[ANSWERED] Setting up the NOAA weather plugin

Posted on
Mon May 18, 2015 9:48 pm
Radjin offline

[ANSWERED] Setting up the NOAA weather plugin

I have the plugin enabled and the correct code entered to where it is showing the temperature in the device display. But I can see no other data nor do I have any additional variables with which to control schedules or triggers. I'm new to Indigo and so far have been pretty good at getting the 120 or so devices all coordinated but this particular plugin has so far evaded my comprehension.

How do I create variables from the weather data or use it to modify a schedule or activate a trigger?

Thanks in advance

Radjin~
Last edited by Radjin on Fri Nov 06, 2015 7:58 am, edited 2 times in total.

It's not rocket science...

Posted on
Tue May 19, 2015 4:13 am
DaveL17 offline

Re: Setting up the NOAA weather plugin

Hi Radjin - Welcome to Indigo.

What you are looking for are "Custom Device States" which are common for devices that are created with plugins. In the main Indigo device window, towards the bottom, you have a "Device Details" box. Your custom device states are right below that, only you can't see them due to the fact that the OS X scroll bar is most likely hidden from you. You can either "grab" the small circle and drag that portion of the window higher, or scroll in that area to expose the custom states. Here's a picture to demonstrate.

Screen Shot 2015-05-19 at 5.11.21 AM.png
Screen Shot 2015-05-19 at 5.11.21 AM.png (29.28 KiB) Viewed 6493 times

Cheers,
Dave

I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]

Posted on
Tue May 19, 2015 6:58 am
Radjin offline

And there it is; the all light gray colors totally hid the scroll bar. Thank you. :mrgreen:

To extend my question, how do I use this information to control a schedule, trigger or create a variable? The NOAA plugin page gets you to the install but goes no further on how to use the plugin.

Radjin~

Posted on