Favorite fruit company... reanimated

Forum rules

No spam or trolling allowed -- please keep topics and posts respectful.

Posted on
Fri Sep 14, 2018 1:11 pm
durosity offline
User avatar
Posts: 3559
Joined: May 10, 2012
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, Ye Ol' England.

Re: Favorite fruit company... reanimated

Hahaha! I was just reading this thread and thought I should reply to that saying “they tried that with me and look what happened”.. then I saw Jays retort!

A third EE would be good though.. who wants to work for free?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Computer says no.

Posted on
Fri Oct 19, 2018 10:44 am
akimball offline
User avatar
Posts: 485
Joined: Aug 07, 2013
Location: Sandy, Utah

Re: Favorite fruit company... reanimated

Here comes the “Pro Mac Mini”.....October 30th 2018, apple event for ipad and new mac upgrades.

https://youtu.be/a37tosqjQkY

-Al

Posted on
Mon Oct 29, 2018 11:15 am
akimball offline
User avatar
Posts: 485
Joined: Aug 07, 2013
Location: Sandy, Utah

Re: Favorite fruit company... reanimated

Hmmmmm....quad core, i7 Mac Mini Pro. Finally a mini mac computer able to run securityspy, indigo, and plex...without choking.

https://apple.news/A_JuPqUUXRbabYiAJGoj-LQ

-Al

Posted on
Mon Oct 29, 2018 12:34 pm
FlyingDiver online
Posts: 2562
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Cape Coral, FL

Re: Favorite fruit company... reanimated

akimball wrote:
Hmmmmm....quad core, i7 Mac Mini Pro. Finally a mini mac computer able to run securityspy, indigo, and plex...without choking.

https://apple.news/A_JuPqUUXRbabYiAJGoj-LQ


Hmm. That might work as a new desktop for me. I've been using iMacs for over 10 years. My current '14 model has developed a really annoying hardware issue where it randomly goes into sleep mode. Apple "repaired" it twice under warranty, and it started doing it again out of warranty. And I haven't replaced it because I was waiting for a significant update to the current iMac models. So as an interim measure I started using my 13" MacBook Pro as my main computer. Well, the graphics in that machine can't handle World of Warcraft or any other game.

So I got an eGPU enclosure and a Vega 56 card. I'm running two monitors off the eGPU and it works great. It has a dual core i7. If I could get a quad core with more RAM, I'd be pretty happy. A modular Mac Pro would be better, but I'm not holding my breath for that one.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Mon Oct 29, 2018 12:41 pm
akimball offline
User avatar
Posts: 485
Joined: Aug 07, 2013
Location: Sandy, Utah

Re: Favorite fruit company... reanimated

I can see where it would be an improvement. I tell you, if apple didn’t do something soon, i was going to have to stuff an iMac Pro into an equipment closet. Sacrilege.

-Al

Posted on
Mon Oct 29, 2018 12:44 pm
roussell offline
User avatar
Posts: 995
Joined: Aug 18, 2008
Location: Alabama

Re: Favorite fruit company... reanimated

I doubt I’ll upgrade from my current 2012 minis. Since Matt and Jay have hinted at an alternate (additional?) OS compatibility in the undetermined future I’ll just try to keep going with these until that happens. My 2006 minis lasted 10 years, if these make it to 2022 then I’m good! Hell I may not last that long...

Terry


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Mon Oct 29, 2018 12:48 pm
akimball offline
User avatar
Posts: 485
Joined: Aug 07, 2013
Location: Sandy, Utah

Re: Favorite fruit company... reanimated

Bandwidth has become a critical factor on my 2014 mac mini since adding 12 camera’s and security spy....and now we are getting plex up and running. I was considering dual mini’s as well.

It’s not indigo. Indigo is spiffy on any mac mini. It’s media and cameras.

-Al

Posted on
Mon Oct 29, 2018 12:51 pm
FlyingDiver online
Posts: 2562
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Cape Coral, FL

Re: Favorite fruit company... reanimated

akimball wrote:
I can see where it would be an improvement. I tell you, if apple didn’t do something soon, i was going to have to stuff an iMac Pro into an equipment closet. Sacrilege.


I bought a used 2010 Mac Pro, upgraded it with an SSD, 12 cores, and a bunch of RAM, and it's running High Sierra just fine. I bet I could get it to run Mojave if I put in a metal compatible GPU.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Mon Oct 29, 2018 1:00 pm
akimball offline
User avatar
Posts: 485
Joined: Aug 07, 2013
Location: Sandy, Utah

Re: Favorite fruit company... reanimated

We have two 2008 8-core mac pro’s, dual xeon quad cores I believe. Mine is early 2008 and is stuck at OS10.7.5. Wife’s is late 2008 and i think it runs 10.14, mojave. But these old beastie dragons heat the room even with the monitors turned off. So, a 30-watt mac mini pro ...coming out tomorrow... is what’s needed in our case. I have dibbs on serial number #1.

-Al

Posted on
Mon Oct 29, 2018 2:09 pm
roussell offline
User avatar
Posts: 995
Joined: Aug 18, 2008
Location: Alabama

Re: Favorite fruit company... reanimated

akimball wrote:
Bandwidth has become a critical factor on my 2014 mac mini since adding 12 camera’s and security spy....and now we are getting plex up and running. I was considering dual mini’s as well.

It’s not indigo. Indigo is spiffy on any mac mini. It’s media and cameras.


I hear ya. I only run Indigo on my Mini and run virtual machines on a separate box for everything else. From a factory-fresh install, the Mini gets Indigo, it’s plugins, Xcode, homebrew and a few Unix utilities from homebrew for various shell scripts and such. Indigo is the only thing that runs nonstop however. It makes for crazy reliability when I’m not in the box screwing around with other things.

Terry


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Mon Oct 29, 2018 2:13 pm
roussell offline
User avatar
Posts: 995
Joined: Aug 18, 2008
Location: Alabama

Re: Favorite fruit company... reanimated

akimball wrote:
We have two 2008 8-core mac pro’s, dual xeon quad cores I believe. Mine is early 2008 and is stuck at OS10.7.5. Wife’s is late 2008 and i think it runs 10.14, mojave. But these old beastie dragons heat the room even with the monitors turned off. So, a 30-watt mac mini pro ...coming out tomorrow... is what’s needed in our case. I have dibbs on serial number #1.


I guess for me it would come down to cores... I don’t really NEED the 40-core, 1TB RAM monster that is currently running; so if I could put ESXi on the new Mini Pro and shut down the beast, it would definitely save a few bucks/day on the power bill!!

Terry


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Mon Oct 29, 2018 2:21 pm
lanbrown offline
Posts: 665
Joined: Sep 26, 2017

Re: Favorite fruit company... reanimated

roussell wrote:
I hear ya. I only run Indigo on my Mini and run virtual machines on a separate box for everything else. From a factory-fresh install, the Mini gets Indigo, it’s plugins, Xcode, homebrew and a few Unix utilities from homebrew for various shell scripts and such. Indigo is the only thing that runs nonstop however. It makes for crazy reliability when I’m not in the box screwing around with other things.

Terry


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


An HA system should either be on a dedicated box or as a VM. It is usually the "other things" that cause issues or the need to run the latest version of macOS. Only once have I had an issue with Indigo running as a VM. It still ran but the client couldn't connect as it kept saying that I reached the maximum number of clients. The client is only run on two machines; one was off and the other I was getting the error on. I just rebooted the VM and all was well again.

In the beginning the only issue I had was USB based and I had to change the USB controller mode.

The more you put on an install, the more likely you will have issues. With the importance of the HA system, it is on its own.

Posted on
Mon Oct 29, 2018 2:44 pm
akimball offline
User avatar
Posts: 485
Joined: Aug 07, 2013
Location: Sandy, Utah

Re: Favorite fruit company... reanimated

An HA system should either be on a dedicated box or as a VM. It is usually the "other things" that cause issues or the need to run the latest version of macOS. Only once have I had an issue with Indigo running as a VM. It still ran but the client couldn't connect as it kept saying that I reached the maximum number of clients. The client is only run on two machines; one was off and the other I was getting the error on. I just rebooted the VM and all was well again.


I’m actually wondering about this....but I’m in the process of integrating indigo with security spy...and possibly plex after I get my media in order. I know it could be done on 2 or more mac’s. A new fast mac mini, 2018 for securityspy, and indigo on the older 2014 mac mini. I may just need to do that... there is a sample of what I’m attempting to do with securityspy images in indigo (cynical securityspy) attached....the image is a big friendly garage door button.

Also for securityspy, we have their calculator...
https://www.bensoftware.com/securityspy ... lator.html
...which tells me i need a new computer lol. And the nightly report on my cams agrees.

Yeah, I may be forced into two computers for reliability....I think i can kill this problem with more, faster cores. maybe.
Attachments
3B4B8503-402B-4235-8B51-4EF38ED98ED3.jpeg
3B4B8503-402B-4235-8B51-4EF38ED98ED3.jpeg (114.08 KiB) Viewed 190 times

-Al

Posted on
Mon Oct 29, 2018 3:10 pm
akimball offline
User avatar
Posts: 485
Joined: Aug 07, 2013
Location: Sandy, Utah

Re: Favorite fruit company... reanimated

You know, setting up a new combined mac with everything running on it could lead me to a very sad experience when I need to move Indigo7.2 back onto the old mac mini.

Has anyone already run securityspy, indigo, and plex on one mac?

I don’t want to be sad. :(

-Al

Posted on
Mon Oct 29, 2018 3:13 pm
FlyingDiver online
Posts: 2562
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Cape Coral, FL

Re: Favorite fruit company... reanimated

akimball wrote:
Has anyone already run securityspy, indigo, and plex on one mac?


I was, when I only had two cameras. When I went to 8, SecuritySpy just killed the mini. So I moved SS and Plex to a Mac Pro I picked up used.

You need a lot of cores for SS if you have a large number of cameras. The Pro originally had 8 cores, now it's 12.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests