Another Condition Question or Issue

This forum is for questions about conditions.
BruceP
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2004 9:17 am

Another Condition Question or Issue

Post by BruceP »

I have a floor fan used to circulate air. It is to come on every 40 min. during the day, runs for 7 min. I do not want it running when the exterior temp is above 64 degrees. Here are the following conditions. They are listed as follows:

If conditions match rules: any
if Variable, weather temp, is less than 64
if variable, on vacation, is false
If variable, Peak Heating, is false

For temp I am using Weather Underground and Indigo is currently displaying 66.4 degrees in device pane.
Check variable list and OnVacation is currently False
Peak Heating changes duration of fan running at a certain time. Peak Heating is set to false. Same conditions apply to this action.

The fan is still running every 40 min.

I am obviously missing something.
User avatar
jay (support)
Site Admin
Posts: 18351
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Austin, Texas
Contact:

Re: Another Condition Question or Issue

Post by jay (support) »

There's nothing obvious wrong with the conditions. Just to make sure, click the Insert into Event Log Window button above the rule editor on the Conditions tab and copy/paste the results into a reply inside a code tag (to help with readability).
Peak Heating changes duration of fan running at a certain time. Peak Heating is set to false.
You're sure that PeakHeating is always either "true" or "false"?

One final thing - did you at any point copy a different schedule to create this one that might still be running and causing the fan to go on? You'd be surprised at how often that happens accidentally... ;)
Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn
User avatar
DaveL17
Posts: 6845
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 11:02 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Contact:

Re: Another Condition Question or Issue

Post by DaveL17 »

If I'm understanding, and there's no guarantee that I am, because you have selected this to run if ANY of the conditions are met, it's running because you are not on vacation.

Try "If ALL conditions are met."


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]
BruceP
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2004 9:17 am

Re: Another Condition Question or Issue

Post by BruceP »

Code: Select all

  

   "Any" "of the following rules are true"
  	 "If variable" Weather_Temperature_F "is less than" "value" "64"
  	 "If variable" PeakHeating "is false"
  	 "If variable" OnVacation "is false"
  
Peak heating is only true or false
After original post I unchecked the schedules and the fan dod not run.
Will change to ALL. Will have to change temp for the test since it is below 64 right now. Will let you know.
Thanks
BruceP
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2004 9:17 am

Re: Another Condition Question or Issue

Post by BruceP »

UPDATE:
Changed to ALL, additionally set temp set point to 50 degrees (for testing)but Device window is showing 65 degrees and the same thing is happening, fan running.
User avatar
DaveL17
Posts: 6845
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 11:02 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Contact:

Re: Another Condition Question or Issue

Post by DaveL17 »

I don't think the device window would enter into it. If:

Temp variable < 64
AND
Peak Heating variable = false
AND
Vacation variable = false

Then the fan should run. Shouldn't it?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]
User avatar
jay (support)
Site Admin
Posts: 18351
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Austin, Texas
Contact:

Re: Another Condition Question or Issue

Post by jay (support) »

How are you executing the trigger? If you're just testing using the Execute Actions Now button, then it's only executing the actions (not evaluating the conditions).
Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn
howartp
Posts: 4559
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 4:43 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Another Condition Question or Issue

Post by howartp »

Are you comparing apples with pears here?

You keep saying "if temp VARIABLE < 50" but saying the DEVICE pane is showing 65 - shouldn't you be saying "if temp DEVICE < 50" ?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
BruceP
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2004 9:17 am

Re: Another Condition Question or Issue

Post by BruceP »

Just letting the schedule do its thing, not forcing it in any way.

The temp in the Device Window is showing the temp via Weather Underground. That temp is what I am referring to in the conditions.
User avatar
DaveL17
Posts: 6845
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 11:02 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Contact:

Re: Another Condition Question or Issue

Post by DaveL17 »

To howartp's point, above you refer to both "variable weather_temp_f" and the device state temperature. In the conditions, you refer to variables and devices differently.

Dave


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]
BruceP
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2004 9:17 am

Re: Another Condition Question or Issue

Post by BruceP »

I would have posted screen shots, but cannot seem to find the way, anyway........

In Devices a Weather Underground station is reporting the temperature.
This temperature is the used to update the variable Weather_Temp_F.
I have another schedule to run that places the Weather Underground data into the variables
When I check the variable list, the temp in Devices is the same as the temp in the variable.

Hope this clears up the confusion.
User avatar
jay (support)
Site Admin
Posts: 18351
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Austin, Texas
Contact:

Re: Another Condition Question or Issue

Post by jay (support) »

Send your database to support@indigodomo.com and include the name of the schedule.
Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn
User avatar
DaveL17
Posts: 6845
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 11:02 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Contact:

Re: Another Condition Question or Issue

Post by DaveL17 »

Please do as Jay suggests, but for the future, you can key off the device state directly as a condition--no need to insert the value into a variable first.

Dave


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]
User avatar
DaveL17
Posts: 6845
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 11:02 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Contact:

Re: Another Condition Question or Issue

Post by DaveL17 »

Like this:
Screen Shot 2015-11-04 at 4.46.30 PM.png
Screen Shot 2015-11-04 at 4.46.30 PM.png (90.06 KiB) Viewed 6431 times
Dave
I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]
howartp
Posts: 4559
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 4:43 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Re: Another Condition Question or Issue

Post by howartp »

Just wondering - is the 'If conditions match rule' option ticked, or is it at 'Always'?

(Can't remember if you can edit the conditions if it's not ticked)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Post Reply

Return to “Conditions”