Setting up Somfy shades

Posted on
Mon Jan 07, 2019 4:03 pm
rgspb offline
Posts: 217
Joined: Apr 24, 2009
Location: Florida

Setting up Somfy shades

We are getting some new Somfy rollup shades installed and I am trying to figure out how to integrate them with Indigo. I've got the MyLink module that will at very least allow me to connect them to Alexa. What is the best way to connect them to Indigo. From what I've read so far it looks like I need an ADDITIONAL device to plug in to my Mini, but there are no USB ports available. Is there not just a simple plugin that will connect to the MyLink module?

Posted on
Mon Jan 07, 2019 6:28 pm
jblackburn offline
Posts: 77
Joined: Dec 11, 2013
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: Setting up Somfy shades

Hi,

I've few SOmfy and I think the best integration with Indigo is the zWave module ZRTSI:

https://www.somfysystems.com/products/1811265/zwave-to-rts-interface

This is a bridge between RTS and zWave. I think the API for the MyLink is not offcially available!

Thanks!

Joël

Posted on
Mon Jan 07, 2019 7:06 pm
norcoscia offline
User avatar
Posts: 1206
Joined: Sep 09, 2015

Re: Setting up Somfy shades

If you have the my link ip interface you can just run a script from indigo and control them... works great
And there is a plug-in too but not sure it is out of beta

_______
Norm

Posted on
Mon Jan 07, 2019 7:38 pm
norcoscia offline
User avatar
Posts: 1206
Joined: Sep 09, 2015

Re: Setting up Somfy shades

This is what you do

You can set up a python script in a schedule or action - looks like this (for up) -- just replace the xxx in both auth and targetID with your info. And replace the IP 192.168.1.XX with yours. You don't need the commented out lines.... For the up command just change mylink.move.up to mylink.move.down

use embed python
———————————————-

import telnetlib
payload = '{ "id":1, "method": "mylink.move.up", "params": { "auth": "xxx", "targetID" : "CCxxxxx.1"} }'
tn = telnetlib.Telnet ("192.168.1.XX", "44100")
# Write the JSON payload
tn.write(payload)
# Close the connection
tn.close()

————————————————

NOTE — You get targetID auth from the SOMFY IOS app - one is under integration and one is under info (tap the hamburger on the top left of the app to see choices) The current system ID (on the integration page) is what goes after auth. The ID (under info ) - is what goes after the target ID. I think you will need to add a .1 to it....

_______
Norm

Posted on
Mon Jan 07, 2019 10:34 pm
rgspb offline
Posts: 217
Joined: Apr 24, 2009
Location: Florida

Re: Setting up Somfy shades

Wow, I’ve never done any kind of scripting. I’ll see if I can figure that out! As far as the ZWAVE TO RTS INTERFACE that’s really pricey, that will probably be my second choice.

Posted on
Tue Jan 08, 2019 7:08 am
norcoscia offline
User avatar
Posts: 1206
Joined: Sep 09, 2015

Re: Setting up Somfy shades

If you need any help just let me know, it is pretty easy and works great! And of course you should assigns a static IP to your MyLink device.

It will look like this.... you put your info in where the orange boxes are.
Attachments
2019-01-08_05-11-43.jpeg
2019-01-08_05-11-43.jpeg (86.17 KiB) Viewed 5085 times

_______
Norm

Posted on
Tue Jan 08, 2019 3:52 pm
rgspb offline
Posts: 217
Joined: Apr 24, 2009
Location: Florida

Re: Setting up Somfy shades

Great, thank you!

Posted on
Tue Feb 12, 2019 1:56 pm
rgspb offline
Posts: 217
Joined: Apr 24, 2009
Location: Florida

Re: Setting up Somfy shades

So I got this working...on one shade. How do I make a script for a different shade? (So far only one motorized has been installed so I've only got that one to play with)

Posted on
Tue Feb 12, 2019 2:16 pm
norcoscia offline
User avatar
Posts: 1206
Joined: Sep 09, 2015

Re: Setting up Somfy shades

I only have one awning so not 100% sure - just guessing, maybe the target ID? Glad it is working....

_______
Norm

Posted on
Tue Feb 12, 2019 3:24 pm
rgspb offline
Posts: 217
Joined: Apr 24, 2009
Location: Florida

Re: Setting up Somfy shades

Thanks, hopefully i'll get the rest of the shades in soon and will be able to explore that. We'll have to see what info pops up once I get more setup! I'll report back.

Posted on
Tue Feb 12, 2019 3:38 pm
norcoscia offline
User avatar
Posts: 1206
Joined: Sep 09, 2015

Re: Setting up Somfy shades

Sounds good, seems like it almost has the be the target ID, since the IP is for the Somfy IP bridge and that will not change. It will be interesting to see if the .1 needs to become .2 (for the second shade) or it the rest of the target ID changes when you add a shade.

I just did a FW update to my IP bridge - went fine, I'm on ver 5.17 now....

_______
Norm

Posted on
Tue Feb 12, 2019 4:21 pm
rgspb offline
Posts: 217
Joined: Apr 24, 2009
Location: Florida

Re: Setting up Somfy shades

Yay, I just figured out how to get the MY position programmed! Reading one of your older posts I used the "stop" command. Works like a charm!

Posted on
Tue Feb 19, 2019 3:26 pm
rgspb offline
Posts: 217
Joined: Apr 24, 2009
Location: Florida

Re: Setting up Somfy shades

Is there a way to lower the shade partially but not use the “favorite” position? Maybe in the script?

Posted on
Tue Feb 19, 2019 5:37 pm
norcoscia offline
User avatar
Posts: 1206
Joined: Sep 09, 2015

Re: Setting up Somfy shades

I don't think there is a way to command it to a position, but you could just run a counter for some amount in the script and then send the stop command. I have never tried it but I don't see why that would not work. Might not be that accurate -- you could try this (but I don't know if it would work -- I'm not a programmer).

Jay, would know what it best, maybe he will see this and jump in to help on how best to implement a delay in a script.

import time
time.sleep(1) # delay for 1 seconds

_______
Norm

Posted on
Thu Feb 21, 2019 4:17 pm
rgspb offline
Posts: 217
Joined: Apr 24, 2009
Location: Florida

Re: Setting up Somfy shades

Got all the shades installed today! Here's what I get in the IOS app. Click on the "hamburger" menu, select Integration, select RTI, then select "Get Integration report". Here's what it spit out:

Target: CC1049A9.1
Name: Den Shade

Target: CC1049A9.2
Name: Master Bathroom Shade

Target: CC1049A9.3
Name: Master Bedroom Door

Target: CC1049A9.4
Name: Master Bedroom East

Target: CC1049A9.5
Name: Master Bedroom South 1

Target: CC1049A9.6
Name: Master Bedroom South 2

Scenes

ID: 0003
Name: Den Favorite

ID: 0002
Name: Den Close

ID: 0001
Name: Den Open

ID: 0004
Name: Master Open

ID: 0006
Name: Master Favorite

ID: 0005
Name: Master Close


Obviously from this you just change the .# on the CC line for each different shade. Now I wonder if the ID:000X can be used for anything??

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest