Problems Starting Indigo 7.2 on Mohave

Posted on
Mon Nov 12, 2018 12:27 pm
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2749
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Problems Starting Indigo 7.2 on Mohave

First let me preface by saying that my server is NOT running on Mohave, but my remote computer (my main computer) has been unable to connect to my Indigo server since upgrading to Mohave. Up until now I've been just doing maintenance things directly on my Sierra Indigo server. I'm wondering if anyone has run across this. I have an update I want to code but haven't been willing to do the back and forth between a screen share and my development environment so I just keep putting it off. Now it's just downright frustrating.

Essentially I start Indigo from my computer and normally it would have just auto connected to my server @ 10.1.200.3, but it doesn't. So I go into the menu and most is grayed out but I can tell it to connect to remote server so I choose that and use the same 10.1.200.3 and it just sits there forever doing nothing until I exit Indigo. I checked system logs and don't see anything.

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Mon Nov 12, 2018 12:37 pm
autolog offline
Posts: 2461
Joined: Sep 10, 2013
Location: West Sussex, UK [GMT+0]

Re: Problems Starting Indigo 7.2 on Mohave

You have probably checked this but could it be that a firewall is preventing you from connecting?

Posted on
Mon Nov 12, 2018 1:02 pm
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2749
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: Problems Starting Indigo 7.2 on Mohave

There's no firewall between my main computer and the server, I don't use computer based firewalls so there's nothing on my Mohave machine either or the server.

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Mon Nov 12, 2018 1:10 pm
roussell offline
User avatar
Posts: 1046
Joined: Aug 18, 2008
Location: Alabama

Re: Problems Starting Indigo 7.2 on Mohave

This is a dumb thing but it happened to me so I thought I’d mention it - you are launching the 7.2 client on your main computer, right? I was auto-launching the previous version’s client and it took me more time than I care to admit to realize that...

Terry


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Mon Nov 12, 2018 1:13 pm
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2749
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: Problems Starting Indigo 7.2 on Mohave

Haha, yea, I am. When the 7.2 came in as a new app file I immediately removed the old App just so that wouldn't' happen to me (and verified because the title bar that never connects says "Indigo 7.2")

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Mon Nov 12, 2018 1:13 pm
FlyingDiver offline
Posts: 2619
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: Problems Starting Indigo 7.2 on Mohave

Very strange. My desktop setup is running Mojave 10.14.1 and Indigo 7.2.0. The Mac mini server is running High Sierra 10.13.6 and Indigo 7.2.0. I have no problems connecting to the Indigo server from an Indigo client on the desktop.

Not running Little Snitch on either machine, are you?

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Mon Nov 12, 2018 1:14 pm
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2749
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: Problems Starting Indigo 7.2 on Mohave

FlyingDiver wrote:
Not running Little Snitch on either machine, are you?

No, I only run that once in a blue moon when I'm tracing something and currently it's not even on this computer.

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Mon Nov 12, 2018 1:18 pm
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2749
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: Problems Starting Indigo 7.2 on Mohave

Ok, I just tried something I hadn't and got it working, I had to change the default port on the server and the client from 1176 to 1177 and that seemed to do the trick (in case anyone else stumbled upon this obscure issue).

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Mon Nov 12, 2018 1:24 pm
FlyingDiver offline
Posts: 2619
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: Problems Starting Indigo 7.2 on Mohave

So something else grabbed 1176? I think there's a way to determine which process. Try:

Code: Select all
lsof -i :1176

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Mon Nov 12, 2018 2:28 pm
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2749
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: Problems Starting Indigo 7.2 on Mohave

Nope, just didn't work on that port for whatever reason. That port is probably union, it was a mandatory break.

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Mon Nov 12, 2018 3:31 pm
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 18747
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: Problems Starting Indigo 7.2 on Mohave

Did you try restarting the Indigo Server to see if that helps? I wonder if changing the port got it working just because it cycled the Indigo Server. That is, the Indigo Server had gotten into a bad state somehow.

Image

Posted on
Tue Nov 13, 2018 8:18 am
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2749
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: Problems Starting Indigo 7.2 on Mohave

I had restarted it a couple of times, assuming that maybe that would be the fix, but it never changed anything.

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Tue Nov 13, 2018 11:09 am
mat offline
Posts: 710
Joined: Nov 25, 2010
Location: Cambridgeshire - UK

Re: Problems Starting Indigo 7.2 on Mohave

I have a clean install of Mohave on a new machine running the server and no port conflicts. Just incase that assists with your troubleshooting.

Late 2018 mini 10.14

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests