GE Caddx NX-8E

Posted on
Wed Oct 10, 2018 9:22 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 6020
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: GE Caddx NX-8E

Ian,

which version are you using.. the original or my modified version?

Karl

Posted on
Wed Oct 10, 2018 9:53 pm
lanbrown offline
Posts: 724
Joined: Sep 26, 2017

Re: GE Caddx NX-8E

Karl,

I'm using your version since you refined the plugin, removed some errors, etc.

I'm using a network socket connect to a Perle IOLAN
Attachments
Screen Shot 2018-10-10 at 10.49.50 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-10-10 at 10.49.50 PM.png (167.37 KiB) Viewed 370 times

Posted on
Thu Oct 11, 2018 10:01 am
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 6020
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: GE Caddx NX-8E

Ian,
1. checking the connection: create a schedule/action request interface Config ... then check variable Caddx_securityState. That should do it

2. on # of zone. I do not see any limits (besides<999) in the plugin for # of zones. BUT I have only 8 zones, and no extension module, so I can not really test that


hope that helps.

Karl

Posted on
Thu Oct 11, 2018 10:09 am
lanbrown offline
Posts: 724
Joined: Sep 26, 2017

Re: GE Caddx NX-8E

Karl,

I will see what happens after the NX-216E module is installed. If it stays at 8 zones, then I guess there is a limit. If it goes to 24 then we know it is dynamic.

Posted on
Fri Oct 12, 2018 6:17 pm
lanbrown offline
Posts: 724
Joined: Sep 26, 2017

Re: GE Caddx NX-8E

Karl,

So I did a quick and dirty install of the module. I'm awaiting the second cabinet to come in as I'm out of room in the current one. Three additional modules, the wiring, battery and serial to ethernet converter all just won't fit.

The system went into alarm state since no resistors or contact sensors are connected to the additional 16 zones. The system does see the board as the NX-595E using the DLX900 showed 5 modules whereas I had 4 before and the new one says hardwired expansion. I went to create a new devices in Indigo, I selected Caddx as the device and then security zone and it still only showed 8. I looked into the NX-595E via the webpage and it now shows an additional 8 zones. I'll have to see why it only sees 16 and not 24 are listed.

I also realize that this is not your plugin either, you just did some cleanup on it.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2018-10-12 at 7.04.33 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-10-12 at 7.04.33 PM.png (195.12 KiB) Viewed 316 times
Screen Shot 2018-10-12 at 7.03.35 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-10-12 at 7.03.35 PM.png (450.64 KiB) Viewed 316 times

Posted on
Fri Oct 12, 2018 10:30 pm
lanbrown offline
Posts: 724
Joined: Sep 26, 2017

Re: GE Caddx NX-8E

So I figured out why I can only see 16 zones.....the panel won't support more than 16. The NX-8V2 can support up to 48 and the NX-8E can support up to 192. So it looks like I'll need to upgrade to an NX-8E to get the zones. Too bad I already have a second cabinet coming as a new panel includes the cabinet. I guess I'll just take the current one down and put the new one up with the second cabinet. Then the fun or programming everything. At least this way if I had to I can put it back as long as I keep track of what cable bundle goes where. I guess in the beginning I just configure the new to work like the current. Once it is working move on to getting it how I want.

Now as to only being able to see 8 zones. Karl, in the menu display box, is it limited to only showing 8 zones? Maybe the plugin supports it but the menu display does not?

Posted on
Sat Oct 13, 2018 12:11 am
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 6020
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: GE Caddx NX-8E

Will check tomorrow.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Sat Oct 13, 2018 12:18 am
lanbrown offline
Posts: 724
Joined: Sep 26, 2017

Re: GE Caddx NX-8E

Thank you.

Posted on
Sat Oct 13, 2018 12:02 pm
lanbrown offline
Posts: 724
Joined: Sep 26, 2017

Re: GE Caddx NX-8E

Karl,

I took a look at the files in the plugin and it can support more than 8 zones; the default is just to show 8 zones.

Posted on
Sat Oct 13, 2018 4:52 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 6020
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: GE Caddx NX-8E

https://www.dropbox.com/s/n7znyi3hwnrai6q/Caddx%20Security%20System-v-7.4.3.zip?dl=1

modified: all device dialog boxes go now from 1-32 instead of 1-8. hope that is enough.
not tested As I only have 8 zones /partitions


Karl

we can go to any number you like thats an easy mod

Posted on
Sat Oct 13, 2018 6:37 pm
lanbrown offline
Posts: 724
Joined: Sep 26, 2017

Re: GE Caddx NX-8E

Karl,

Thank you. Hopefully I will be able to fully test it next weekend when the NX-8E has arrived and is in. This way it will get me to the 24 zone mark.

Posted on
Mon Dec 10, 2018 5:55 pm
lanbrown offline
Posts: 724
Joined: Sep 26, 2017

Re: GE Caddx NX-8E

What an ordeal going with an NX-8E has been. The first order I placed, I never got shipping information, I called the company twice, left a message and even emailed. Never heard a thing, so I had to dispute the charge for the panel. I ordered from another company and received that panel a few weeks ago. I bought a spare adapter so I could perform some of the config before replacement. I would say that the NX-586E to connect to the panel makes things easier; it has three alligator clips; Pos, Com and Data. This allows the DLX900 (Windows) software to be used and the panel data can be read, written to, etc. Don't go with the NX-588E as that is the USB version but there are no new drivers to support current versions of Windows. Unless you really like programming through the keypad, I strongly suggest using the DLX900 software with the above mentioned adapter.

New panel was installed, all modules enrolled (NX-216E 16 zone expansion), NX-595E (Ethernet module) and the NX-584E (serial board). Enrollment is quick and easy with the software; you just tell it to enroll the modules. I could have used the onboard serial port, but you need a special cable and I already had the serial board, plus the serial board handles higher baud rates.

I also added a second cabinet which houses the serial port board, the Ethernet board and the serial-to-Ethernet adapter. The first cabinet has the battery, the panel, the wiring and the expansion module.

I still have to split the wiring out, so I'm still at 6 zones. I didn't have heat shrink tubing small enough for the wiring/resistor. Amazon will be delivering some tomorrow. I'll be using 21 of the 24 zones; so a big step up from just six zones. Right now the setup is a little ugly but will tidy it up when I split the wiring up. I'm also going to add a piece of conduit that goes between the cabinets.

Attached is what I have so far. Hopefully by the end of this coming weekend I'll have it all done and be able to test how the plugin works with 21 active zones.

I'm amazed at Caddx protocol in that it really takes very little bandwidth for the updates and the control. The original author of the plugin must have spent a lot of time going through the documentation to create it. In the past 24 hours 18KB of data has been received and 7KB transmitted. That is with a door being opened many times (dog likes to go in and out), a status update about every 15 minutes and the time and date being set.

Good job by Karl updating the plugin as well.
Attachments
20181209_162034.jpg
20181209_162034.jpg (462.29 KiB) Viewed 76 times

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 0 guests