HomeBridge buddy error

Posted on
Sat Feb 17, 2018 3:09 pm
erikwegman offline
Posts: 20
Joined: Apr 05, 2015

HomeBridge buddy error

Ater installation I get this strange error:

Reloading plugin "EPS - Homebridge Buddy 1.0.1"
Stopping plugin "EPS - Homebridge Buddy 1.0.1" (pid 96129)
Stopped plugin "EPS - Homebridge Buddy 1.0.1"
Starting plugin "EPS - Homebridge Buddy 1.0.1" (pid 96507)
Started plugin "EPS - Homebridge Buddy 1.0.1"
EPS - Homebridge Buddy Custom installation of Homebridge found, adding a custom server to Indigo
EPS - Homebridge Buddy Error Exception in plugin.homebridgeDiscovery line 1426: No JSON object could be decoded
CODE: json_data = json.load(json_file)

Can anyone tell me what is wrong ? I reinstalled the plugin but unfortunately it doesn't help

Posted on
Sat Feb 17, 2018 3:14 pm
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2773
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: HomeBridge buddy error

erikwegman wrote:
Ater installation I get this strange error:

Reloading plugin "EPS - Homebridge Buddy 1.0.1"
Stopping plugin "EPS - Homebridge Buddy 1.0.1" (pid 96129)
Stopped plugin "EPS - Homebridge Buddy 1.0.1"
Starting plugin "EPS - Homebridge Buddy 1.0.1" (pid 96507)
Started plugin "EPS - Homebridge Buddy 1.0.1"
EPS - Homebridge Buddy Custom installation of Homebridge found, adding a custom server to Indigo
EPS - Homebridge Buddy Error Exception in plugin.homebridgeDiscovery line 1426: No JSON object could be decoded
CODE: json_data = json.load(json_file)

Can anyone tell me what is wrong ? I reinstalled the plugin but unfortunately it doesn't help


That looks like the config.json file in your ~/.homebridge/ folder is not a valid JSON file, it may be malformed. If you got to that line it means that the file is there and the folder is there but it could not parse the file as a valid JSON file. Can you post the contents of that file?

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Sat Feb 17, 2018 3:29 pm
erikwegman offline
Posts: 20
Joined: Apr 05, 2015

Re: HomeBridge buddy error

where can I find this folder and file?

Posted on
Sat Feb 17, 2018 3:35 pm
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2773
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: HomeBridge buddy error

erikwegman wrote:
where can I find this folder and file?

You had to hand install Homebridge-Indigo, and in doing so you don't know where the folder is? Are you sure you installed it properly? I'm not talking about Homebridge Buddy, I'm talking about the hand-installed Homebridge-Indigo that has obviously been at least partially installed because you DO have a file there.

It's in the location that I mentioned in my initial response.
Colorado4Wheeler wrote:
That looks like the config.json file in your ~/.homebridge/ folder is not a valid JSON file, it may be malformed.

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Sat Feb 17, 2018 3:42 pm
Different Computers offline
User avatar
Posts: 1857
Joined: Jan 02, 2016
Location: East Coast

Re: HomeBridge buddy error

Eric,

Just in case you're not familiar, the path shown breaks down like this:

~ your home directory
/ a directory in that directory (could also be a file, but. not in this case)
. a hidden file or folder
homebridge the rest of the name.

If you don't know how to get there, from the Finder, choose the Go menu, then Go to folder... and paste ~/.homebridge/ in there, then hit return. The hidden folder will open as a finder window.

SmartThings refugee, so happy to be on Indigo. 10.13.6 on an i5 MBP w/Harmony Hub, Hue, DomoPad, Dynamic URL, Device Extensions, HomeKit Bridge, MatplotLib, Plex, uniFAP, Wunderground, Nanoleaf, LED Simple Effects, Airfoil Pro, Grafana.

Posted on
Sat Feb 17, 2018 3:45 pm
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2773
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: HomeBridge buddy error

Thanks Different :). I probably should have broken it down but if he got through the HB-Indigo install I assumed he was already shell friendly.

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Sat Feb 17, 2018 3:46 pm
erikwegman offline
Posts: 20
Joined: Apr 05, 2015

Re: HomeBridge buddy error

Oh yeah, it has been a couple of months since I installed Homebridge-Indigo. Homebrigde Buddy wasn't available then

Here is the content of the config.json

Code: Select all
{
    "bridge": {
        "name": "Homebridge",
        "username": "CC:22:3D:E3:CE:30",
        "port": 51826,
        "pin": "031-45-154"
    },

    "description": "This is an example configuration file to configure the Indigo platform plugin. See README.md for more details.",

    "platforms": [
        {
            "platform": "Indigo",
            "name": "My Indigo Server",
            "protocol": "http",
            "host": "127.0.0.1",
            "port": "8176",
            "path": "",
            "username": “erik”,
            "password": “*****”, [removed]
            "includeActions": true,
            "includeIds": [ "12345", "67890" ],
            "excludeIds": [ "98765", "43210" ],
            "treatAsSwitchIds": [ "13579", "24680" ],
            "treatAsLockIds": [ "112233", "445566" ],
            "treatAsDoorIds": [ "224466", "664422" ],
            "treatAsGarageDoorIds": [ "223344", "556677" ],
            "treatAsMotionSensorIds": [ "336699" ],
            "treatAsContactSensorIds": [ "446688" ],
            "treatAsWindowIds": [ "123123", "456456" ],
            "treatAsWindowCoveringIds": [ "345345", "678678" ],
            "invertOnOffIds": [ "234234", "567567" ],
            "thermostatsInCelsius": false,
            "accessoryNamePrefix": "",
            "listenPort": 8177
        }
    ],

    "accessories": [
    ]
}



I there a way to start over? I mean, deinstall Homebridge Indigo and just use Homebridge Buddy (as it seams the last one is more user friendly)

[MODERATOR NOTE: PUT THE CONFIG INTO CODE BLOCKS TO MAKE IT MORE READABLE]

Posted on
Sat Feb 17, 2018 4:05 pm
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2773
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: HomeBridge buddy error

Well, that config is the stock default config so it could be that it's bombing out on the default values since they don't match to anything in Indigo.

erikwegman wrote:
it has been a couple of months since I installed Homebridge-Indigo. Homebrigde Buddy wasn't available then

:shock: :shock: It's been available for over a year :oops: :D

erikwegman wrote:
I there a way to start over? I mean, deinstall Homebridge Indigo and just use Homebridge Buddy (as it seams the last one is more user friendly)

HBB was initially created as a way to manage HB-Indigo and morphed into it's own self-contained system, it will likely be easier for you. HomeKit Bridge is it's replacement and is in beta testing now so it's up to you but there will be a migration path from HBB to HKB when it is released.

Anyway, if you want to start over that's pretty easy, just remove the .homebridge folder from your home folder and HBB won't try to fire it up anymore. Also you might want to download the latest HBB from Git, I think I have 1.0.6 up there and it has a few stability enhancements but wasn't released to the public because I wasn't done enhancing it yet :).

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests