accessing 'No Ack' status of zwave device

Posted on
Tue Nov 19, 2019 8:51 pm
agame offline
Posts: 279
Joined: Jul 13, 2017
Location: Melbourne, Australia

accessing 'No Ack' status of zwave device

Can a condition access the 'no-ack' status of a zwave device? Or otherwise determine if the device is online? I can't figure out how to do that.

Posted on
Wed Nov 20, 2019 1:28 am
howartp offline
Posts: 3755
Joined: Jan 09, 2014
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Re: accessing 'No Ack' status of zwave device

Can you describe your use case?

The python IOM can ping a Zwave device and record its state, which you might be able to use in the script tab at the bottom of the conditions page, but it’s likely not the nicest solution.


https://wiki.indigodomo.com/doku.php?id ... vice_class then scroll to Ping a device.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Posted on
Wed Nov 20, 2019 2:02 am
agame offline
Posts: 279
Joined: Jul 13, 2017
Location: Melbourne, Australia

accessing 'No Ack' status of zwave device

Last edited by agame on Wed Nov 20, 2019 5:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

Posted on
Wed Nov 20, 2019 3:00 am
howartp offline
Posts: 3755
Joined: Jan 09, 2014
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Re: accessing 'No Ack' status of zwave device

I would be looking at one of the activity or other timers in Timed Devices plugin. (Not timers & pesters plugin)

By whichever combination you prefer, you can have it count time since the last contact from the Zwave device. If you set it greater than the wake or report period of your Zwave device, it will identify to you that the device hasn’t reported for ‘x’ time, or in other words “it’s off”.

It will kill both birds with one stone as well.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Posted on
Wed Nov 20, 2019 3:09 am
agame offline
Posts: 279
Joined: Jul 13, 2017
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: accessing 'No Ack' status of zwave device

Using what as the trigger?

Posted on
Wed Nov 20, 2019 5:32 am
howartp offline
Posts: 3755
Joined: Jan 09, 2014
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Re: accessing 'No Ack' status of zwave device

The timer devices have triggers on “expired” (if you’ve set it as say 1 hour countdown) or similar in reverse.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Posted on
Wed Nov 20, 2019 5:56 am
agame offline
Posts: 279
Joined: Jul 13, 2017
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: accessing 'No Ack' status of zwave device

alive timer is a viable workaround, thx.

I'd still like to access the the indigo UI displayed state if thats possible though.

Posted on
Fri Nov 22, 2019 7:54 pm
agame offline
Posts: 279
Joined: Jul 13, 2017
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: accessing 'No Ack' status of zwave device

howartp wrote:
The timer devices have triggers on “expired” (if you’ve set it as say 1 hour countdown) or similar in reverse.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro


The activity timer device is working really well, thanks!
I did have to ramp up polling frequency to get adequate resolution...so the only price to pay is a lot of red lines in the logs, however I should be able to reconfigure the reporting frequency parameters on the device itself and dispense with frequent polling.

Posted on
Sat Nov 23, 2019 2:51 am
howartp offline
Posts: 3755
Joined: Jan 09, 2014
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Re: accessing 'No Ack' status of zwave device

Good to hear.

It’s a good plugin with lots of ways to use the timers once you start to think ‘out of the box’.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests