Any experience with RainMachine integration?

Posted on
Fri Aug 10, 2018 1:05 pm
RogueProeliator offline
User avatar
Posts: 2101
Joined: Nov 13, 2012
Location: Baton Rouge, LA

Re: Any experience with RainMachine integration?

I think I'd much rather have your great cuisine than your average 80% humidity :wink:

You and me both... from the US Dept of Energy website:
Louisiana had the highest annual electricity consumption at 14,881 kWh per residential customer and Hawaii had the lowest at 6,061 kWh per residential customer.

And I can assure you 75% of that energy is A/C units running not just for heat but to drop the humidity. My primary a/c unit is a dual-stage with a dual-compressor so that it can run the smaller compressor to drop humidity when cooling isn't all that required. That literally runs 75+% of the day to maintain a comfortable indoor humidity level (Set point around 45 or 50%, forget what is set). BUT, we don't have to deal with the cities running out of water like CA, so... trade offs.

So it sounds like you are saying don't but new toys?? I thought you guys at least would encourage that

I never suggest not buying new toys - just buy for the right reason! :)

Posted on
Fri Aug 10, 2018 2:32 pm
siclark online
Posts: 630
Joined: Jun 13, 2017
Location: UK

Re: Any experience with RainMachine integration?

Buy, Buy. I am very happy with mine. The issue really is this: If an automatic irrigation controller, particularly one that calculates ETo, really does the job you just set it and forget it. OTOH, if you like constantly twiddling and adjusting things you can probably find less expensive options. Though, as has been well discussed in this thread, you may soon have both options with the RainMachine.

[/quote]

Haha. I'm set on buying the rain machine, just not sure about a weather station. I want a smart automated home not one that needs constant fiddling so want a set and forget system. The weather station was to remove any need to fiddle like I have to now.
Sounds like this should do the job.

Haha yes we got a LOT of rain today. Problem is my irrigation still came on!




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Fri Oct 05, 2018 6:30 am
siclark online
Posts: 630
Joined: Jun 13, 2017
Location: UK

Re: Any experience with RainMachine integration?

lanbrown wrote:

I just noticed that the Pro model is on their site currently selling for $169 until October 31st.

https://www.rainmachine.com/products/rainmachine-pro.html


Back looking at irrigation as we finalise plans for major landscaping in the spring, and also saw this, although sold out of the EU plugs. Could I run this on POE using a splitter and so order the US version? Save myself 50 bucks and get future proofing with the extra zones to the 8 (which doesnt have a ethernet socket either)?

Posted on
Fri Oct 05, 2018 6:36 am
siclark online
Posts: 630
Joined: Jun 13, 2017
Location: UK

Re: Any experience with RainMachine integration?

I just remembered this thing called google, and decided to look myself. So yes, it can run on POE with a splitter, but that needs to be a 24VAC splitter, that dont appear to be cheap. Prob cheaper to buy my own 24VAC mains adapter with a UK plug. I think I am going to just mount the Rainmachine indoors and run the sprinkler control wires inside, rather than running Cat6 to outside.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest