Lots of "no ack"

Posted on
Thu Oct 24, 2019 2:19 am
MarcoGT offline
Posts: 672
Joined: Sep 11, 2014
Location: Germany

Lots of "no ack"

Hi all,

since a couple of hrs lots of Z-WAVE device (Roller shutter and wall switches) are in a "no ack" status; the Door sensors still work, but I think just because a status request has not been sent yet.
I restarted the Z-Wave interface, but not yet disconnected the Z Wave Stick (S2); I will try when at home (or ask the wife to do it :D ).

Furthermore, why do some roller shutter devices have as "last reset" few days ago even if I did not click "reset"?

Thanks
Marco

Posted on
Thu Oct 24, 2019 2:52 am
MarcoGT offline
Posts: 672
Joined: Sep 11, 2014
Location: Germany

Re: Lots of "no ack"

More details here:

- unplug / re-plug of the Stick did not help.
- when sending command to roller shutter, they actually work (blinds go up/down), but I do not get any feedback --> no ack.

What is going on?

Thanks

Posted on
Thu Oct 24, 2019 4:29 am
DaveL17 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5102
Joined: Aug 20, 2013
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: Lots of "no ack"

When I get the rare No Ack message, I've found that I've had to remove and restore power to the offending device in order to reset communication to it. With the wall switches, it may be enough to air gap them. I get a No Ack maybe once or twice a year for a single device. I have yet to figure out what causes the loss of communication to happen in the first place.

If you restore communication and then the messages come back again, it may be that your stick is failing.

I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]

Posted on
Thu Oct 24, 2019 6:37 am
MarcoGT offline
Posts: 672
Joined: Sep 11, 2014
Location: Germany

Re: Lots of "no ack"

So, went home, just touch the S2 Stick (not unplugged), and everything works fine :D
Let's see in the next days...

Posted on
Thu Oct 24, 2019 6:41 am
MarcoGT offline
Posts: 672
Joined: Sep 11, 2014
Location: Germany

Re: Lots of "no ack"

Well, they are failed again...Stick is dying? :? :? :?

Posted on
Thu Oct 24, 2019 7:30 am
MarcoGT offline
Posts: 672
Joined: Sep 11, 2014
Location: Germany

Re: Lots of "no ack"

Troubleshooting; if I move a Fibaro Wall Plug near the Stick, it gets recognised, if I move it back, "no ack"

Posted on
Thu Oct 24, 2019 7:33 am
DaveL17 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5102
Joined: Aug 20, 2013
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: Lots of "no ack"

You might try a network heal to see if that helps. It could be that something in the communication path to the device (when it's installed in its intended location) is causing the messages to get lost.

I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]

Posted on
Thu Oct 24, 2019 7:42 am
MarcoGT offline
Posts: 672
Joined: Sep 11, 2014
Location: Germany

Re: Lots of "no ack"

Yes but why all devices?
How do I make a network heal?

You mean optimization? I have just started and I see lots of "ping failed", but at the moment for the battery powered devices

Posted on
Thu Oct 24, 2019 7:47 am
DaveL17 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5102
Joined: Aug 20, 2013
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: Lots of "no ack"

Go to the Interfaces menu in Inidgo, select Z-Wave, and then Optimize Z-Wave Network. Depending on the number of devices you have, this make take a long time to complete. It also could get hung up on a failed device, so I'd suggest not running this step until a time where you are able to monitor progress. Just in case.

I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]

Posted on
Thu Oct 24, 2019 1:59 pm
MarcoGT offline
Posts: 672
Joined: Sep 11, 2014
Location: Germany

Re: Lots of "no ack"

Further investigation

So far I had just two hard disks connected to the MacMini.
Yesterday I connected another two, and since then I see the problem.
Removed those, everything fine, plugged again, lots of no ack

No idea what’s going on

Posted on
Thu Oct 24, 2019 3:02 pm
FlyingDiver offline
Posts: 3598
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: Lots of

MarcoGT wrote:
Further investigation

So far I had just two hard disks connected to the MacMini.
Yesterday I connected another two, and since then I see the problem.
Removed those, everything fine, plugged again, lots of no ack

No idea what’s going on


Bad drive or USB cable is hogging the USB bus. Are these all plugged into a USB hub? What model mini? The latest ones have separate USB 2 and USB 3.1 busses. Put the Z-stick on the USB 2.0 bus and the drives on the 3.1 bus.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Thu Oct 24, 2019 10:35 pm
MarcoGT offline
Posts: 672
Joined: Sep 11, 2014
Location: Germany

Re: Lots of "no ack"

I think drive is fine; it was connected to an iMac 27 (Late 2013, display died :( ) and everything was fine.
MacMini Late 2014 here

Posted on
Fri Oct 25, 2019 6:04 am
DaveL17 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5102
Joined: Aug 20, 2013
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: Lots of "no ack"

It could be that everything is putting too much strain on the USB power bus. If you need to have all the drives attached, you might try hooking them up via a USB hub with a separate power supply. If the stick works well without the drives attached, I think you've isolated the cause of your trouble.

I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest