iBeacon shows as expired but it's not

Posted on
Sun May 31, 2020 4:44 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 7141
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: iBeacon shows as expired but it's not

does your RPI have a single ip#?
!!! If not, no guarantee what so ever!!!
That will screw things up big time, constant switching, expiring ...

Posted on
Sun May 31, 2020 5:00 pm
johnfdl offline
Posts: 173
Joined: May 18, 2017
Location: Atlanta, GA USA

Re: iBeacon shows as expired but it's not

Yes, it has a single IP. I included the ifconfig in a previous post showing it had just one IP after I disabled the wireless.

Posted on
Sun May 31, 2020 5:02 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 7141
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: iBeacon shows as expired but it's not

Ok could you do debuglog all in config
And post plugin.log
Mask the passwords


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Sun May 31, 2020 5:08 pm
johnfdl offline
Posts: 173
Joined: May 18, 2017
Location: Atlanta, GA USA

Re: iBeacon shows as expired but it's not

rPi and Beacon is currently showing up. Here's the log;
Attachments
logsnip.txt
(101.88 KiB) Downloaded 9 times

Posted on
Sun May 31, 2020 5:16 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 7141
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: iBeacon shows as expired but it's not

There is still a connect problem
What is your connection speed. Do a ping


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Sun May 31, 2020 5:24 pm
johnfdl offline
Posts: 173
Joined: May 18, 2017
Location: Atlanta, GA USA

Re: iBeacon shows as expired but it's not

Code: Select all
Johns-MacBook-Pro-3:~ johndeluca$ ping 192.168.0.43
PING 192.168.0.43 (192.168.0.43): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 192.168.0.43: icmp_seq=0 ttl=64 time=2.603 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.0.43: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=6.065 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.0.43: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=1.432 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.0.43: icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=3.656 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.0.43: icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=2.349 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.0.43: icmp_seq=5 ttl=64 time=1.453 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.0.43: icmp_seq=6 ttl=64 time=1.353 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.0.43: icmp_seq=7 ttl=64 time=12.735 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.0.43: icmp_seq=8 ttl=64 time=2.144 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.0.43: icmp_seq=9 ttl=64 time=2.220 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.0.43: icmp_seq=10 ttl=64 time=12.672 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.0.43: icmp_seq=11 ttl=64 time=2.344 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.0.43: icmp_seq=12 ttl=64 time=2.206 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.0.43: icmp_seq=13 ttl=64 time=3.668 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.0.43: icmp_seq=14 ttl=64 time=2.174 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.0.43: icmp_seq=15 ttl=64 time=1.993 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.0.43: icmp_seq=16 ttl=64 time=2.494 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.0.43: icmp_seq=17 ttl=64 time=2.235 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.0.43: icmp_seq=18 ttl=64 time=6.399 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.0.43: icmp_seq=19 ttl=64 time=12.955 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.0.43: icmp_seq=20 ttl=64 time=2.255 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.0.43: icmp_seq=21 ttl=64 time=1.658 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.0.43: icmp_seq=22 ttl=64 time=1.174 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.0.43: icmp_seq=23 ttl=64 time=3.698 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.0.43: icmp_seq=24 ttl=64 time=2.184 ms
^C
--- 192.168.0.43 ping statistics ---
25 packets transmitted, 25 packets received, 0.0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max/stddev = 1.174/3.845/12.955/3.529 ms
Johns-MacBook-Pro-3:~ johndeluca$


Note: MacBookPro is connected via Wifi | rPi is ethernet connected.

Posted on
Sun May 31, 2020 6:01 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 7141
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: iBeacon shows as expired but it's not

so it is not speed.

there must be some other messages in your logfile

could you restart the plugin?

and which version are you running?

Karl

Posted on
Mon Jun 01, 2020 12:56 pm
johnfdl offline
Posts: 173
Joined: May 18, 2017
Location: Atlanta, GA USA

Re: iBeacon shows as expired but it's not

Karl,

I ordered two Nonda iHere beacons from amazon. They are coming tomorrow. Let me experiment with them to be sure I don't just have a beacon that has gone bad. If I have the same trouble, I'll re-engage you....but I don't want to drag you down a rathole if it's just a bad beacon.

The rPi has been up since yesterday.

Posted on
Mon Jun 01, 2020 11:06 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 7141
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: iBeacon shows as expired but it's not

Just FYI: Beacons stop pinging when the iPhone app is running


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Wed Jun 03, 2020 9:58 pm
johnfdl offline
Posts: 173
Joined: May 18, 2017
Location: Atlanta, GA USA

Re: iBeacon shows as expired but it's not

Yes....I am aware of that. I killed the app on my phone. New Beqcons arrived today and appear to be working properly....so perhaps the Beacon is the issue.

Posted on
Thu Jun 04, 2020 8:43 am
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 7141
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

iBeacon shows as expired but it's not

just FOI- the beacon that does not work: what kind of beacon is it?

Karl

Posted on
Sun Jun 07, 2020 2:12 pm
johnfdl offline
Posts: 173
Joined: May 18, 2017
Location: Atlanta, GA USA

Re: iBeacon shows as expired but it's not

Nonda iHere (triangle usb). It worked fine for years, but seems to have gone bad. My two new Nonda iHere beacons have been flawless now for a week.

Posted on
Sun Jun 07, 2020 2:49 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 7141
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: iBeacon shows as expired but it's not

when you charge it does it go green?

Posted on
Sun Jun 07, 2020 8:39 pm
johnfdl offline
Posts: 173
Joined: May 18, 2017
Location: Atlanta, GA USA

Re: iBeacon shows as expired but it's not

Yes, it does go green, so it's not that it is dead.

Posted on
Sun Jun 07, 2020 10:56 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 7141
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: iBeacon shows as expired but it's not

You could try the iHere app to revitalize it

Don’t forget to stop the app once you are done.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest