Fibaro Double Switch 2 ( FGS223 )

Posted on
Wed Mar 13, 2019 1:12 am
superholz offline
Posts: 52
Joined: Jun 10, 2015
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Fibaro Double Switch 2 ( FGS223 )

matt (support) wrote:
noel1983 wrote:
Just had the same issue, is mostly resolved by the steps above, I can now see the devices coming on and off in the logs when the switches are used.

However, I can't see the scene commands now which I like to have as they show me when the lights have been manually switched on using the switch vs motion or other triggers.

Unfortunately, I don't have an answer for this one. My suspicion is the module doesn't support sending the S2 scene commands if those multi instance association commands are used to make it send the S2 on/off switch commands. Probably a firmware buglet.

How they've implemented this is overly complicated and error prone IMO. The module supports Group 1 for "lifeline" reports which should have it send the endpoint on/off commands for both S1 and S2, but it doesn't. That results in having to use the extra commands to get S2 broadcasting but it looks like that breaks scene commands for S2.

Today I've spent some time trying to automate the configuration in Indigo for these modules so S2 works automagically, but I'm not comfortable enabling it. At this point I'm afraid it might break older firmware versions of the FGS213 and FGS223, or might break logic where users are relying on the scene commands to work. So for the time being sending the raw commands as outlined here is the recommended way to get S2 broadcasts working.



Any news on this issue? I have several of the double switches. Recently I installed one with noting v 3.2 on the label. And I had the same issue. I was not able to solve it with deleting associations and sending the three raw commands. Then I installed a newer module with noting v. 3.3 on the label. Same issue and not able to solve it.
I’m mostly interested to use the scene commands. Strange thing is that I have another model installed wich version 3.2 and this is performing normally without any extra efforts. I can see and use the sceen response for double click, tripple click and so on.
I probably have to systematically check the firmware versions of the models. Any more insight on this is appreciated.

Posted on
Wed Mar 13, 2019 11:41 am
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 19460
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: Fibaro Double Switch 2 ( FGS223 )

Did you read through the next couple of posts after mine on that thread?

It sounds like it can be tricky to get it working. Try factory resetting the module, and make sure you send the raw commands to both devices Indigo created for each module.

Image

Posted on
Fri Mar 22, 2019 6:04 am
superholz offline
Posts: 52
Joined: Jun 10, 2015
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Fibaro Double Switch 2 ( FGS223 )

Yes, I sent all three commands to both devices after removing the associations.

To be sure I repeated exclude (to reset the device) and include, removing associations and sending the three commands to the two devices.

Indeed this solves the non reporting state of the second device, but still scenes are not sent. Variables are set correctly regarding the indigo option "send all".

What actually the three commands do? Maybe necessary to send other commands to get the scene reporting going :roll: .

What I find strange that another device of same type and version worked perfectly out of the box without the need of extra setting regarding the scenes. The switch 2 reporting indeed also dod not work there. After the procedure indeed the reporting worked. The scene reporting than stopped working and started again working after resending the device.

Would really love to use the scenes commands. I actually made an effort to replace all my switches to momentary ones to make use of this feature.

Posted on
Sun Mar 24, 2019 4:28 pm
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 19460
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: Fibaro Double Switch 2 ( FGS223 )

Those 3 commands add multi-instance associations for groups 1 (lifeline), 2 (On/Off for Switch 1), and 4 (On/Off Switch 2) to module that point back to Indigo's Z-Wave Interface (Z-Stick, etc.). From the descriptions of the behavior it sounds like the module doesn't support providing association based on/off updates for both switches (via those 3 commands) and sending scene commands. I suspect this is a firmware bug (although they may call it a lack-of-feature).

Image

Posted on
Mon Mar 25, 2019 12:37 am
superholz offline
Posts: 52
Joined: Jun 10, 2015
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Fibaro Double Switch 2 ( FGS223 )

Hi Matt, thank you for the reply. Well, the reporting of the switches does work after sending the three commands. The only thing that does not work are the scene commands. And strangely other modules with same version and firmware work as expected regarding scenes.

I think I will get in contact with Fibaro to get some more insights.




Gesendet von iPad mit Tapatalk

Posted on
Mon Mar 25, 2019 8:23 am
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 19460
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: Fibaro Double Switch 2 ( FGS223 )

superholz wrote:
And strangely other modules with same version and firmware work as expected regarding scenes.

And those modules send state updates for S2?

Image

Posted on
Mon Mar 25, 2019 8:27 am
superholz offline
Posts: 52
Joined: Jun 10, 2015
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Fibaro Double Switch 2 ( FGS223 )

As I tried to explain. They do (at least the one I checked) only after your fix by sending the three commands. Then I had to resync the device ones more. Then both - status report of s2 and scenes - work. Before the fix only the scenes worked but not the status report of s2.


Gesendet von iPad mit Tapatalk

Posted on
Mon Mar 25, 2019 10:54 am
superholz offline
Posts: 52
Joined: Jun 10, 2015
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Fibaro Double Switch 2 ( FGS223 )

Juist to inform: I got this useless reply from the Fibaro support:


“My apologies for this inconvenience,

In this case, our device is third-party as you’re using Aeon Z-stick, please ask this question to the manufacturer of your z-wave hub, as we did not registered any problems with our FGS-223”


Gesendet von iPad mit Tapatalk

Posted on
Sun Apr 07, 2019 12:40 pm
superholz offline
Posts: 52
Joined: Jun 10, 2015
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Fibaro Double Switch 2 ( FGS223 )

The topic remains misterious for me. Today I worked on some switches in the house and had to turn off electricity. After I had everything back on again I had also to reconnect the Z-stick because communication seemed not to work properly. After doing this the Fibaro module that did not send scene commands did so. Double tap, hold, tripple tap, release. All these were send properly. Also the status of switch 2 was reported correctly with a small delay.
Already hoping that the problem solved itself mysteriously I found out after two hours that the functionality had disappeared again.

I checked other modules again with saying on the label being FGS 223 v3.2 or v3.3. They still do report the scene commands.

Could it be that it has something to do with the distance to the main controller? I think because the device is far away from the controller the signal has to go via the network. Could it be that scene commands are somehow blocked by a node? Could it be that when I did the repowering I may had direct contact to the main for a few moments which enabled the scene commands being received? Is there a way to test this hypothesis by forcing the module to only send to the main controller directly?



Gesendet von iPad mit Tapatalk

Posted on
Sun Apr 07, 2019 1:09 pm
superholz offline
Posts: 52
Joined: Jun 10, 2015
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Fibaro Double Switch 2 ( FGS223 )

Interesting :? :

I performed a optimize Z-wave on the device following my hypothesis it may has something to do with the connection quality to the device. The result was that the routing table changed a bit:
Z-Wave Optimizing - neighbor list updated from 2, 5, 7, 9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 15, 17, 20, 21, 22, 24, 25, 35, 36, 37, 38, 43, 60 to 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 24, 25, 35, 36, 37, 38, 40, 43, 60

AND... the scene commands work again. I wonder for how long but it feels like a step forward. :roll:

Posted on
Wed Oct 30, 2019 1:35 pm
juntta offline
Posts: 65
Joined: Oct 13, 2014
Location: Finland

Re: Fibaro Double Switch 2 ( FGS223 )

I've been struggling with these switches input S2's and scenes as well and after reading the manual 231 times, I tried to add associations once more through Indigos UI (Interfaces / Z-wave / Manage Associations). I added the switch to Indigo normally and got Indigo Z-wave interface to association groups 1 & 2. Then I added z-wave interface to association group 4 and 5 as well and suddenly I got scenes working from input S2 as well. :lol: I bet that I've done this before but my S2 didnt give any scene information before tonight.

I actually have same issue with Fibaro Dimmer 2 & its S2 as well but unfortunately this method didnt work with it :?

My switches details:
Code: Select all
Indigo Z-Wave Version: 7.4.0
Node ID: 94
Model: Double Switch 2 (FGS223)
Model ID: 02031000
Manufacturer: Fibaro System
Manufacturer ID: 010F
Protocol Version: 4.24
Application Version: 3.03
Model Definition Version: 6
Library Type: 3
Class Name: Relay Power Switch
Class Hierarchy: 04 : 10 : 01
Command Class Base: 25
Command Versions: 20v1 60v4 22v1 25v1 86v1 27v1 72v1 8Ev1 70v1 71v1 32v3 73v1 75v1 56v1 98v1 59v1 5Av1 5Bv1 7Av1 5Ev1 85v1
Encryption Status: Supported but not Enabled
Multi-Endpoint Types: 1:(10 : 01), 2:(10 : 01)
Multi-Endpoint Classes: 1:[5E 86 25 85 59 8E 32], 2:[5E 86 25 85 59 8E 32]
Multi-Instance Counts: - none -
Features: routing, beaming, security, energyMeter
Neighbors: 22, 23, 57, 90, 91, 92, 93, 96, 98
Associations: 1:[1] 2:[] 3:[] 4:[] 5:[]

Posted on
Wed Oct 30, 2019 1:37 pm
juntta offline
Posts: 65
Joined: Oct 13, 2014
Location: Finland

Re: Fibaro Double Switch 2 ( FGS223 )

And now I just noticed that Associations to those groups 2, 4 and 5 doesn't show at the last line of device details, weird... :?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests