Newbie error? Can't see my first plot?!

Posted on
Wed Jun 13, 2018 2:34 am
noel1983 offline
Posts: 337
Joined: Oct 17, 2014

Newbie error? Can't see my first plot?!

Hi all,
Keen to get this working as it looks awesome but seems I'm stuck trying to see my first step.

I've followed the instructions, chosen a light sensor in a fibaro motion sensor to graph luminance.

Log file looks ok

command: write the looong path/filenames of plotfiles to logfile for copy and paste
INDIGOplotD pending indigoCommands: ['fNameToLog']
INDIGOplotD IndigoPlot png file names: copy and paste to field <URL:> below Display: <RefreshingImage URL>
INDIGOplotD file:///home/Bathroom%20Light%20Level-minute-S1.png
INDIGOplotD file:///home/Bathroom%20Light%20Level-minute-S2.png
INDIGOplotD file:///home/Bathroom%20Light%20Level-hour-S1.png
INDIGOplotD file:///home/Bathroom%20Light%20Level-hour-S2.png
INDIGOplotD file:///home/Bathroom%20Light%20Level-day-S1.png
INDIGOplotD file:///home/Bathroom%20Light%20Level-day-S2.png


Yet I can't find those files anywhere and they don't work in a control page either.

When I do simple plot and click show nothing shows up.

I'm on High Sierra, Indigo 7, latest version of plugin installed.

Any tips would be a big help!
Thanks
Noel

Posted on
Wed Jun 13, 2018 6:32 am
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5838
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Newbie error? Can't see my first plot?!

How is your directory structure
It looks like your home directory user is bathroom.

What is your userid
What is your home directory

Posted on
Wed Jun 13, 2018 6:37 am
noel1983 offline
Posts: 337
Joined: Oct 17, 2014

Re: Newbie error? Can't see my first plot?!

userid is Noel Andrews shortname Noel

the bathroom reference is because it's bathroom light level sensor as the name of the plot.

I'm almost 100% google drive for normal files, opening Finder and clicking Home on the left shows this.

Not sure why Desktop and Documents is greyed out, can still click on them fine.

I don't have an IndigoPlotD folder in Documents. Should one have been created?

Thanks
Noel
Attachments
Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 13.35.40.png
Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 13.35.40.png (121.6 KiB) Viewed 372 times

Posted on
Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:13 am
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5838
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Newbie error? Can't see my first plot?!

I believe the space In your userid is the issue

will check.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:15 am
noel1983 offline
Posts: 337
Joined: Oct 17, 2014

Re: Newbie error? Can't see my first plot?!

Thanks, advanced screenshot of user profile attached, home folder should just be Noel.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 14.15.04.png
Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 14.15.04.png (18.61 KiB) Viewed 358 times

Posted on
Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:16 am
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5838
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Newbie error? Can't see my first plot?!

could you open terminal and type
pwd

post the result

and the indigoplotD directory should be in ~/indigo/

Posted on
Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:22 am
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5838
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Newbie error? Can't see my first plot?!

Code: Select all
#! /usr/bin/env python
# -*- coding: utf-8 -*-
####################
import pwd
import os
print pwd.getpwuid(os.getuid())
print os.path.expanduser("~")


could you save this to a file /users/noel/test.py
then open terminal
cd ~
python test.py

and post the output

or type in terminal:

python
import pwd
import os
print pwd.getpwuid(os.getuid())
print os.path.expanduser("~")
exit()

Karl
make sure the " do not become curly " ... text edit does that

Posted on
Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:30 am
noel1983 offline
Posts: 337
Joined: Oct 17, 2014

Re: Newbie error? Can't see my first plot?!

Landing-Mac-mini:~ Noel$ pwd
/Users/Noel
Landing-Mac-mini:~ Noel$

Thanks for your quick help on this.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 14.29.46.png
Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 14.29.46.png (106.91 KiB) Viewed 343 times

Posted on
Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:35 am
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5838
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Newbie error? Can't see my first plot?!

i need the python output

Posted on
Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:39 am
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5838
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Newbie error? Can't see my first plot?!

looking at the indigo dirs.. that looks normal and would not be there if teh dir info would be wrong.. could you post

menu/indigoplotd/plot :
both plot AND device/variable source params

output in logfile
Attachments
Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 08.37.49.png
Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 08.37.49.png (17.54 KiB) Viewed 341 times

Posted on
Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:44 am
noel1983 offline
Posts: 337
Joined: Oct 17, 2014

Re: Newbie error? Can't see my first plot?!

