews my understanding is the 985 is the same brain as the 980, but when I try to get the password and connect the plugin to the 985, it times out. Haven't looked at any logs yet, but curious if this suggests that in fact the 985 isn't compatible.

SmartThings refugee, so happy to be on Indigo. 10.13.6 on an i5 MBP w/Harmony Hub, Hue, DomoPad, Dynamic URL, Device Extensions, HomeKit Bridge, MatplotLib, Plex, uniFAP, Wunderground, Nanoleaf, LED Simple Effects, Airfoil Pro, Grafana.

Posted on
Tue Nov 27, 2018 2:16 pm
GlennNZ offline
Posts: 617
Joined: Dec 07, 2014
Location: Central Coast, Australia

Re: iRoomba 980 iRobot Plugin

deuan wrote:
On a closer look at the logs I see this error and my robot does not play beeps it plays a bunch of tones. ;)

Error (client) timeout waiting for plugin response from com.GlennNZ.indigoplugin.irobot for request UiAction
iRobot-Roomba blid is: 3168061234567890
iRobot-Roomba Password=> :1:0909898988:ZQRaueVQqqqqqqqqq<= Yes, all this string.
iRobot-Roomba Error Error in plugin execution UiAction:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "plugin.py", line 318, in getRoombaPassword
File "/Library/Application Support/Perceptive Automation/Indigo 7.2/Plugins/iRobot-Roomba.indigoPlugin/Contents/Server Plugin/roomba.py", line 102, in __init__
File "/Library/Application Support/Perceptive Automation/Indigo 7.2/Plugins/iRobot-Roomba.indigoPlugin/Contents/Server Plugin/roomba.py", line 225, in get_password
File "/Library/Python/2.7/site-packages/configparser.py", line 1232, in set
File "/Library/Python/2.7/site-packages/configparser.py", line 1219, in _validate_value_types
TypeError: option values must be strings

Any ideas?


Thanks
Will need the whole debug log from you trying to connect.

The good news - is it seems to get the password just something failing further downstream so hopefully will be fixable.

Just restart plugin with all debug options on, try to connect a you have done here and PM me the log and I’ll do my best to fix!
Also would be great to get the {IP}.config file that is saved in Username/Documents/Roomba directory to double check as well.

Glenn

Posted on
Tue Nov 27, 2018 6:10 pm
ckeyes888 offline
Posts: 2101
Joined: Nov 26, 2009
Location: Kalispell, MT

Re: iRoomba 980 iRobot Plugin

Different Computers wrote:
From reviews my understanding is the 985 is the same brain as the 980, but when I try to get the password and connect the plugin to the 985, it times out. Haven't looked at any logs yet, but curious if this suggests that in fact the 985 isn't compatible.


I have a 985 and it works beautifully with the plugin.

Carl

Posted on
Tue Nov 27, 2018 6:24 pm
GlennNZ offline
Posts: 617
Joined: Dec 07, 2014
Location: Central Coast, Australia

Re: iRoomba 980 iRobot Plugin

Different Computers wrote:
From reviews my understanding is the 985 is the same brain as the 980, but when I try to get the password and connect the plugin to the 985, it times out. Haven't looked at any logs yet, but curious if this suggests that in fact the 985 isn't compatible.

ckeyes888 wrote:
Different Computers wrote:
From reviews my understanding is the 985 is the same brain as the 980, but when I try to get the password and connect the plugin to the 985, it times out. Haven't looked at any logs yet, but curious if this suggests that in fact the 985 isn't compatible.

I have a 985 and it works beautifully with the plugin.
Carl


Thanks for the 985 feedback; Good to know.

The timeout is expected - as the handshake with iRoomba takes more time than the Indigo dialog likes. (and preferred not to thread this code off - as is only done once)

But it still should complete correctly and show log message or error otherwise.
(so essntially ignore the timeout box)

