Zigbee sensors

Posted on
Wed Feb 12, 2020 5:02 pm
siclark offline
Posts: 1194
Joined: Jun 13, 2017
Location: UK

Zigbee sensors

An initial, I have done it post, with more detail to follow. Hopefully this is new and not redoing something else that has been done. But I was interested in getting generic zigbee sensors into Indigo that wouldnt sync via the Hue hub and the great Hue plugin (which I use for all my bulbs). I also didnt want to buy another hub.

Using a £10 USB stick (cheaper if you wait for Ali shipping) I have got a £10 temp/humidity/pressure sensor that looks great updating 3 linked devices in Indigo via MQTT. No other hardware required. This is opening up a new range of sensor options.

Posted on
Wed Feb 12, 2020 5:15 pm
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 4000
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: Zigbee sensors

I thought you were also using an rPi?

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Wed Feb 12, 2020 5:17 pm
siclark offline
Posts: 1194
Joined: Jun 13, 2017
Location: UK

Re: Zigbee sensors

Haha. I am but it’s not needed. You could run direct on a Mac mini. It was easier for me to setup on a pi than get a usb hub to fit the usb stick into my mini. Also it was already plugged into the pi to flash the firmware as I didn't bother buying the dedicated cable for it so used some jumper cables.
However who doesn’t have a spare pi or 2 lying around these days

Posted on
Wed Feb 12, 2020 5:20 pm
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 4000
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: Zigbee sensors

siclark wrote:
However who doesn’t have a spare pi or 2 lying around these days


I don't. I need to order some more. Had one die on me, and another is permanently attached to my Ender 3 printer, and another is moving to our storage facility to run the sensors there (relayed back to Indigo via MQTT). So the only one I have left is an old rPi 1, which isn't good for much. I've been buying 3B+ models. Maybe it's time to try out a 4.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Wed Feb 12, 2020 5:21 pm
siclark offline
Posts: 1194
Joined: Jun 13, 2017
Location: UK

Re: Zigbee sensors

Ah. I have 5 doing pibeacon duties one of which is also now running zigbee2mqtt in nodejs.

Posted on
Wed Feb 12, 2020 8:10 pm
mundmc offline
User avatar
Posts: 682
Joined: Sep 14, 2012

Re: Zigbee sensors

siclark wrote:
An initial, I have done it post, with more detail to follow. Hopefully this is new and not redoing something else that has been done. But I was interested in getting generic zigbee sensors into Indigo that wouldnt sync via the Hue hub and the great Hue plugin (which I use for all my bulbs). I also didnt want to buy another hub.

Using a £10 USB stick (cheaper if you wait for Ali shipping) I have got a £10 temp/humidity/pressure sensor that looks great updating 3 linked devices in Indigo via MQTT. No other hardware required. This is opening up a new range of sensor options.


This is great- please share any relevant deets on the plugins you used (eg Shims, MQTT, etc)!

Posted on
Fri Feb 14, 2020 1:41 am
siclark offline
Posts: 1194
Joined: Jun 13, 2017
Location: UK

Re: Zigbee sensors

mundmc wrote:
siclark wrote:
An initial, I have done it post, with more detail to follow. Hopefully this is new and not redoing something else that has been done. But I was interested in getting generic zigbee sensors into Indigo that wouldnt sync via the Hue hub and the great Hue plugin (which I use for all my bulbs). I also didnt want to buy another hub.

Using a £10 USB stick (cheaper if you wait for Ali shipping) I have got a £10 temp/humidity/pressure sensor that looks great updating 3 linked devices in Indigo via MQTT. No other hardware required. This is opening up a new range of sensor options.


This is great- please share any relevant deets on the plugins you used (eg Shims, MQTT, etc)!


Will do. Just testing out a few setups and hardware. Really interested to read you can create a mesh of ZigBee USB sticks to work like zwave boosters.

Posted on
Fri Feb 14, 2020 11:36 am
mundmc offline
User avatar
Posts: 682
Joined: Sep 14, 2012

Re: Zigbee sensors

siclark wrote:
mundmc wrote:
siclark wrote:
An initial, I have done it post, with more detail to follow. Hopefully this is new and not redoing something else that has been done. But I was interested in getting generic zigbee sensors into Indigo that wouldnt sync via the Hue hub and the great Hue plugin (which I use for all my bulbs). I also didnt want to buy another hub.

Using a £10 USB stick (cheaper if you wait for Ali shipping) I have got a £10 temp/humidity/pressure sensor that looks great updating 3 linked devices in Indigo via MQTT. No other hardware required. This is opening up a new range of sensor options.


This is great- please share any relevant deets on the plugins you used (eg Shims, MQTT, etc)!


Will do. Just testing out a few setups and hardware. Really interested to read you can create a mesh of ZigBee USB sticks to work like zwave boosters.


Mesh??? Wow, that’s awesome

Posted on
Fri Feb 14, 2020 11:47 am
siclark offline
Posts: 1194
Joined: Jun 13, 2017
Location: UK

Re: Zigbee sensors

Yes. If we just want it as a cheap sensor network and don't have mains wired devices to repeat like our zwave devices an extra $6 usb stick would solve that problem.
Getting another order in over the weekend to play some more.

Posted on
Fri Feb 14, 2020 11:49 am
siclark offline
Posts: 1194
Joined: Jun 13, 2017
Location: UK

Re: Zigbee sensors

Just need to make sure with WiFi mesh around the house, plus Hue ZigBee light link plus ZigBee mesh, so 3 Networks all on same frequency that I manage the channels carefully.

Posted on
Sat Feb 15, 2020 8:14 am
CliveS offline
Posts: 479
Joined: Jan 10, 2016
Location: Medomsley, County Durham, UK

Re: Zigbee sensors

siclark wrote:
An initial, I have done it post, with more detail to follow. Hopefully this is new and not redoing something else that has been done. But I was interested in getting generic zigbee sensors into Indigo that wouldnt sync via the Hue hub and the great Hue plugin (which I use for all my bulbs). I also didnt want to buy another hub.

Using a £10 USB stick (cheaper if you wait for Ali shipping) I have got a £10 temp/humidity/pressure sensor that looks great updating 3 linked devices in Indigo via MQTT. No other hardware required. This is opening up a new range of sensor options.


All ready and waiting for the Zigbee writeup :)

IMG_7119.JPG
IMG_7119.JPG (261.59 KiB) Viewed 277 times
IMG_3967.JPG
IMG_3967.JPG (264.33 KiB) Viewed 277 times

CliveS

Indigo 7.4.1 : MacOS Catalina 10.15.1 : Mac mini Server (Mid 2011) : 2 GHz Core i7. : 8 GB. : 2 x 256GB Samsung EVO SSD
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The best way to get the right answer on the Internet is not to ask a question, it's to post the wrong answer

Posted on
Sat Feb 15, 2020 8:31 am
siclark offline
Posts: 1194
Joined: Jun 13, 2017
Location: UK

Re: Zigbee sensors

Haha. Nice case. What sensor have you got?

I'll try and get onto it this evening. Just had a HDD in my NAS die so having to deal with that first.

Posted on
Sat Feb 15, 2020 8:40 am
CliveS offline
Posts: 479
Joined: Jan 10, 2016
Location: Medomsley, County Durham, UK

Re: Zigbee sensors

siclark wrote:
Haha. Nice case. What sensor have you got?

I'll try and get onto it this evening. Just had a HDD in my NAS die so having to deal with that first.


At present only Philips Hue bulbs as most Aqara sellers are Chinese based so I am not ordering due to the delay
Case Stick and antenna preflashed for zigbee2mqqt for £22.00 first class royal mail delivery.

CliveS

Indigo 7.4.1 : MacOS Catalina 10.15.1 : Mac mini Server (Mid 2011) : 2 GHz Core i7. : 8 GB. : 2 x 256GB Samsung EVO SSD
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The best way to get the right answer on the Internet is not to ask a question, it's to post the wrong answer

Posted on
Sat Feb 15, 2020 8:53 am
autolog offline
Posts: 3207
Joined: Sep 10, 2013
Location: West Sussex, UK [GMT aka UTC]

Re: Zigbee sensors

CliveS wrote:
... Case Stick and antenna preflashed for zigbee2mqqt for £22.00 first class royal mail delivery.

Is there a link for this? :)

Posted on
Sat Feb 15, 2020 9:18 am
siclark offline
Posts: 1194
Joined: Jun 13, 2017
Location: UK

Re: Zigbee sensors

You can get aqara temp and humidity from Amazon in only 1-2 days and not much difference in price to the Chinese sellers.

Also look at banggood as they sell several sensor types shipping from Europe.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests