Plugin requests

Post scripts or code snippits to get help converting them to Python 3 (available in Indigo 2022.1 and beyond).
EagleDTW
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2020 5:56 pm

Plugin requests

Post by EagleDTW »

[MODERATOR NOTE]: moved to the correct forum

Are there substitutes/updates for EPS super conditions&device extensions, ring, network devices, and smartphone radar plugins?
User avatar
DaveL17
Posts: 6858
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 11:02 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Contact:

Re: Having issue with Indigo reflector since updating to Sequoia

Post by DaveL17 »

EagleDTW wrote: Mon Sep 30, 2024 8:01 pm Are there substitutes/updates for EPS super conditions&device extensions, ring, network devices, and smartphone radar plugins?
It's hard to answer a question like that because it's not clear how you might use the various plugins in your setup.

Any plugin authored by Colorado4Wheeler [Homebridge Buddy, Device Extensions Plugin, HomeKit Bridge, LCD Creator, Other Indigo Bits and Bytes, Room-O-Matic, Scene Toggle, Super Conditions (IF-THEN-ELSE)] -- none of those plugins are supported any longer because the developer of those plugins has left the platform. That developer's license terms and code base are such that other developers are unable to take over their development. These are all considered EOL.

There are several other options for Smartphone Radar depending on your equipment and what you want to do.

I'm not familiar with the Ring and Network Devices plugins, but Network Devices has an open license, so you might be able to find someone willing to take a crack at updating it.
I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]
EagleDTW
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2020 5:56 pm

Re: Having issue with Indigo reflector since updating to Sequoia

Post by EagleDTW »

DaveL17 wrote: Tue Oct 01, 2024 5:57 am
EagleDTW wrote: Mon Sep 30, 2024 8:01 pm Are there substitutes/updates for EPS super conditions&device extensions, ring, network devices, and smartphone radar plugins?
It's hard to answer a question like that because it's not clear how you might use the various plugins in your setup.

Any plugin authored by Colorado4Wheeler [Homebridge Buddy, Device Extensions Plugin, HomeKit Bridge, LCD Creator, Other Indigo Bits and Bytes, Room-O-Matic, Scene Toggle, Super Conditions (IF-THEN-ELSE)] -- none of those plugins are supported any longer because the developer of those plugins has left the platform. That developer's license terms and code base are such that other developers are unable to take over their development. These are all considered EOL.

There are several other options for Smartphone Radar depending on your equipment and what you want to do.

I'm not familiar with the Ring and Network Devices plugins, but Network Devices has an open license, so you might be able to find someone willing to take a crack at updating it.
Hi Dave,

Yeah figured as much - such a shame as half my dashboard is developed with if this then that features to open up options that are limited in the user interface...such, such a shame!

Smartphone radar I think that I can reproduce with possible unifi plugin, and network devices is just for a ping of phones as confirmatory secondary pieces of info for phones presence. the ring plugin I think was beneficial, but not going to be able to work any longer as that creator appears to have left the platform too. Homekit Bridge sucks to lose too, but oh well!

Thank you,
Daniel
EagleDTW
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2020 5:56 pm

Re: Having issue with Indigo reflector since updating to Sequoia

Post by EagleDTW »

Hi @Jay, @Matt, @Dave, is there another plugin that does pings? Also is there another plugin that allows for changing through options on a device like super conditions opened up?
User avatar
DaveL17
Posts: 6858
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 11:02 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Contact:

Re: Having issue with Indigo reflector since updating to Sequoia

Post by DaveL17 »

EagleDTW wrote: Tue Oct 01, 2024 7:24 pm Hi @Jay, @Matt, @Dave, is there another plugin that does pings? Also is there another plugin that allows for changing through options on a device like super conditions opened up?
Sorry to say that those aren't features I use, so I'm not familiar enough with what's out there to have an opinion. In cases where I need complex logic for something, I'll write a Python script to take care of it.

I did want to mention that there is a supported plugin for HomeKit available.
I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]
User avatar
jay (support)
Site Admin
Posts: 18376
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Austin, Texas
Contact:

Re: Having issue with Indigo reflector since updating to Sequoia

Post by jay (support) »

EagleDTW wrote: Tue Oct 01, 2024 7:24 pm Hi @Jay, @Matt, @Dave, is there another plugin that does pings?
You don't need a plugin, just use a script (use this as a base):

Code: Select all

import os
hostname = "google.com" # insert your url here
response = os.system(f"ping -c 1 {hostname}")

#and then check the response...
if response == 0:
  print(f"{hostname} is up!")
else:
  print(f"{hostname} is down!")
EagleDTW wrote: Tue Oct 01, 2024 7:24 pm Also is there another plugin that allows for changing through options on a device like super conditions opened up?
I've never used that plugin, and I would need more clarity on the request to comment.
Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn
EagleDTW
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2020 5:56 pm

Re: Plugin requests

Post by EagleDTW »

Hi Jay,

Nice I'll implement the script...the super conditions does if-then-else routines and is a choice in the server action on click in control page to have the decision of intelligent toggle and knows what the device state is and changes it to the next.

Thanks!
Attachments
Screenshot 2024-10-01 at 8.57.18 PM.png
Screenshot 2024-10-01 at 8.57.18 PM.png (70.8 KiB) Viewed 446 times
CraigM
Posts: 613
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 7:01 pm

Re: Having issue with Indigo reflector since updating to Sequoia

Post by CraigM »

jay (support) wrote: Tue Oct 01, 2024 8:38 pm
You don't need a plugin, just use a script (use this as a base):

Code: Select all

import os
hostname = "google.com" # insert your url here
response = os.system(f"ping -c 1 {hostname}")

#and then check the response...
if response == 0:
  print(f"{hostname} is up!")
else:
  print(f"{hostname} is down!")
Excuse my ignorance:
Can you run that script from an Action Group to PING a URL?
Where do you see the UP/DOWN response?
Can it continue to PING until you get an UP response?
Is it possible for the response to populate a variable?
User avatar
DaveL17
Posts: 6858
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 11:02 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Contact:

Re: Plugin requests

Post by DaveL17 »

CraigM wrote: Wed Oct 02, 2024 12:20 amCan you run that script from an Action Group to PING a URL?
You can, but it will need some modifications tailored to what you want to do. See below. You would run it under Server Actions > Script and File Actions > Execute Script.
CraigM wrote: Wed Oct 02, 2024 12:20 amWhere do you see the UP/DOWN response?
I've modified the script to print the up/down response to the Indigo events log and save the result to a variable.
CraigM wrote: Wed Oct 02, 2024 12:20 amCan it continue to PING until you get an UP response?
That would require more extensive changes to the script below (which is set to try one attempt), but I'd recommend against doing what you suggest. Rather, I'd suggest setting up the script to run on some sort of timer or schedule to keep from tying up resources.
CraigM wrote: Wed Oct 02, 2024 12:20 amIs it possible for the response to populate a variable?
Sure. I've added an example to the script.

One other note, depending on your environment, it may be necessary to point directly to the `ping` command when using this script from within the Indigo scripting environment. I've modified the script to point to `/sbin/ping` which should work for you.

Code: Select all

import os
hostname = "google.com" # insert your IP or hostname here
response = os.system(f"/sbin/ping -c 1 {hostname}")

# and then check the response...
if response == 0:
    indigo.server.log(f"{hostname} is up!")
    indigo.variable.updateValue(12345678, 'Up!')  # replace with your variable id.
else:
    indigo.server.log(f"{hostname} is down!")
    indigo.variable.updateValue(12345678, 'Down!')  # replace with your variable id.
  
Last edited by DaveL17 on Wed Oct 02, 2024 8:59 am, edited 1 time in total.
I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]
User avatar
FlyingDiver
Posts: 7313
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 10:36 am
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: Plugin requests

Post by FlyingDiver »

Nit on the comment in line 2 - the ping command requires a hostname or IP address, not a URL or URI. I think this script originally used a URL with the requests library, and the comment didn't get changed.

But.... Some Internet sites block responses to ping commands because they're sometimes used in DDOS attacks. So an actual HTTPS get with a URL is probably more reliable for testing those kinds of sites. OP doesn't state what he actually is targeting with this check.
joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177
CraigM
Posts: 613
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 7:01 pm

Re: Plugin requests

Post by CraigM »

DaveL17 wrote: Wed Oct 02, 2024 6:23 am
CraigM wrote: Wed Oct 02, 2024 12:20 amCan you run that script from an Action Group to PING a URL?
You can, but it will need some modifications tailored to what you want to do. See below. You would run it under Server Actions > Script and File Actions > Execute Script.
CraigM wrote: Wed Oct 02, 2024 12:20 amWhere do you see the UP/DOWN response?
I've modified the script to print the up/down response to the Indigo events log and save the result to a variable.
CraigM wrote: Wed Oct 02, 2024 12:20 amCan it continue to PING until you get an UP response?
That would require more extensive changes to the script below (which is set to try one attempt), but I'd recommend against doing what you suggest. Rather, I'd suggest setting up the script to run on some sort of timer or schedule to keep from tying up resources.
CraigM wrote: Wed Oct 02, 2024 12:20 amIs it possible for the response to populate a variable?
Sure. I've added an example to the script.

One other note, depending on your environment, it may be necessary to point directly to the `ping` command when using this script from within the Indigo scripting environment. I've modified the script to point to `/sbin/ping` which should work for you.

Code: Select all

import os
hostname = "google.com" # insert your IP or hostname here
response = os.system(f"/sbin/ping -c 1 {hostname}")

# and then check the response...
if response == 0:
    indigo.server.log(f"{hostname} is up!")
    indigo.variable.updateValue(12345678, 'Up!')  # replace with your variable id.
else:
    indigo.server.log(f"{hostname} is down!")
    indigo.variable.updateValue(12345678, 'Down!')  # replace with your variable id.
  
PERFECT! Thank You DaveL17
EagleDTW
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2020 5:56 pm

Re: Plugin requests

Post by EagleDTW »

Thank you, Craig and Dave!!

I was trying to replace smartphone radar with Unifi, but boy I had no luck trying to get that configured!! That's a beast of a config + I have a UCG Max and not entirely sure how to adjust accordingly.
User avatar
kw123
Posts: 8436
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 4:44 pm
Location: Dallas, TX
Contact:

Re: Plugin requests

Post by kw123 »

You can try fingscan. That supports pinging external sites.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
EagleDTW
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2020 5:56 pm

Re: Plugin requests

Post by EagleDTW »

Hahah, I've already got fingscan doing a job for presence detection in the same routine for robustness - was hoping for a different one to achieve and replace specifically smartphone radar! Thanks though KW!!
Last edited by EagleDTW on Sat Oct 05, 2024 4:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
kw123
Posts: 8436
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 4:44 pm
Location: Dallas, TX
Contact:

Re: Plugin requests

Post by kw123 »

Fingscan uses the same fing exe as Smartphone Radar I believe


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Post Reply

Return to “Help Converting to Python 3”