Glenn

Posted on
Tue Nov 27, 2018 9:51 pm
deuan offline
Posts: 28
Joined: Jan 03, 2018

Re: iRoomba 980 iRobot Plugin

Hi, Here is the debug stuff

iRobot-Roomba Debug checkALlRoombas called.
iRobot-Roomba Debug self.connected equals:False& self.continuous equals:True
iRobot-Roomba Debug getRoombaPassword called: 1294032638
iRobot-Roomba File should equal:/Users/media/Documents/Indigo-iRobotRoomba/10.10.10.44-config.ini
iRobot-Roomba Debug waiting on port: 5678 for data
iRobot-Roomba Debug found 1 Roombas
iRobot-Roomba Make sure your robot (Roomba) at IP 10.10.10.44 is on the Home Base and powered on (green lights on). Then press and hold the HOME button on your robot until it plays a series of tones (about 2 seconds). Release the button and your robot will flash WIFI light.
iRobot-Roomba Debug Received: {
"robotname": "Roomba",
"sku": "R980000",
"nc": 0,
"ver": "3",
"proto": "mqtt",
"ip": "10.10.10.44",
"hostname": "Roomba-3168062401005790",
"sw": "v2.4.6-3",
"mac": "80:C5:F2:CF:D7:A1",
"cap": {
"carpetBoost": 1,
"pp": 1,
"langOta": 1,
"binFullDetect": 1,
"ota": 2,
"maps": 1,
"pose": 1,
"eco": 1,
"multiPass": 2,
"edge": 1,
"svcConf": 1
}
}
iRobot-Roomba Debug

Roomba (Roomba) IP address is: 10.10.10.44
Error (client) timeout waiting for plugin response from com.GlennNZ.indigoplugin.irobot for request UiAction
iRobot-Roomba blid is: 3168061111111111
iRobot-Roomba Password=> :1:1543305397:ZQRaue1111111111 <= Yes, all this string.
iRobot-Roomba Error Error in plugin execution UiAction:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "plugin.py", line 318, in getRoombaPassword
File "/Library/Application Support/Perceptive Automation/Indigo 7.2/Plugins/iRobot-Roomba.indigoPlugin/Contents/Server Plugin/roomba.py", line 102, in __init__
File "/Library/Application Support/Perceptive Automation/Indigo 7.2/Plugins/iRobot-Roomba.indigoPlugin/Contents/Server Plugin/roomba.py", line 225, in get_password
File "/Library/Python/2.7/site-packages/configparser.py", line 1232, in set
File "/Library/Python/2.7/site-packages/configparser.py", line 1219, in _validate_value_types
TypeError: option values must be strings
iRobot-Roomba Checking for updates...
iRobot-Roomba Debug Plugin version detected: 0.3.1
iRobot-Roomba Debug Current version is: 0.3.1
iRobot-Roomba Debug Getting latest release from ghawken/Indigo-iRobotRoomba...
iRobot-Roomba Debug GET /repos/ghawken/Indigo-iRobotRoomba/releases/latest
iRobot-Roomba Debug HTTP 200 OK
iRobot-Roomba Debug Latest release is: 0.3.1
iRobot-Roomba No updates are available

I don't appear to have an {ip}.config file, I have search the mac, perhaps I am wrong because I don't use mac's much so i am running on very limited knowledge of the file system.

Thanks
Duncan

Posted on
Tue Nov 27, 2018 11:01 pm
GlennNZ offline
Posts: 617
Joined: Dec 07, 2014
Location: Central Coast, Australia

Re: iRoomba 980 iRobot Plugin

deuan wrote:
Hi, Here is the debug stuff
I don't appear to have an {ip}.config file, I have search the mac, perhaps I am wrong because I don't use mac's much so i am running on very limited knowledge of the file system.

Thanks
Duncan


Great.
Thanks. Give me ten minutes and I'll have a test build ready..

Sorry further question - what iRoomba Model is this?

G

Posted on
Tue Nov 27, 2018 11:06 pm
deuan offline
Posts: 28
Joined: Jan 03, 2018

Re: iRoomba 980 iRobot Plugin

it's the 980

Posted on
Tue Nov 27, 2018 11:29 pm
GlennNZ offline
Posts: 617
Joined: Dec 07, 2014
Location: Central Coast, Australia

Re: iRoomba 980 iRobot Plugin

deuan wrote:
it's the 980


Thanks
Have you changed some of the output above - specifically adding a whole lot of 1s?

Posted on
Tue Nov 27, 2018 11:59 pm
deuan offline
Posts: 28
Joined: Jan 03, 2018

Re: iRoomba 980 iRobot Plugin

Yes, I am unsure of how sensitive the data is.

Posted on
Wed Nov 28, 2018 12:00 am
deuan offline
Posts: 28
Joined: Jan 03, 2018

Re: iRoomba 980 iRobot Plugin

just a note, I did not add 1's I too out 10 characters and replaced them with 1's :)

Posted on
Wed Nov 28, 2018 12:02 am
GlennNZ offline
Posts: 617
Joined: Dec 07, 2014
Location: Central Coast, Australia

Re: iRoomba 980 iRobot Plugin

deuan wrote:
just a note, I did not add 1's I too out 10 characters and replaced them with 1's :)


Sorry - spent the last hour trying to figure out how the blid was a buggered as it was and thought a firmware change....
:shock:

Page 5 of 9 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron