EZIO6I filling log with the analog input status changes

Posted on
Tue Aug 24, 2010 8:42 pm
bob offline
User avatar
Posts: 500
Joined: Jun 14, 2006

EZIO6I filling log with the analog input status changes

I have reset the EZIO6I and synced it and did not select the Analog inputs. They are shorted to ground but still I get the log full of input status changes due to the inputs floating. For some reason it appears the analog inputs are on and not being reset. Is there a way I can look at the resister to see if the analog inputs are on and if so poke the value to switch them off?

bob

Posted on
Wed Aug 25, 2010 7:37 am
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 20243
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: EZIO6I filling log with the analog input status changes

To help us troubleshoot the problem can you factory reset it again, Define and Sync it in Indigo, then copy/paste the contents of the Event Log?

Image

Posted on
Sun Aug 29, 2010 3:52 pm
webdeck offline
Posts: 390
Joined: May 07, 2005

Re: EZIO6I filling log with the analog input status changes

For what it's worth, I have the same problem with my EZIO6I - the analog inputs flip flop off and on, even though they are connected to ground. From what I heard, the only way to stop those inputs from floating is with a pull-up resistor to +5V, but there is no +5V source on the EZIO6I, so you would need to add a voltage regulator on the 12V it provides as well, which exceeds my knowledge base. :)

So, what I did was turn off the broadcasting of state changes. I created a startup trigger that executes this applescript (where xx.xx.xx is the address of the EZIO6I):
Code: Select all
tell application "IndigoServer"
    send insteon raw cmd1 79 cmd2 10 to address "xx.xx.xx"
end tell


Then, I followed the module's directions, and using its button, linked each of the digital inputs to the PowerLinc. Then I set triggers on those 4 inputs, and all it all works well.

-Mike

Posted on
Fri Sep 10, 2010 1:56 pm
bob offline
User avatar
Posts: 500
Joined: Jun 14, 2006

Re: EZIO6I filling log with the analog input status changes

Matt,

Sorry for so long to respond. Here is the log for resetting the EXIO6I.
9-Sep-10 2:35:03 PM
PowerLinc Linking - entered discovery linking mode (240 seconds)
PowerLinc Linking - sending id request for device information
PowerLinc Linking - received module button pressed from 0C.B1.75
PowerLinc Linking - sending id request for device information
PowerLinc Linking - received id request response from 0C.B1.75
PowerLinc Linking - retrieving firmware version
PowerLinc Linking - initializing remote device "EZIO6I" (address 0C.B1.75, firmware version 25)
PowerLinc Linking - . enabling: status change broadcasting
PowerLinc Linking - . reading: configuration settings, input trip points, and output timer durations
PowerLinc Linking - . . . read: configuration settings 00
PowerLinc Linking - . updating: configuration settings 40
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0
PowerLinc Linking - . . . read: analog1 raw trip points 0, 0
PowerLinc Linking - . . . read: analog2 raw trip points 0, 0
PowerLinc Linking - . . . read: output timer durations
PowerLinc Linking - initialize complete
PowerLinc Linking - device "EZIO6I" properties updated
PowerLinc Linking - syncing remote device "EZIO6I" (address 0C.B1.75, firmware version 25)
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0
PowerLinc Linking - syncing of this device not possible remotely (skipping)
PowerLinc Linking - sync complete
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 0, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 0, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 0, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 0, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1
Received RF security command sensor normal (min delay) (ID 11)

9-Sep-10 2:36:26 PM
PowerLinc Linking - exited linking mode
PowerLinc Linking - entered discovery linking mode (240 seconds)
PowerLinc Linking - exited linking mode
Sent INSTEON "EZIO6I" input binary states request (received: 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0)
Sent INSTEON "EZIO6I" input analog value request (received: 0, 0)
Sent INSTEON "EZIO6I" write configuration flags (received: 40)
Sent INSTEON "EZIO6I" finalize i/o device EEPROM changes


With the Analog inputs not selected my log is still filling up with this;
2010-09-10 8:04:26 AM
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 1, 0
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1
Received INSTEON "EZIO6I" inputs status changed: 1, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1


According to Simplehomenet http://www.simplehomenet.com/forum/view ... 4206#p4206 the Analog inputs are not being switched OFF and the trip points are are 0,0.

Hope you can help! thanks,

bob

Posted on
Sat Sep 11, 2010 1:25 pm
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 20243
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: EZIO6I filling log with the analog input status changes

This Event Log line:

Code: Select all
PowerLinc Linking - . updating: configuration settings 40

and this line:

Code: Select all
Sent INSTEON "EZIO6I" write configuration flags (received: 40)

show that Indigo is NOT enabling on the Analog Inputs bits. If you turn on Analog Inputs, then you will see that bits 0 or 1 are set, so instead of 0x40 you would see something like 0x41, 0x42, or 0x43.

grif091 on the SHN forum wrote:
Every time I have seen this using Indigo the Enable Analog Inputs option is set in the Configuration Register and the Analog Trip Points have not been set.


I agree in that in the past when I've heard of this problem I thought Enable Analog inputs was ON. But in this case that isn't true -- Indigo is writing hex 0x40 to the configuration register, so the EZIO6I should not have analog inputs turned on.

grif091 on the SHN forum wrote:
If you have access to a PC with a PLM or PLC such that you can run the free SimpleHomeNet Utility Suite it will display the Configuration Register settings and will also allow you to set the Analog Trip point values.


You can try that on a PC, but as shown above in the Event Log, Indigo is correctly writing the configuration register to disable analog inputs. You might try in Indigo turning Analog Inputs ON and setting correct trip point values (try something like "4000, 1000") to see if that helps. But it sounds to me like your EZIO6I is not behaving correctly when the broadcast changes flag is set (which Indigo always sets). I don't know if it is just a malfunctioning EZIO6I or if there is a firmware bug.

Image

Posted on
Sat Sep 11, 2010 1:43 pm
seanadams offline
Posts: 489
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Saratoga, CA

Re: EZIO6I filling log with the analog input status changes

If they are tied to ground then you should set the trip points HIGH.

Ground is where carrots and potatoes grow. There is really no such thing in electronics. ;)

Posted on
Sun Sep 12, 2010 9:20 am
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 20243
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: EZIO6I filling log with the analog input status changes

Bob: Please see the thread on the SHN forum. I've been troubleshooting the problem with grif091:

http://www.simplehomenet.com/forum/view ... ?f=5&t=755
http://www.simplehomenet.com/forum/view ... 4238#p4238

Image

Posted on
Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:40 am
seanadams offline
Posts: 489
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Saratoga, CA

Re: EZIO6I filling log with the analog input status changes

After reading those threads let me elaborate. As I understand it now the issue is a bug in the EZIO6I hardware and/or firmware, that if you set those ports to digital mode and tie them to ground, they still flap. Somebody suggested tying them to +5V, which might work, but should not be necessary and STILL indicates a bug in the EZIO6I.

My suggestion is to leave them tied to ground, but put them in _analog_ mode, and then set the analog trip level to the maximum value. As long as the ports work OK in analog mode then this will prevent them from generating events.

The point I was getting at earlier is that when you tie an analog input to ground you can NOT expect it to always read exactly 0 for a number of electrical reasons. This is clearly not the entire problem but it may be part of it. When the inputs are in digital mode, they should switch at 50% of the input range. They may have a bug that they are toggling at a near-zero input voltage level.

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests