DirecTV Control Issue

Posted on
Sat Jan 14, 2017 11:10 pm
ckeyes888 offline
Posts: 2196
Joined: Nov 26, 2009
Location: Kalispell, MT

DirecTV Control Issue

Hey,

Curious if anyone else is having issues with control of their DirecTV box with the plugin?
The last few days I've been losing communication with it a number of times a day.
The only fix I've found is to unplug the DirecTV box to reboot it.
It had been working perfectly for years til now.
Code: Select all
 DIRECTV DVR Control Error       Send key press action failed with a network error - check your DVR to make sure it's on
  Script Error                    embedded script: <urlopen error [Errno 64] Host is down>
  Script Error                    Exception Traceback (most recent call shown last):

     embedded script, line 9, at top level
     File "/System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.6/lib/python2.6/urllib2.py", line 124, in urlopen
       return _opener.open(url, data, timeout)
     File "/System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.6/lib/python2.6/urllib2.py", line 383, in open
       response = self._open(req, data)
     File "/System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.6/lib/python2.6/urllib2.py", line 401, in _open
       '_open', req)
     File "/System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.6/lib/python2.6/urllib2.py", line 361, in _call_chain
       result = func(*args)
     File "/System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.6/lib/python2.6/urllib2.py", line 1130, in http_open
       return self.do_open(httplib.HTTPConnection, req)
     File "/System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.6/lib/python2.6/urllib2.py", line 1105, in do_open
       raise URLError(err)
URLError: <urlopen error [Errno 64] Host is down>

  Action Group                    DTV Guide
  DIRECTV DVR Control Error       Send key press action failed with a network error - check your DVR to make sure it's on


The box itself is hardwired to my LAN. Everything else on the network is working fine.

10.6.8. 6.1.4

Any ideas appreciated.

Thanks,

Carl

Posted on
Sun Jan 15, 2017 12:50 pm
chobo offline
Posts: 127
Joined: Dec 08, 2013
Location: USA

Re: DirecTV Control Issue

ckeyes888-

Just started experiencing the exact same issue with an HR54 (and its associated Genie clients). Your post (and my experience) leads me to believe it's an issue with a DirecTV update. Have little hope that reporting an issue with the SHEF protocol to the regular tech support channels will get us anywhere. Does anyone have any alternative DirecTV tech contacts they'd be willing to share?

Thanks,
-chobo997

Posted on
Sun Jan 15, 2017 3:54 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 16314
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: DirecTV Control Issue

Unfortunately, I don't. And I also no longer have DirecTV so I won't be any help if there are code changes required. I did open source the plugin though so someone who has one can help if there's a code change necessary.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Sun Jan 15, 2017 4:33 pm
ckeyes888 offline
Posts: 2196
Joined: Nov 26, 2009
Location: Kalispell, MT

Re: DirecTV Control Issue

Bummer, sounds like we're on our own.

Carl

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest