Touch Portal Plugin - Bug Reports

Posted on
Tue Jul 21, 2020 5:46 am
DaveL17 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5527
Joined: Aug 20, 2013
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Touch Portal Plugin - Bug Reports

Please report any bugs using this thread.

I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]

Posted on
Sat Jul 25, 2020 4:34 pm
Colly offline
Posts: 347
Joined: Jan 16, 2016
Location: Ireland

Re: Touch Portal Plugin - Bug Reports

Hi Dave & Autolog,
I'm surprised I'm the first to post on your new plugin - it will be another great addition to the family I'm sure. I decided to take the plunge earlier and purchase the App for a spare Fire tablet I had lying around. Anyhow I've installed the desktop app on my Indigo server machine, upgraded the tablet App to the Pro version, downloaded the plugin and created a device. Now I'm stuck, the device I've created shows "Connection Error". Any suggestions? The tablet is able to find the mac server without issue, shows "Connected to Android", I haven't yet tried to set up anything in the Mac app.
Getting the following in log, and I'm assuming it is running! Or is there something else I should be doing??
Code: Select all
Touch Portal Debug              RETRY: socketConnected = False, socket_error_message_long = Connection attempt to Touch Portal Desktop failed; Is it running?
Touch Portal Debug              RETRY [In While Loop]: Count = 14, Limit = 10, Delay = 15

Rgds
Colly

Posted on
Sat Jul 25, 2020 4:52 pm
DaveL17 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5527
Joined: Aug 20, 2013
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: Touch Portal Plugin - Bug Reports

Hi Colly - thanks for trying out the plugin.

It sounds like the first requirement to have both Indigo and Touch Portal on the same machine is met. That's great.

Next, we should confirm the settings in TP Desktop. At the bottom of the TP window, you should see the following: Starting from the left, you should see the IP address of your machine -- something like en0 | 10.0.1.123 -- then Port 1 should be 12134 and port 2 should be 12135.

If you're still stuck, check to see if you have any firewall rules that may be blocking either of these ports. In addition, it could be--however unlikely--that you have something else working on the port(s).

Let's start there and see if that gets you going.

I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]

Posted on
Sat Jul 25, 2020 4:55 pm
Colly offline
Posts: 347
Joined: Jan 16, 2016
Location: Ireland

Re: Touch Portal Plugin - Bug Reports

Yes I have as you suggest, IP, Port 1 &2 exactly as you outline. I've not set up any firewall rules so that shouldn't be the issue.

Posted on
Sat Jul 25, 2020 5:07 pm
DaveL17 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5527
Joined: Aug 20, 2013
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: Touch Portal Plugin - Bug Reports

Have you created a Touch Portal Desktop Device in Indigo?

Screen Shot 2020-07-25 at 6.06.34 PM.png
Screen Shot 2020-07-25 at 6.06.34 PM.png (97.84 KiB) Viewed 213 times

I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]

Posted on
Sat Jul 25, 2020 5:14 pm
Colly offline
Posts: 347
Joined: Jan 16, 2016
Location: Ireland

Re: Touch Portal Plugin - Bug Reports

Yes, created a device and the state is "Connection Error". Log entry below if I try to turn on.
Code: Select all
Touch Portal                    Sent "TP Sitting Rm Photo"  Turn On - connecting to Touch Portal Desktop
   Touch Portal Debug              DEQUEUED MESSAGE = [100, 0, 1, 991459329, ['{"type":"pair", "id":"indigo_domotics_001"}']]
   Touch Portal Debug             
TPHANDLER: 'TP Sitting Rm Photo' DEQUEUED COMMAND 'PROCESS SEND MESSAGE TO TOUCH PORTAL'

Posted on
Sat Jul 25, 2020 5:22 pm
DaveL17 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5527
Joined: Aug 20, 2013
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: Touch Portal Plugin - Bug Reports

OK, good. Next thing: Do you see the Indigo plugin present in Touch Portal Desktop?

Screen Shot 2020-07-25 at 6.21.30 PM.png
Screen Shot 2020-07-25 at 6.21.30 PM.png (156.96 KiB) Viewed 203 times

I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]

Posted on
Sat Jul 25, 2020 5:25 pm
Colly offline
Posts: 347
Joined: Jan 16, 2016
Location: Ireland

Re: Touch Portal Plugin - Bug Reports

No - nothing there!

Posted on
Sat Jul 25, 2020 5:28 pm
DaveL17 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5527
Joined: Aug 20, 2013
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: Touch Portal Plugin - Bug Reports

OK, now we're on to something. Do you see a folder within your active user directory called Touch Portal:

Screen Shot 2020-07-25 at 6.28.09 PM.png
Screen Shot 2020-07-25 at 6.28.09 PM.png (34.88 KiB) Viewed 198 times

I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]

Posted on
Sat Jul 25, 2020 5:30 pm
Colly offline
Posts: 347
Joined: Jan 16, 2016
Location: Ireland

Re: Touch Portal Plugin - Bug Reports

I restarted the Mac App and it appeared. The device now shows as "Connected".

Posted on
Sat Jul 25, 2020 5:35 pm
DaveL17 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5527
Joined: Aug 20, 2013
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: Touch Portal Plugin - Bug Reports

Excellent. I appreciate your patience as we work out the best way to explain how to install all the needed pieces. If you have time, please take a look at this page and let me know if it would suffice to explain: https://github.com/autolog/TouchPortal/wiki/installation

It's a bit verbose, so no worries if you don't have the time.

I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]

Posted on
Sat Jul 25, 2020 5:40 pm
Colly offline
Posts: 347
Joined: Jan 16, 2016
Location: Ireland

Re: Touch Portal Plugin - Bug Reports

Looks like the instructions are clear and I didn’t follow them! I’ll have a proper play with the plugin tomorrow, past midnight here so retiring for today! Thanks for your quick responses.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Sat Jul 25, 2020 5:47 pm
DaveL17 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5527
Joined: Aug 20, 2013
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: Touch Portal Plugin - Bug Reports

Thanks -- I'm glad that we got things sorted. Let us know if you see anything that doesn't work as you'd expect.

I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron