Conditions not working as intended

Posted on
Fri Jun 23, 2017 3:29 pm
CraigM offline
Posts: 551
Joined: Oct 28, 2007

Conditions not working as intended

I discovered this by accident and its really causing grief with my schedules. Especially since I have this type of logic on almost everything in my house.

I have 2 irrigation schedules both at 6pm. The one who's conditions are met should be running, but they are BOTH running.

PM1.png
PM1.png (10.59 KiB) Viewed 1138 times
This should be satisfied for temps 100-101-102-103-104-105-106-107-108-109 [as they are between 99 and 110]



PM2.png
PM2.png (10.67 KiB) Viewed 1138 times
This should be satisfied for temps 110-111-112... [as they are greater than 109]

Why are they both being satisfied?

Posted on
Fri Jun 23, 2017 3:49 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 16307
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Conditions not working as intended

Are those the only conditions? If not, take a snap of the entire rule editor control.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Fri Jun 23, 2017 3:53 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 16307
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Conditions not working as intended

Ah - are your temps integers or floats? If they are floats, then 109.X (where X is > 0) would cause both to run.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Fri Jun 23, 2017 4:13 pm
CraigM offline
Posts: 551
Joined: Oct 28, 2007

Re: Conditions not working as intended

In this case the Wunderground plugin displays XXX.Xº [as does NOAA, and Oregon Scientific sensors]

So, are you saying the first one should be 99.9 and 110.0 to cover 100-109, and the second one needs to be changed to Greater Than 109.9, which will cover 110 and up?

I assume the dialog will accept decimals?

Posted on
Fri Jun 23, 2017 5:19 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 16307
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Conditions not working as intended

If the state you're selecting for the WUnderground device is in fact showing a degree symbol then I'm surprised it's working at all. The condition expects the selected device state to have either an integer or float.

Yes, the dialog accepts floats...

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Fri Jun 23, 2017 6:13 pm
DaveL17 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5527
Joined: Aug 20, 2013
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: Conditions not working as intended

Just to chime in on the WU data.

Current Conditions - Temperature is linked to the custom device state 'temp'.

Code: Select all
     temp : 80.7 (real)
     temp.ui : 81° (string)

By using float criteria, your conditions should work as you expect.

I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron