No pytz

Posted on
Wed Aug 28, 2019 10:08 pm
bjmouton offline
Posts: 65
Joined: Jul 23, 2017

No pytz

Please forgive my ignorance, but I am having difficulty getting started with this plugin. What do you mean by the following? Where do I run these commands?

If you don't have pip installed already, do:

Code: Select all
sudo easy_install pip

Install the Twilio library:
Code: Select all
sudo pip install twilio

Posted on
Thu Aug 29, 2019 5:49 am
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 7189
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: Twilio Getting Started

That step is no longer required. You should be following the instructions in the Wiki: https://github.com/FlyingDiver/Indigo-Twilio/wiki

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Thu Aug 29, 2019 9:20 pm
bjmouton offline
Posts: 65
Joined: Jul 23, 2017

Re: Twilio Getting Started

The instructions in your link describe how to install the plugin, perhaps I didn't describe things well originally, I had the plugin installed, just couldn't create a new device associated with the plugin. I uninstalled it, download the latest one from github & re-installed. It shows up as enabled in the plugin list, but I still cannot create a new device to associate with, it does not show up in the list (see attachments). I have created my Twilio account and have the info described below, the part I can't seem to get to is "configure the plugin and create a Twilio device".

Now that you have an SID, Token, and Twilio number, you can configure the plugin and create a Twilio device. You create one device for each Twilio number assigned to your account.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2019-08-29 at 9.56.11 PM.png
Screen Shot 2019-08-29 at 9.56.11 PM.png (32.55 KiB) Viewed 4330 times
Screen Shot 2019-08-29 at 9.53.16 PM.png
Screen Shot 2019-08-29 at 9.53.16 PM.png (79.15 KiB) Viewed 4330 times

Posted on
Fri Aug 30, 2019 5:48 am
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 7189
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: Twilio Getting Started

I need to see the Indigo log output when you restart the plugin. It's clearly not loading properly, since most of the menu entries are missing.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Fri Aug 30, 2019 6:40 am
bjmouton offline
Posts: 65
Joined: Jul 23, 2017

Re: Twilio Getting Started

I disable & re-enabled, below is log capture:

Code: Select all
   Disabling plugin "Twilio 7.2.0"
   Enabling plugin "Twilio 7.2.0"
   Starting plugin "Twilio 7.2.0" (pid 55964)
   Twilio Error                    Error in plugin execution InitializeMain:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "plugin.py", line 8, in <module>
ImportError: No module named pytz

   Stopping plugin "Twilio 7.2.0" (pid 55964)
   Stopped plugin "Twilio 7.2.0"

Posted on
Fri Aug 30, 2019 6:42 am
bjmouton offline
Posts: 65
Joined: Jul 23, 2017

Re: Twilio Getting Started

BTW, my Indigo version is v7.3

Posted on
Fri Aug 30, 2019 7:02 am
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 7189
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: Twilio Getting Started

Huh. I didn't realize pytz wasn't part of the standard install. No one else has reported that error. Maybe everyone else had installed it using pip.

I'll have a fix later today.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Fri Aug 30, 2019 4:21 pm
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 7189
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: Twilio Getting Started

So it looks like it is part of the standard install.

Code: Select all
Kraken:~ jkeenan$ pip2 install pytz
Requirement already satisfied: pytz in /System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.7/Extras/lib/python (2013.7)


Try running that command in a terminal window and see what you get. If it give an error, just do "pip install pytz".

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Fri Aug 30, 2019 4:43 pm
bjmouton offline
Posts: 65
Joined: Jul 23, 2017

Re: Twilio Getting Started

No go, below is terminal text:

The-Moutons-Mac-Mini:~ User$ pip install pytz
-bash: pip: command not found
The-Moutons-Mac-Mini:~ User$

Posted on
Fri Aug 30, 2019 4:52 pm
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 7189
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: Twilio Getting Started

Did you do anything like install a non-standard Python on this system?

Please do these commands in Terminal:

Code: Select all
python --version
which python
ls -l /System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.7/Extras/lib/python/pytz*

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Fri Aug 30, 2019 5:02 pm
bjmouton offline
Posts: 65
Joined: Jul 23, 2017

Re: Twilio Getting Started

Not to my knowledge.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2019-08-30 at 17.59.43.png
Screen Shot 2019-08-30 at 17.59.43.png (51.91 KiB) Viewed 4272 times

Posted on
Fri Aug 30, 2019 5:13 pm
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 7189
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: Twilio Getting Started

OK, what OS version you running? Python 2.7.1 is pretty old.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Fri Aug 30, 2019 5:15 pm
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 7189
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: No pytz

Moved to new thread.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Fri Aug 30, 2019 5:17 pm
bjmouton offline
Posts: 65
Joined: Jul 23, 2017

Re: No pytz

System Version: Mac OS X 10.7.5 (11G63)

Posted on
Fri Aug 30, 2019 5:25 pm
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 7189
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: No pytz

bjmouton wrote:
System Version: Mac OS X 10.7.5 (11G63)


Lion? Seriously?

I'm not going to jump through hoops to make this work on Lion. I doubt it would work even if you could get pytz installed, because that old a version of MacOS doesn't have the current SSL/TLS library needed for most cloud servers.

You need to upgrade.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests