GreenSky MQTT Bridge Plugin (SmartThings Bridge)

Posted on
Fri Dec 07, 2018 6:50 am
steinis online
Posts: 80
Joined: Jul 17, 2015
Location: Oslo, NORWAY

Re: GreenSky MQTT Bridge Plugin (SmartThings Bridge)

yes this need to be an option and used wisely, but sometimes its needed.
Another option would be an action to send all device status to the MQTT broker.

Posted on
Fri Dec 07, 2018 9:23 am
Umtauscher offline
User avatar
Posts: 392
Joined: Oct 03, 2014
Location: Cologne, Germany

Re: GreenSky MQTT Bridge Plugin (SmartThings Bridge)

Well in my experience sending the status information is exactly what the plugin is doing right now?!?

Posted on
Tue Dec 11, 2018 10:53 pm
symo offline
Posts: 8
Joined: Sep 16, 2012

Re: GreenSky MQTT Bridge Plugin (SmartThings Bridge)

Does anybody have a good "getting started" guide for this. I've successfully setup the the SmartThings side. I can see messages on my broker from both sides... I would like to just see some simple examples of how to implement this.

Thank you,
Jon

Posted on
Thu Feb 07, 2019 2:30 pm
avdhil offline
Posts: 3
Joined: Jan 19, 2017

Re: GreenSky MQTT Bridge Plugin (SmartThings Bridge)

Hi! Thanks for this plugin. So far it works great.
Only one thing. Is there a way to filter out devices to be published. Now al my timers and Sonos timing data is pushed out without a real reason.

Cheers,
Alexander

Posted on
Mon Feb 11, 2019 12:51 pm
steinis online
Posts: 80
Joined: Jul 17, 2015
Location: Oslo, NORWAY

Re: GreenSky MQTT Bridge Plugin (SmartThings Bridge)

I have a question for the Node red flow for Indigo. Its working fine but I can't get the "indigo-get-device" and "indigo-get-variable" to work?

When I change something I Indigo nothing is happening in node red. Is it using the MQTT or Indigo API to fetch the status? Sending to Indigo and the MQTT part is working just fine BTW.

Posted on
Mon Feb 11, 2019 2:42 pm
Umtauscher offline
User avatar
Posts: 392
Joined: Oct 03, 2014
Location: Cologne, Germany

Re: GreenSky MQTT Bridge Plugin (SmartThings Bridge)

Hi steinis,

I have an example for you. This is a fibaro dimmer module that I use with Indigo with complete integration in node red.
This works bidirectional. I hope this helps to figure it out.

Code: Select all
[{"id":"e90289ac.87357","type":"ui_slider","z":"33101acf.2bc8fe","name":"","label":"Deckenlampe","group":"940199d.ee65ce8","order":1,"width":0,"height":0,"passthru":false,"outs":"end","topic":"brightnessLevel","min":0,"max":"100","step":1,"x":640,"y":40,"wires":[["adef157a.c14e48"]]},{"id":"adef157a.c14e48","type":"indigo-set-device","z":"33101acf.2bc8fe","name":"","controller":"2b8f6f57.a868b8","itemname":"Deckenlampe Dimmer","key":"brightness","value":"","x":920,"y":40,"wires":[[]]},{"id":"d4028546.e6c17","type":"function","z":"33101acf.2bc8fe","name":"Brightness Filter","func":"return {payload: msg.payload.newValue};","outputs":1,"noerr":0,"x":420,"y":40,"wires":[["e90289ac.87357"]]},{"id":"af59ff4.3d1138","type":"indigo mqtt in","z":"33101acf.2bc8fe","name":"","topic":"","qos":"2","broker":"9e13ecef.c73ae","controller":"","itemname":"Deckenlampe Dimmer","itemid":"140509571","state":"brightnessLevel","onlyonchange":true,"valuefilter":"","ignoreretainedmessages":false,"x":180,"y":40,"wires":[["d4028546.e6c17"]]},{"id":"940199d.ee65ce8","type":"ui_group","z":"","name":"Deckenlampe","tab":"f6befa.200ce108","order":1,"disp":false,"width":"6","collapse":false},{"id":"2b8f6f57.a868b8","type":"indigo-controller","z":"","name":"Indigo.voyager95.de","protocol":"http","host":"indigo.voyager95.de","port":"8176","username":"wilhelm","password":"telefax"},{"id":"9e13ecef.c73ae","type":"mqtt-broker","z":"","name":"Indigobroker","broker":"mqttbroker.voyager95.de","port":"1883","clientid":"","usetls":false,"compatmode":true,"keepalive":"60","cleansession":true,"birthTopic":"","birthQos":"0","birthRetain":"false","birthPayload":"","closeTopic":"","closeQos":"0","closeRetain":"false","closePayload":"","willTopic":"","willQos":"0","willRetain":"false","willPayload":""},{"id":"f6befa.200ce108","type":"ui_tab","z":"","name":"Wilhelm_s Büro","icon":"dashboard","order":1}]

Posted on
Mon Feb 11, 2019 2:56 pm
steinis online
Posts: 80
Joined: Jul 17, 2015
Location: Oslo, NORWAY

Re: GreenSky MQTT Bridge Plugin (SmartThings Bridge)

Thanks. This is similar to what I have done. Then you use the MQTT for input to node red instead of the "indigo-get-device" and thats fine, but I can't see my variables in the "indigo MQTT". Do you have a solution to fetch variables from Indigo to node red?

Posted on
Mon Feb 11, 2019 3:04 pm
Umtauscher offline
User avatar
Posts: 392
Joined: Oct 03, 2014
Location: Cologne, Germany

Re: GreenSky MQTT Bridge Plugin (SmartThings Bridge)

I have never considered variables to be accesible over an MQTT server. So I didn't miss that.
Maybe you should try using a virtual device for that? (just an idea)

Posted on
Tue Jun 04, 2019 7:31 am
AndyVirus offline
Posts: 228
Joined: Mar 18, 2014
Location: Newport Pagnell, UK

Re: GreenSky MQTT Bridge Plugin (SmartThings Bridge)

Is there a way to prevent an Indigo Device from writing to the log and just update the status of the Device?

I have a Smappee power monitor. I just found that hidden away you can tell it to connect to an MQTT broker. I have done so and created a Greensky MQTT Sensor device which subscribes to the topic and parses the value of totalReactivePower. This is published every second (I think it can be delayed if needed in Smappee).

So as it publishes every second it writes the device status to the Indigo log every second which of course is not useful. Any way to not write that device status to a log, only errors?

Posted on
Mon Jun 17, 2019 1:34 pm
emergent offline
Posts: 44
Joined: Aug 30, 2013

Re: GreenSky MQTT Bridge Plugin (SmartThings Bridge)

So I've got this installed and I've been able to use it to control my insteon switches in Home Assistant from Indigo. But I feel like I'm not really doing it the most efficient way. Right now, this is what I'm doing:

I create a GreenSky MQTT Switch.

Then I create two triggers. When the MQTT Switch is turned on, one trigger turns on the Insteon switch, and when it's turned off, one trigger turns off the Insteon switch.

However, this doesn't update the MQTT state if I turn the switch on/off with Homekit. So in Home Assistant the device state doesn't update automatically.

So I made a variable for the switch. Then I made two more triggers. When the switch turns on. the variable becomes on. When the switch turns off, the variable becomes off.

Then I have two MORE triggers that turn the MQTT switch on when the variable changes to on, and another that turns the MQTT switch off when the variable becomes off.

Is this really what I have to do for every switch? Is there an easier way?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests