GE Caddx NX-8E

Posted on
Wed Oct 10, 2018 9:22 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5831
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: GE Caddx NX-8E

Ian,

which version are you using.. the original or my modified version?

Karl

Posted on
Wed Oct 10, 2018 9:53 pm
lanbrown offline
Posts: 597
Joined: Sep 26, 2017

Re: GE Caddx NX-8E

Karl,

I'm using your version since you refined the plugin, removed some errors, etc.

I'm using a network socket connect to a Perle IOLAN
Attachments
Screen Shot 2018-10-10 at 10.49.50 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-10-10 at 10.49.50 PM.png (167.37 KiB) Viewed 200 times

Posted on
Thu Oct 11, 2018 10:01 am
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5831
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: GE Caddx NX-8E

Ian,
1. checking the connection: create a schedule/action request interface Config ... then check variable Caddx_securityState. That should do it

2. on # of zone. I do not see any limits (besides<999) in the plugin for # of zones. BUT I have only 8 zones, and no extension module, so I can not really test that


hope that helps.

Karl

Posted on
Thu Oct 11, 2018 10:09 am
lanbrown offline
Posts: 597
Joined: Sep 26, 2017

Re: GE Caddx NX-8E

Karl,

I will see what happens after the NX-216E module is installed. If it stays at 8 zones, then I guess there is a limit. If it goes to 24 then we know it is dynamic.

Posted on
Fri Oct 12, 2018 6:17 pm
lanbrown offline
Posts: 597
Joined: Sep 26, 2017

Re: GE Caddx NX-8E

Karl,

So I did a quick and dirty install of the module. I'm awaiting the second cabinet to come in as I'm out of room in the current one. Three additional modules, the wiring, battery and serial to ethernet converter all just won't fit.

The system went into alarm state since no resistors or contact sensors are connected to the additional 16 zones. The system does see the board as the NX-595E using the DLX900 showed 5 modules whereas I had 4 before and the new one says hardwired expansion. I went to create a new devices in Indigo, I selected Caddx as the device and then security zone and it still only showed 8. I looked into the NX-595E via the webpage and it now shows an additional 8 zones. I'll have to see why it only sees 16 and not 24 are listed.

I also realize that this is not your plugin either, you just did some cleanup on it.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2018-10-12 at 7.04.33 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-10-12 at 7.04.33 PM.png (195.12 KiB) Viewed 146 times
Screen Shot 2018-10-12 at 7.03.35 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-10-12 at 7.03.35 PM.png (450.64 KiB) Viewed 146 times

Posted on
Fri Oct 12, 2018 10:30 pm
lanbrown offline
Posts: 597
Joined: Sep 26, 2017

Re: GE Caddx NX-8E

So I figured out why I can only see 16 zones.....the panel won't support more than 16. The NX-8V2 can support up to 48 and the NX-8E can support up to 192. So it looks like I'll need to upgrade to an NX-8E to get the zones. Too bad I already have a second cabinet coming as a new panel includes the cabinet. I guess I'll just take the current one down and put the new one up with the second cabinet. Then the fun or programming everything. At least this way if I had to I can put it back as long as I keep track of what cable bundle goes where. I guess in the beginning I just configure the new to work like the current. Once it is working move on to getting it how I want.

Now as to only being able to see 8 zones. Karl, in the menu display box, is it limited to only showing 8 zones? Maybe the plugin supports it but the menu display does not?

Posted on
Sat Oct 13, 2018 12:11 am
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5831
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: GE Caddx NX-8E

Will check tomorrow.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Sat Oct 13, 2018 12:18 am
lanbrown offline
Posts: 597
Joined: Sep 26, 2017

Re: GE Caddx NX-8E

Thank you.

Posted on
Sat Oct 13, 2018 12:02 pm
lanbrown offline
Posts: 597
Joined: Sep 26, 2017

Re: GE Caddx NX-8E

Karl,

I took a look at the files in the plugin and it can support more than 8 zones; the default is just to show 8 zones.

Posted on
Sat Oct 13, 2018 4:52 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5831
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: GE Caddx NX-8E

https://www.dropbox.com/s/n7znyi3hwnrai6q/Caddx%20Security%20System-v-7.4.3.zip?dl=1

modified: all device dialog boxes go now from 1-32 instead of 1-8. hope that is enough.
not tested As I only have 8 zones /partitions


Karl

we can go to any number you like thats an easy mod

Posted on
Sat Oct 13, 2018 6:37 pm
lanbrown offline
Posts: 597
Joined: Sep 26, 2017

Re: GE Caddx NX-8E

Karl,

Thank you. Hopefully I will be able to fully test it next weekend when the NX-8E has arrived and is in. This way it will get me to the 24 zone mark.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest