Online Sensor plugin

Posted on
Sat Apr 14, 2018 9:04 pm
FlyingDiver offline
Posts: 2399
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Cape Coral, FL

Re: Online Sensor plugin

Colorado4Wheeler wrote:
The reason I know this is because I only allocate about 50 addresses for DHCP non-static devices, everything else is static DHCP and I keep having to shrink the DHCP pool to accommodate more devices :roll:.


Or you could change your network mask and have a bigger pool to start with. ;)

I currently have about 50 devices on the network. Plus the UniFi equipment.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Sun Apr 15, 2018 8:22 am
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2688
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: Online Sensor plugin

kmarkley wrote:
That should be possible and seems useful for more than just local devices. Probably won't get to it for a few days, at least.

Another thought I had about this would be if there was a timer option. This occurred to me as I watch how often my watches, phones and tablets go up and down, if I could set something that says "this is really only OFF when there has been no reply for X minutes" or something - this would also alleviate the issue of each on/off being logged every few seconds because the sensor would stay on unless it hasn't gotten a response for X minutes.

FlyingDiver wrote:
Or you could change your network mask and have a bigger pool to start with.

I could but a class C is just fine for my needs I think, no need to tweak it. I could also subnet and only put things into a particular subnet that I want to monitor to make that device creation smaller, but both of these options require a fairly massive restructuring of what I've already described as a large IP network :wink:.

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Sun Apr 15, 2018 9:02 am
kmarkley offline
Posts: 109
Joined: Nov 15, 2016

Re: Online Sensor plugin

Colorado4Wheeler wrote:
if I could set something that says "this is really only OFF when there has been no reply for X minutes" or something

The plugin already does this, although it's not really explained. For 'LAN Ping' devices, the Persist Cycles setting sets how many consecutive pings are required for the sensor to change state. So for example, setting the persist cycles to 4 means that the plugin sensor device will turn off after 4 consecutive failed pings. It will turn back on after 4 consecutive successful pings.

Since pings are discreet events and not really continuous monitoring, using a purely time-based approach didn't make sense to me. It's theoretically possible for your device to wake up briefly but only between ping cycles and never be noticed.

Posted on
Sun Apr 15, 2018 9:33 am
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2688
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: Online Sensor plugin

Ahh, see I thought the persist was the count of how many pings in succession would be performed and if any failed then it was a fail, obviously not sure what that was for! Thanks :).

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Tue Apr 17, 2018 7:14 pm
kmarkley offline
Posts: 109
Joined: Nov 15, 2016

Re: Online Sensor plugin

New version 0.0.13 available in the plugin store:

• different update frequencies when ON or OFF
• different persist cycles when ON or OFF
• slightly better device config help text
• proper unicode logging

Posted on
Wed Apr 18, 2018 7:51 am
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2688
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: Online Sensor plugin

Thank you for the update, I look forward to trying it out :).

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Sun Aug 05, 2018 11:30 am
MountainEars offline
Posts: 168
Joined: Oct 19, 2010
Location: Georgetown, CA

Re: Online Sensor plugin

Possible to add latency controls, similar to the speedtest I guess. If latency is over/under a threshold, identify that?

Posted on
Sun Aug 05, 2018 12:23 pm
MountainEars offline
Posts: 168
Joined: Oct 19, 2010
Location: Georgetown, CA

Re: Online Sensor plugin

Latency may be good to add if you want, but I figured a way to do what I need for now. Essentially I'm having some issues and at times the latency is a little high or the network is down completely I didn't want to reset things every time it showed down because it could have been a high latency moment.

So instead I'm using variables, testing every minute with your plugin, incrementing it when it is showing down, reseting to 0 when it is up. If it shows down for 6 consecutive tries, then I reset.

Having a latency option though could help make that setup easier, if I could adjust the latency that is used to determine if it is up or down.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest