Using Fing as a new way to detect smartphone presence

Posted on
Sun Nov 27, 2016 4:34 pm
ryanbuckner offline
Posts: 320
Joined: Oct 08, 2011

Re: Using Fing as a new way to detect smartphone presence

I deleted it and re-added it. It's being updated so I'm not sure why the sporadic errors.

Posted on
Sun Nov 27, 2016 6:49 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 7038
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Using Fing as a new way to detect smartphone presence

Will check a little bit more in the next days. One explanation is the extra space. The variable looks identical you can see the blank. Had that before. Took me a long time to figure it out.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Sun Nov 27, 2016 10:15 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 7038
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Using Fing as a new way to detect smartphone presence

I looked at the logic:
it tries to update the variable. if it can not do that it will restart.
then at restart if will try to create that variable.

so if it works again after restart variable must be either unavailable or does not exist.
does not exist: something has deleted it.
can not update due to .?: could be that indigo is busy. That happens when an applescript runs and blocks indigo ( one of my favorite.) You will find that in the indigo or the general system log file as a timeout.

Karl

Posted on
Tue Oct 10, 2017 7:43 pm
roquej offline
User avatar
Posts: 354
Joined: Jan 04, 2015

Re: Using Fing as a new way to detect smartphone presence

Karl,

Incorrect file attached to the latest version. It points to the uniFi plugin.

JP

Posted on
Tue Oct 10, 2017 8:14 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 7038
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Using Fing as a new way to detect smartphone presence

sorry.. should be fixed now

Posted on
Tue Nov 19, 2019 6:12 pm
Rjay offline
Posts: 38
Joined: Feb 12, 2019

Re: Using Fing as a new way to detect smartphone presence

hey mate, after the recent issue with change to Mac OS Catalina the command line changes you specified worked. Since then the new version of Fingscan that came out I upgraded to but I am now seeing this in the log Windows consistently;

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "plugin.py", line 4531, in runConcurrentThread
File "plugin.py", line 4578, in dorunConcurrentThread
AttributeError: 'Plugin' object has no attribute 'quitNOW'

fingscan Error plugin runConcurrentThread function returned or failed (will attempt again in 10 seconds)

19 Nov 2019 at 9:56:04 pm
fingscan Error Error in plugin execution runConcurrentThread:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "plugin.py", line 4531, in runConcurrentThread
File "plugin.py", line 4578, in dorunConcurrentThread
AttributeError: 'Plugin' object has no attribute 'quitNOW'

fingscan Error plugin runConcurrentThread function returned or failed (will attempt again in 10 seconds)

thanks :)

Posted on
Tue Nov 19, 2019 7:20 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 7038
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Using Fing as a new way to detect smartphone presence

could you a disable and enable plugin

then I need the FIRST error message. The quitNOW can not be the first one.
the log should start w:
FINGSCAN-- initializing will take ~ 2 minutes...; sending logs to ....

also check the plugin.log file /Library/Application Support/Perceptive Automation/Indigo 7.4/Logs/com.karlwachs.fingscan/plugin.log


Karl

Posted on
Thu Nov 21, 2019 12:57 am
Rjay offline
Posts: 38
Joined: Feb 12, 2019

Re: Using Fing as a new way to detect smartphone presence

No problems :)

Ok Error1 below I think is the full error while running from the top


Error2 is after a restart of plugin :)


thanks
Attachments
Error2.txt
(3.78 KiB) Downloaded 21 times
Error1.txt
(1.17 KiB) Downloaded 17 times

Posted on
Thu Nov 21, 2019 8:26 am
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 7038
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Using Fing as a new way to detect smartphone presence

If you look at the restart logfile it states the plugin name is not correct

You like had an old plugin in download and the new one is now named -2

Stop the plugin
Rename the plugin to the correct name - remove the -2
And reload

Karl


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Thu Nov 21, 2019 11:11 am
howartp offline
Posts: 4084
Joined: Jan 09, 2014
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Re: Using Fing as a new way to detect smartphone presence

Karl

Out of interest, why does this affect the plugin running?

A few of my plugins have ended up being named-2 but other than annoying my OCD, it doesn’t affect the plugin...?

Peter


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Posted on
Thu Nov 21, 2019 11:17 am
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 7038
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Using Fing as a new way to detect smartphone presence

All Kind of indigo function stop working and the path references are screwed up

There is the fileName and the plugin name in the props files- they must be the same at least after the first install no change is good

It’s not a plugin issue but driven by indigo functions.

This is a common mistake that’s why I added the log statement explicitly stating that this is wrong and what to do.
Then a sleep 1000 seconds after that to give the user the opportunity to fix it.

Karl



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Sat Nov 23, 2019 2:36 am
Rjay offline
Posts: 38
Joined: Feb 12, 2019

Re: Using Fing as a new way to detect smartphone presence

thanks mate.

Yep still a learning path structures in MacOS so didn't make much sense to me initially. All good looks to be going now :)

I am hoping this is the cause of the lag I have been seeing post Catalina upgrade.

thanks again

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests