Temperature probes that work with Indigo?

Posted on
Sat Apr 21, 2018 8:08 pm
FlyingDiver offline
Posts: 2452
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Cape Coral, FL

Temperature probes that work with Indigo?

What's out there? The Oregon Scientific unit is discontinued. I need something for my freezer(s) that can trigger and Indigo event when we're away...

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Sat Apr 21, 2018 9:23 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5840
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Temperature probes that work with Indigo?

I am using an RPI with

a) a onewire sensor in the fridge and freezer
b) a BLE wireless temp sensor also with the RPI , it has been running for ~ 4+ months and the battery is still good.

both work fine
Karl

Posted on
Sun Apr 22, 2018 12:54 am
racarter offline
User avatar
Posts: 148
Joined: Jun 18, 2016
Location: North Yorkshire, UK

Re: Temperature probes that work with Indigo?

This works well, if you can get it in the US:

https://www.vesternet.com/z-wave-fibaro-universal-sensor

You can connect up to four of these to it:

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Dallas-DS18B20-Digital-Temperature-Thermometer-sensor/262034882522?var=&hash=item3d027effda

I monitor three temperature zones in a wine cabinet with this setup. The sensor also has a couple of status inputs which you could use with a door sensor if you wanted to monitor the freezer door too.

Posted on
Sun Apr 22, 2018 7:43 am
FlyingDiver offline
Posts: 2452
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Cape Coral, FL

Re: Temperature probes that work with Indigo?

Can't find a supplier for that Fibaro unit anywhere in the US.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Sun Apr 22, 2018 7:45 am
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2715
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: Temperature probes that work with Indigo?

kw123 wrote:
I am using an RPI with

a) a onewire sensor in the fridge and freezer
b) a BLE wireless temp sensor also with the RPI , it has been running for ~ 4+ months and the battery is still good.

both work fine
Karl


I've thought of doing this for my deep freeze, but I've often wondered how you run a probe into a freezer without creating a gap in the seal - no matter how small of a gap.

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Sun Apr 22, 2018 8:26 am
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5840
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Temperature probes that work with Indigo?

3 very thin lacquer coated wires - non plastic insulation. Then fix with Scotch tape inside the and outside the door to make it tight.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Sun Apr 22, 2018 8:29 am
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2715
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: Temperature probes that work with Indigo?

Do you happen to have a parts list for the RPI? I had my deep freeze get unplugged accidentally and lost a side of beef, I put a voltage monitoring Z-wave device on the outlet to make sure it is drawing power but this would be an excellent backup system.

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Sun Apr 22, 2018 1:25 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5840
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Temperature probes that work with Indigo?

Depends on if you can solder wires ..


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Sun Apr 22, 2018 1:25 pm
FlyingDiver offline
Posts: 2452
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Cape Coral, FL

Re: Temperature probes that work with Indigo?

I think we can handle that....

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Sun Apr 22, 2018 1:46 pm
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2715
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: Temperature probes that work with Indigo?

kw123 wrote:
Depends on if you can solder wires ..


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Duh.

Now solder, that's the sticky stuff in the fridge pan, right? And wire, I've done a lot of things when I'm wired, I'm good there.

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Sun Apr 22, 2018 2:48 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5840
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Temperature probes that work with Indigo?

4.7k Ohm between +3.3v (pin1) and signal (pin7 = gpio4) close to the RPI
each one wire sensor gets V3.3, Ground, Signal

If the distance is not too long you can run them in parallel = all wires stop at the RPI (star)
signal wire:
RPI == V+, Ground Signal==> sens1
RPi == V+, Ground Signal==> sens2
RPI == V+, Ground Signal==> sens3

If long (> 5 m) better to do (serial)
RPI == V+, Ground Signal==> sens1 == V+, Ground Signal==> sens2 == V+, Ground Signal==> sens3 == V+, Ground Signal==> ....

And if very long you can add a 1uF capacitor at the last sensor between +3.3v and Ground

+ connector to put on the pins of the RPi (pins 1,7,9)
eg "2.54mm Breakaway PCB Board Female Header Connector" you need a 5 pin wide (pins 1..9 left side)

so in summary
n times 18B20 sensors ~ $1 in qualities of 10
1 time 4.7KOhm
1 time 2.54 mm female connector 5 pins
x feet/ meters of cable eg "Copper Wire 24 Ga" or thinner ... any isolated wires will do

And when I am done, I dunk the sensors into "liquid tape" to isolate everything .. takes 2 hours to dry

You can get everything at amazon or on ebay.

Total cost ~ $15 for 10 sensors with cables, connector, etc (+ liquid tape ..)

Karl

see http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewtopic.php?f=187&t=15563 for schematics etc
Last edited by kw123 on Sun Apr 22, 2018 8:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Posted on
Sun Apr 22, 2018 7:17 pm
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2715
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: Temperature probes that work with Indigo?

Thank you! Nice write up on the other thread by the way.

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron