Rachio to Indigo Communications

Posted on
Wed May 09, 2018 6:53 am
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2350
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Rachio to Indigo Communications

So I finally got to use my Rachio for the first time since acquiring it this past winter. The app works pretty well and I love the science based watering :). One thing I noticed, though, is that when my sprinklers run there is no indication in Indigo that anything is happening. The polling interval is 3 but I don't have a single log entry indicating that my sprinklers ran either yesterday afternoon or this morning. Is this by design? I assumed (yea, I know) that they would be synchronized.

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Wed May 09, 2018 8:59 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 14047
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Rachio to Indigo Communications

The activeSchedule state will change if it's running from a Rachio schedule. There is no integration between Indigo sprinkler schedules and Rachio schedules. The plugin also doesn't put anything into the logs except errors.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Wed May 09, 2018 9:01 am
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2350
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: Rachio to Indigo Communications

Ok, thanks. Seeing as you are the author of the plugin and an avid user of the product, what do you consider best practices for the Rachio? Run from the science based ETo calculations on their site or use Indigo to do everything?

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Wed May 09, 2018 10:11 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 14047
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Rachio to Indigo Communications

Avid may be a bit strong honestly - my EZFlora died so I needed a replacement and the Rachio had an API. If I had to do it again, not sure I'd go with it given the API is cloud-based (their recent throttling addition that could very well have caused issues being just one example of the downside).

Their early "science-based" logic didn't work very well according to many users but that may have gotten better. I prefer my Indigo-based logic better so Indigo does all the control. But, who knows? Maybe I'll give their swanky "intelligence" a try some day.

YMMV.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests