Indigo / Node-Red / Alexa

Posted on
Thu Feb 20, 2020 11:08 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 16108
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Indigo / Node-Red / Alexa

MarcoGT wrote:
Yes, exactly; if I have a device that works only with Alexa, if I can control it in Indigo (I think this is what Matt/Jay are working on).


What we're working on is 1) getting OAuth working using your Indigo Account (and reflector) so that an Alexa skill (or theoretically other OAuth-based integrations) can talk directly to the Indigo server via IWS and 2) fixing IWS to work such that we can still present strong security with OAuth authenticated APIs (which includes updates to IWS that have been needed for a long while), followed by 3) an Alexa skill itself which will make all Indigo devices available for control with Alexa.

We are not attempting to integrate devices FROM Alexa into Indigo. AFAIK, skills can't get all known Alexa devices from an account but rather only the ones that it presents (I could be wrong on that, but I'm pretty sure it's sandboxed in that respect). In any event, the first priority is getting Indigo devices into Alexa via a native skill.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Thu Feb 20, 2020 1:31 pm
mundmc offline
User avatar
Posts: 682
Joined: Sep 14, 2012

Re: Indigo / Node-Red / Alexa

^ LIKE

Posted on
Thu Feb 20, 2020 2:40 pm
siclark offline
Posts: 1195
Joined: Jun 13, 2017
Location: UK

Re: Indigo / Node-Red / Alexa

The question is... can Matt and Jay code all that before I work out how to get a NGINX webserver running in Docker so we can self host our own skill? I think the answer is most definitely. Bring on SkyNet!

Posted on
Wed Feb 26, 2020 4:34 pm
siclark offline
Posts: 1195
Joined: Jun 13, 2017
Location: UK

Re: Indigo / Node-Red / Alexa

Very very close to getting the skill setup. Going for hopefully my last setup from scratch to prove out the instructions and then will share.
Hoping once setup it's <$1 pm to run on aws if not free.

Posted on
Wed Feb 26, 2020 4:36 pm
Londonmark offline
Posts: 375
Joined: Feb 29, 2012

Re: Indigo / Node-Red / Alexa

Have just switched tonight to the node red skill but struggling to get dimming working. On/off is fine. Any pointers?

Posted on
Thu Feb 27, 2020 1:21 am
MarcoGT offline
Posts: 708
Joined: Sep 11, 2014
Location: Germany

Re: Indigo / Node-Red / Alexa

To me it is working fine; could you please post a screenshot of your red page (where you added the devices)?

Posted on
Thu Feb 27, 2020 1:34 am
siclark offline
Posts: 1195
Joined: Jun 13, 2017
Location: UK

Indigo / Node-Red / Alexa

Londonmark wrote:
Have just switched tonight to the node red skill but struggling to get dimming working. On/off is fine. Any pointers?


If you look further up in this thread you'll see where I split the payload based on type. I've done it a few ways, but think I use switch now. If payload is on or off then send to the device on/off function.

If it's a value then send to the indigo device brightness.
Edit

Image

Here you see I have a switch mode for living room lights. I think it's if payload is string then switch output 1 else if it's number then output 2.
The top indigo node is lounge pendant device in indigo, set to respond to on/off the bottom indigo node is also lounge pendant device but set to respond to brightness.

I think we need a change made to get it to also control RGB that would be useful.
Last edited by siclark on Thu Feb 27, 2020 3:44 am, edited 3 times in total.

Posted on
Thu Feb 27, 2020 1:48 am
MarcoGT offline
Posts: 708
Joined: Sep 11, 2014
Location: Germany

Re: Indigo / Node-Red / Alexa

I did not change the payload; just be sure to select "dimming" when you create the device in "red"

Posted on
Thu Feb 27, 2020 2:06 am
siclark offline
Posts: 1195
Joined: Jun 13, 2017
Location: UK

Indigo / Node-Red / Alexa

MarcoGT wrote:
I did not change the payload; just be sure to select "dimming" when you create the device in "red"


That only works if the Alexa device you created is only a dimming device and doesn't recognise on/off. Otherwise you need to separate the payload into the right indigo command

Ie if you want ability to say turn light on or off and say set light to 50 then you need to split the payload depending on command as the indigo devices in node-red take one or other.

I guess you could send a combined command by mqtt direct to indigo and let it decide how to respond but I'm not sure if that's any easier

Posted on
Thu Feb 27, 2020 4:09 am
Londonmark offline
Posts: 375
Joined: Feb 29, 2012

Re: Indigo / Node-Red / Alexa

Thanks both - will try the Switch approach as soon as I get a chance.

One other question: the other day all my nodes disappeared - just an empty screen when I went into node-red on a browser. Is there something specific I should be doing to save the configuration? It seemed to be saving by itself before.

Posted on
Thu Feb 27, 2020 5:51 am
siclark offline
Posts: 1195
Joined: Jun 13, 2017
Location: UK

Re: Indigo / Node-Red / Alexa

It's saved when deployed but you can create backups. There are a few different strategies for this and I saw a good video on how to do it.

Posted on
Fri Feb 28, 2020 8:12 am
Londonmark offline
Posts: 375
Joined: Feb 29, 2012

Re: Indigo / Node-Red / Alexa

Screenshots attached. Doesn't seem to work!
Attachments
Screenshot 2020-02-28 at 14.11.07.png
Screenshot 2020-02-28 at 14.11.07.png (76.9 KiB) Viewed 229 times
Screenshot 2020-02-28 at 14.10.52.png
Screenshot 2020-02-28 at 14.10.52.png (77.73 KiB) Viewed 229 times
Screenshot 2020-02-28 at 14.10.34.png
Screenshot 2020-02-28 at 14.10.34.png (61.43 KiB) Viewed 229 times
Screenshot 2020-02-28 at 14.07.36.png
Screenshot 2020-02-28 at 14.07.36.png (69.17 KiB) Viewed 229 times

Posted on
Fri Feb 28, 2020 9:28 am
siclark offline
Posts: 1195
Joined: Jun 13, 2017
Location: UK

Re: Indigo / Node-Red / Alexa

you need to change your login on the switch. Your type of number or string is to show how to interpret the text next to it. You need to filter on type.

See below. Ps I got to edit this rule from my iPhone via VPN. Wouldn't want to admin all my indigo rules from node red as it's not structured but it's handy being able to edit rules on the move (without having to vnc into my Mac).

Image

Posted on
Fri Feb 28, 2020 11:40 am
Londonmark offline
Posts: 375
Joined: Feb 29, 2012

Re: Indigo / Node-Red / Alexa

Got it thanks - was being extremely dense!

Posted on
Sat Feb 29, 2020 8:04 am
jalves offline
Posts: 560
Joined: Jun 16, 2013

Re: Indigo / Node-Red / Alexa

Have played around a little with this Node-Red thing. Haven't gotten it do do anything special for me and honestly can't think of a use-case in my setup. But I do like to explore new things.

So, I just did a search and see there is a Node-Red device (is that the right word) for Alarm.com. This intrigues me. One of the things I've meant to do over the years is to integrate my Concord 4 alarm system into Indigo. Right now I control it entirely through my alarm company's internet interface (which appears to be alarm.com). If the node-red device would give me an easy way to include it into Indigo then I have a use-case.

Anybody invested Alarm.com interfacing with Node-Red?

Running Indigo 7.4.1 on a 27" iMac (mid-2017), 40G memory, 1T Fusion Drive, OS X 10.15.3
Jeff

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 0 guests