Sorry messages crossed, think this is everything below.


Landing-Mac-mini:~ Noel$ python
Python 2.7.10 (default, Oct 6 2017, 22:29:07)
[GCC 4.2.1 Compatible Apple LLVM 9.0.0 (clang-900.0.31)] on darwin
Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license" for more information.
>>> import pwd
>>> import os
>>> print pwd.getpwuid(os.getuid())
pwd.struct_passwd(pw_name='Noel', pw_passwd='********', pw_uid=501, pw_gid=20, pw_gecos='Noel Andrews', pw_dir='/Users/Noel', pw_shell='/bin/bash')
>>> print os.path.expanduser("~")
/Users/Noel
>>> exit()


13 Jun 2018 at 14:43:22
INDIGOplotD pending indigoCommands: ['PrintPlotData:87252593']
PLOT:: Bathroom Light Level deviceID: 87252593
...Background >>#FFFFFF<<
...Border >>1+2+4+8<<
...DeviceNamePlot >>Bathroom Light Level<<
...ExtraText >><<
...ExtraTextColorRGB >>#000000<<
...ExtraTextFrontBack >>front<<
...ExtraTextRotate >>0.0<<
...ExtraTextSize >>8<<
...ExtraTextXPos >>0.0<<
...ExtraTextYPos >>0.0<<
...Grid >>0<<
...LeftLabel >><<
...LeftLog >>linear<<
...LeftScaleDecPoints >>0<<
...LeftScaleRange >><<
...LeftScaleTics >><<
...MHDDays >>[2, 14, 90]<<
...MHDFormat >>['', '', '']<<
...MHDShift >>[0, 0, 0]<<
...NumberIsUsed >>1<<
...PlotFileLastupdates >>0<<
...PlotFileOrVariName >><<
...PlotType >>dataFromTimeSeries<<
...Raw >><<
...RightLabel >><<
...RightLog >>linear<<
...RightScaleDecPoints >>0<<
...RightScaleRange >><<
...RightScaleTics >><<
...TextColor >>#000000<<
...TextFont >>System-font<<
...TextMATFont >>sans-serif<<
...TextSize >>8<<
...Textscale21 >>1.5<<
...TitleText >>The text that goes on top of the Plot<<
...TransparentBackground >>1.0<<
...TransparentBlocks >>1.0<<
...XLabel >>x-axis Text<<
...XLog >>linear<<
...XScaleDecPoints >>0<<
...XScaleFormat >><<
...XScaleRange >><<
...XScaleTics >><<
...XYvPolar >>xy<<
...ampm >>24<<
...compressPNGfile >>False<<
...dataSource >>mini<<
...drawZeroLine >>False<<
...resxy >>['850,350', '']<<
...variableInText >>yes<<
...variableinPlot >><<
-l# 1/ Color>#000000<; EveryRepeat>1<; FromTo><; Func>None<; LeftRight>Left<; Multiplier>1.0<; NumbersFormat><; NumbersOffset><; Offset>0.0<; Shift>0<; Smooth>None<; ToColumnIndexA>1<; ToColumnIndexAfile><; ToColumnIndexB>0<; ToColumnIndexBfile><; Type>LineSolid<; Width>1<
INDIGOplotD



13 Jun 2018 at 14:43:58
INDIGOplotD command: PrintDeviceData
INDIGOplotD initgnu syncPlotsWithIndigo
INDIGOplotD PLOT: Bathroom Light Level
INDIGOplotD ss: 0 TTI: 0
INDIGOplotD ncols: 1
INDIGOplotD 0 outline0: ,'/Users/Noel/indigo/INDIGOplotD/data/minute.dat' using 1:(((($8)) > -200000.0))?(($8)):1/0 with lines lt 6 lw 1.0 lc rgb "#000000" notitle axis x1y1\

INDIGOplotD lines: ['plot \\\n', u',\'/Users/Noel/indigo/INDIGOplotD/data/minute.dat\' using 1:(((($8)) > -200000.0))?(($8)):1/0 with lines lt 6 lw 1.0 lc rgb "#000000" notitle axis x1y1\\\n']
INDIGOplotD ss: 0 TTI: 1
INDIGOplotD ncols: 1
INDIGOplotD 0 outline0: ,'/Users/Noel/indigo/INDIGOplotD/data/hour.dat' using 1:(((($8)) > -200000.0))?(($8)):1/0 with lines lt 6 lw 1.0 lc rgb "#000000" notitle axis x1y1\

INDIGOplotD lines: ['plot \\\n', u',\'/Users/Noel/indigo/INDIGOplotD/data/hour.dat\' using 1:(((($8)) > -200000.0))?(($8)):1/0 with lines lt 6 lw 1.0 lc rgb "#000000" notitle axis x1y1\\\n']
INDIGOplotD ss: 0 TTI: 2
INDIGOplotD ncols: 1
INDIGOplotD 0 outline0: ,'/Users/Noel/indigo/INDIGOplotD/data/day.dat' using 1:(((($8)) > -200000.0))?(($8)):1/0 with lines lt 6 lw 1.0 lc rgb "#000000" notitle axis x1y1\

INDIGOplotD lines: ['plot \\\n', u',\'/Users/Noel/indigo/INDIGOplotD/data/day.dat\' using 1:(((($8)) > -200000.0))?(($8)):1/0 with lines lt 6 lw 1.0 lc rgb "#000000" notitle axis x1y1\\\n']
Z-Wave received "Top Landing - 016 - Motion Sensor" status update is on
Schedule TimeIncrement
INDIGOplotD pending indigoCommands: ['PrintDeviceData']
Dev#,ID-Name,Status State Measurement offset multipl minValue maxValue ColfilGps resetType --- nickName
1 969570264 Dev- Bathroom - Luminance ok: 1
# 1 sensorValue average 0.0 1.0 -200.0 50000.0 1 1 0
INDIGOplotD
INDIGOplotD Index list for dataColumn to Device#/State#
INDIGOplotD Column=Dev#/St# Column=Dev#/St# Column=Dev#/St# Column=Dev#/St# Column=Dev#/St#
INDIGOplotD 1= 1/ 1
INDIGOplotD
INDIGOplotD
INDIGOplotD Consumption Cost data; type gConsumption WeekDay
INDIGOplotD ...not defined
INDIGOplotD Consumption Cost data; type wConsumption WeekDay
INDIGOplotD ...not defined
INDIGOplotD Consumption Cost data; type eConsumption WeekDay
INDIGOplotD ...not defined
INDIGOplotD Consumption Cost data; type oConsumption WeekDay
INDIGOplotD ...not defined

Posted on
Wed Jun 13, 2018 8:11 am
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5838
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Newbie error? Can't see my first plot?!

Doing bf now w w



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Wed Jun 13, 2018 8:53 am
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5838
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Newbie error? Can't see my first plot?!

here the answer : in config please set the path to the plots, that should do it
Attachments
Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 09.52.29.png
Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 09.52.29.png (11.32 KiB) Viewed 308 times

Posted on
Wed Jun 13, 2018 1:18 pm
noel1983 offline
Posts: 337
Joined: Oct 17, 2014

Re: Newbie error? Can't see my first plot?!

Thanks Karl, still no joy.
I see on your screen shot you're on GNU plot. I was on Mat plot.
Should I be on GNU?

Sorry about this/thanks for the help.

Posted on
Wed Jun 13, 2018 1:22 pm
noel1983 offline
Posts: 337
Joined: Oct 17, 2014

Re: Newbie error? Can't see my first plot?!

ITS WORKING :)

Not sure if it was me being super dense or not but once I'd set the output folder I saw the Define/Select Data Sources Needed in Plots menu item. Went in there defined for bathroom luminance and now all is well.

Really sorry if i'd missed something really obvious.

Thanks!

Noel

p.s. where do I send beer tokens?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests