2022.2.2 how to update a variable value in a URL

This forum is for questions about variables.
User avatar
mundmc
Posts: 1064
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:34 pm

2022.2.2 how to update a variable value in a URL

Post by mundmc »

I used to rely on this functionality, but it looks like it might be dead.

For example, I used to have an app (Locative) fire off http://USER:PWD@ADDRESS:8176/variables/ ... value=true

I read throught he new HTTP instructions, and I cannot tell if this approach can be approximated.
User avatar
jay (support)
Site Admin
Posts: 18411
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Austin, Texas
Contact:

Re: 2022.2.2 how to update a variable value in a URL

Post by jay (support) »

Does the Locative app support doing HTTP POST requests? That's what you'll need to use along with the new HTTP API.
Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn
User avatar
FlyingDiver
Posts: 7323
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 10:36 am
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: 2022.2.2 how to update a variable value in a URL

Post by FlyingDiver »

Or use the GeoFence plugin, which supports Locative.
joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177
User avatar
mundmc
Posts: 1064
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:34 pm

Re: 2022.2.2 how to update a variable value in a URL

Post by mundmc »

Thanks Jay- It DOES have a POST option, I am just uncertain how i package this in a URL encoded line... something maybe like this, but I am in the weeds here:

Code: Select all

https://mundmc.indigodomo.net//v2/api/indigo.variables.updateValue/VARIABLE_ID?api-key=MY_API_KEY 
Hey Joe- I just installed your plugin and took a look at it. Am I correct that I need an account with the GeoFancy web service to use Locative (as opposed to just sending geofencing info directly to my reflector? I looked at the subforum but still wasn't clear on it.

Thanks all
User avatar
FlyingDiver
Posts: 7323
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 10:36 am
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: 2022.2.2 how to update a variable value in a URL

Post by FlyingDiver »

Hey Joe- I just installed your plugin and took a look at it. Am I correct that I need an account with the GeoFancy web service to use Locative (as opposed to just sending geofencing info directly to my reflector? I looked at the subforum but still wasn't clear on it.
I don't think so. You just put the URL into the mobile app. Something like:

Code: Select all

https://mmdc.indigodomo.net/message/se.furtenbach.indigo.plugin.beacon/webhook?api_key=<your reflector token>
joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177
User avatar
jay (support)
Site Admin
Posts: 18411
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Austin, Texas
Contact:

Re: 2022.2.2 how to update a variable value in a URL

Post by jay (support) »

jay (support) wrote:
mundmc wrote:Thanks Jay- It DOES have a POST option, I am just uncertain how i package this in a URL encoded line... something maybe like this, but I am in the weeds here:

Code: Select all

https://mundmc.indigodomo.net//v2/api/indigo.variables.updateValue/VARIABLE_ID?api-key=MY_API_KEY 
HTTP POST requests can't be completely specified on a URL line, so I'm unclear what you need exactly. Can you post a screenshot from the POST configuration screen in Locative?

When doing a POST, you specify the URL, headers (though that's optional), and a payload that gets posted to the URL.
Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn
User avatar
mundmc
Posts: 1064
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:34 pm

Re: 2022.2.2 how to update a variable value in a URL

Post by mundmc »

jay (support) wrote:HTTP POST requests can't be completely specified on a URL line, so I'm unclear what you need exactly. Can you post a screenshot from the POST configuration screen in Locative?
I think that was what I needed to understand, thank you. I will play with Joe's plugin and see if I can figure this out with his tips.
Post Reply

Return to “Variables”