REMOTE debugging with PyCharm

Discuss the Indigo Plugin SDK and developing Indigo plugins here.
brettlid
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 8:44 pm
Location: Fort Worth, TX

REMOTE debugging with PyCharm

Post by brettlid »

Remote debugging with PyCharm

I was able to successfully get the debugging to work with PyCharm, although not without some errors. (It's pretty cool!)

I decided to give the experimental remote debugging a try. Im not sure what to use as the local and remote path mappings. I've tried lots of different combinations but nothing seems to work. Do use the paths from the local machine's perspective... or do I use a path from the remote computer's perspective?

https://wiki.indigodomo.com/doku.php?id ... perimental

examples would be really helpful from anyone who's got it working.

Thanks, Brett
Last edited by brettlid on Mon Apr 29, 2024 11:44 am, edited 1 time in total.
ryanbuckner
Posts: 1086
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2011 12:33 pm
Location: Northern Virginia
Contact:

Re: Remote debugging with PyCharm

Post by ryanbuckner »

Thanks for going dow this road? Would you mind recording or documenting your step by step? A lot of us would love to use this
User avatar
DaveL17
Posts: 6831
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 11:02 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Contact:

Re: Remote debugging with PyCharm

Post by DaveL17 »

The step by step instructions here should be all you need to get it going. If you can't get it working after following these instructions, post back.

https://wiki.indigodomo.com/doku.php?id ... nt#pycharm
I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]
brettlid
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 8:44 pm
Location: Fort Worth, TX

Re: Remote debugging with PyCharm

Post by brettlid »

Yep followed those instructions. My questions specifically are related to the path mapping. What do I use? A working example would be great. The standard debugging path maps don’t work.

Thanks Brett
User avatar
DaveL17
Posts: 6831
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 11:02 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Contact:

Re: Remote debugging with PyCharm

Post by DaveL17 »

I can post an example from my environment, but it's set up using those instructions.

I take the Indigo plugin file from my development folder and create a symbolic link to it in the Indigo plugins folder.

Code: Select all

ln -s /Users/Dave/PycharmProjects/Announcements/Announcements.indigoPlugin /Library/Application Support/Perceptive Automation/Indigo 2023.2/Plugins
Then in PyCharm path mapping, I put the path to my development environment under local path:

Code: Select all

/Users/Dave/PycharmProjects/Announcements/Announcements.indigoPlugin
and the path to the plugins folder where the symbolic link now resides under remote path.

Code: Select all

/Library/Application Support/Perceptive Automation/Indigo 2023.2/Plugins/Announcements.indigoPlugin
That has always worked for me. If you have done this and it's not working, then I'm guessing something else is to blame.
I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]
brettlid
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 8:44 pm
Location: Fort Worth, TX

Re: Remote debugging with PyCharm

Post by brettlid »

Is that all done on the local machine or the remote machine?

Thanks, Brett
User avatar
DaveL17
Posts: 6831
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 11:02 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Contact:

Re: Remote debugging with PyCharm

Post by DaveL17 »

All of it is done on the SAME machine.

As far as I know, nobody has worked out a way to work debugging over the network -- although I might have missed something on that.
I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]
brettlid
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 8:44 pm
Location: Fort Worth, TX

Re: Remote debugging with PyCharm

Post by brettlid »

There is a paragraph about it in the setting up a development environment

https://wiki.indigodomo.com/doku.php?id ... perimental
Last edited by brettlid on Mon Apr 29, 2024 10:04 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
DaveL17
Posts: 6831
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 11:02 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Contact:

Re: Remote debugging with PyCharm

Post by DaveL17 »

I've never tried that setup (and clearly never read that far down the page). I've always done remote debugging from the machine running Indigo.
I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]
brettlid
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 8:44 pm
Location: Fort Worth, TX

Re: Remote debugging with PyCharm

Post by brettlid »

Thanks anyways!
User avatar
jay (support)
Site Admin
Posts: 18317
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Austin, Texas
Contact:

Re: REMOTE debugging with PyCharm

Post by jay (support) »

The path setup would be the same as described above: local path would be the path to the plugin on the Mac you're developing from, the remote path would be the full path to the plugin on the remote Mac.

Note, this is still quite experimental and is not a configuration that any of us actually develop with, so YMMV. I got it working at one point, but any number of environmental and config settings could cause issues (including newer versions of PyCharm since we haven't tested it in a while).
Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn
brettlid
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 8:44 pm
Location: Fort Worth, TX

Re: REMOTE debugging with PyCharm

Post by brettlid »

Thanks!

That's what I was looking for. I didn't want to keep trying stuff if I didn't have it set up right.
Post Reply

Return to “Plugin SDK and Development”