Shelly I3 and 3.0

Posted on
Thu Mar 25, 2021 2:48 am
tazswe offline
Posts: 204
Joined: Mar 13, 2017
Location: Sweden

Shelly I3 and 3.0

Upgraded from 2.3 to 3.0 and it is working with my Shelly 1 and 2.5 but my I3 stopped working.

Downgraded to 2.3 and they started to work again.

Obviously something was changed in version 2.4 that effect my I3 but not my Shelly 1 & 2.5.

Anybody else that can share their experience with I3 and the latest releases?


Sent from my iPad with Tapatalk

Posted on
Thu Mar 25, 2021 5:29 am
CliveS offline
Posts: 657
Joined: Jan 10, 2016
Location: Medomsley, County Durham, UK

Re: Shelly I3 and 3.0


CliveS

Indigo 2021.1.1 : macOS Big Sur 11.6.5 : MacBook Retina 2014 : 2 .6 GHz Dual Core i5. : 8 GB. : Samsung 970 1TB EVO SSD
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The best way to get the right answer on the Internet is not to ask a question, it's to post the wrong answer

Posted on
Thu Mar 25, 2021 2:29 pm
aaronlionsheep offline
Posts: 192
Joined: Feb 24, 2019
Location: Virginia, USA

Re: Shelly I3 and 3.0

tazswe wrote:
Obviously something was changed in version 0.2.4 that effect my I3 but not my Shelly 1 & 2.5.


You could be on to something here. Previously, ShellyMQTT automatically subscribed to the individual topics for each device. This was fine in the early days when a setup consisted of a handful of devices, but this results in too many subscriptions when more devices are added.

The change in 0.2.4 was that ShellyMQTT stops subscribing to the topics automatically. Now, you just need to manually add the subscription "shellies/#" to the MQTTConnector broker device. What I would recommend you do is stop the ShellyMQTT plugin and then perform this manual subscription. The reason is that stopping will cause the old topics to be unsubscribed and it will make your subscription list cleaner.

Here is an example of my Broker subscriptions:
Screen Shot 2021-03-25 at 4.22.16 PM.png
Screen Shot 2021-03-25 at 4.22.16 PM.png (138.12 KiB) Viewed 947 times


I have a single trigger that matches on "shellies" and ANY (the keyword, not the actual word "ANY") and this goes to the message type of "shellies". ALL of my devices use this same message type. You mentioned that your Shelly 1 and Shelly 2.5 still worked after the upgrade, so I'm guessing you might have manually subscribed to these devices.

Also, 0.2.4 and 0.2.5 have known bugs, so 0.3.0 or newer is what I recommend. Let me know if you have any other questions/issues.

Thanks,
Aaron

Posted on
Fri Mar 26, 2021 2:57 am
tazswe offline
Posts: 204
Joined: Mar 13, 2017
Location: Sweden

Re: Shelly I3 and 3.0

Thanks, I changed the broker subscriptions according to your instructions and now is it working again with 3.0


Sent from my iPad with Tapatalk

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest