Upgrade to Python 3?

Posted on
Mon Jul 18, 2022 9:32 am
gskarp offline
Posts: 143
Joined: Apr 19, 2012

Upgrade to Python 3?

Just wondering if this will be updated for use with future versions of Indigo.

Posted on
Mon Jul 10, 2023 5:10 pm
vtmikel offline
Posts: 643
Joined: Aug 31, 2012
Location: Boston, MA

Re: Upgrade to Python 3?

Wondering the same! This plugin has been a staple for my system for some time. How else will I automatically turn up the volume of my kitchen zone when I get something from the fridge! :)

Posted on
Fri Nov 24, 2023 9:39 am
srkinard offline
Posts: 320
Joined: Apr 10, 2016
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Upgrade to Python 3?

Just updated to 2023.1.1 for the improvements, and this is the only Plugin I use that's not compatible. Are there any plans to update it? I use this to console two different Onkyo Receivers I have...control power states, trigger off power states, set volume levels at evening schedules, switch inputs, etc.

They are the central hardware in both my HT setups.

Thanks
Ross

Posted on
Thu Jan 11, 2024 10:01 pm
srkinard offline
Posts: 320
Joined: Apr 10, 2016
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Upgrade to Python 3?

Hoping this plugin isn't abandoned at this point...

Posted on
Thu Feb 08, 2024 4:15 pm
gillekes offline
Posts: 57
Joined: Oct 28, 2011

Re: Upgrade to Python 3?

I also hope the plugin gets updated.

Gilles

Posted on
Wed Mar 06, 2024 7:14 am
bluehouse offline
Posts: 22
Joined: May 04, 2011

Re: Upgrade to Python 3?

I wasn’t even aware of this plugin until I saw this thread. I’d add one more vote for a request to update.

I use the Pioneer plugin daily and appreciate the work Dave did for that python 3 update. Adding the Onkyo plugin would fill the house with automated sound!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Sun Mar 10, 2024 12:35 pm
vtmikel offline
Posts: 643
Joined: Aug 31, 2012
Location: Boston, MA

Re: Upgrade to Python 3?

I've attempted to convert the plugin to Python 3 but it's beyond my skill.

Posted on
Sun Mar 10, 2024 3:21 pm
srkinard offline
Posts: 320
Joined: Apr 10, 2016
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Upgrade to Python 3?

Honestly, I just finally moved to Home Assistant OS running on a N100-based mini PC. Had a good long run with Indigo, but there's a lot of integrations that HA has that Indigo doesn't. Now tied into my Litter Robot, my Bambu Labs printer, ESP32 nodes, etc. Plus, HA detected all my existing Z-wave nodes, showed me some of them needed firmware updates and processed them for me. Planning to move soon so I figured I'd learn it so I'd set up the new place better.

Posted on
Sun Mar 10, 2024 6:13 pm
norcoscia offline
User avatar
Posts: 1206
Joined: Sep 09, 2015

Re: Upgrade to Python 3?

Wow, are you saying you just stuck your indigo Z Wave stick into your HA box and it had access to all your devices - just wondering because if it can just be unplugged from indigo and plugged into HA it would be a great way to get Z Wave FW updates in (assuming you could do that and then just put it back into your Indigo machine.)

Has anyone tried this?

_______
Norm

Posted on
Sun Mar 10, 2024 6:59 pm
srkinard offline
Posts: 320
Joined: Apr 10, 2016
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Upgrade to Python 3?

I did....nothing edits the nodes in the USB stick memory. I was able to move the Z-Stick back to the Indigo mini and pick up where I was...I did that twice until I got some of the automations done.

Posted on
Sun Mar 10, 2024 7:02 pm
srkinard offline
Posts: 320
Joined: Apr 10, 2016
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Upgrade to Python 3?

You'll need the Z-wave JS integration in HA, then give it about 20-30 minutes to talk to all the nodes it sees. You may need to wake some of them if they are battery powered.
But 2 of my Aeon Labs MultiSensor 6 devices had firmware updates, one of my GE modules, and one or two others.

Posted on
Sun Mar 10, 2024 10:36 pm
killerdan56 offline
Posts: 10
Joined: Feb 04, 2024

Re: Upgrade to Python 3?

Lol trying asking AI to update the code
https://www.perplexity.ai/

make account and upload the script then ask it to do whatever u need. See what it says.

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest