NOAA Plugin Failure?

Discuss the NOAA Weather plugin.
ryanbuckner
Posts: 1086
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2011 12:33 pm
Location: Northern Virginia
Contact:

NOAA Plugin Failure?

Post by ryanbuckner »

The NOAA plugin has reported errors for about 5 days now. The xml appears to be up https://w1.weather.gov/xml/current_obs/KIAD.xml

Anyone else having this issue?

Code: Select all

ep 6, 2023 at 7:58:52 PM
   NOAA Weather Error              Unknown error getting station 'KIAD' data, will retry on the next cycle. Check plugin log for more information.
User avatar
DaveL17
Posts: 6828
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 11:02 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Contact:

Re: NOAA Plugin Failure?

Post by DaveL17 »

The plugin can get confused when a station disappears from the NOAA API (for reasons I can't explain, sometimes a station will flat out disappear--only to reappear later). I just added a new NOAA device with your AID and it loaded data no problem. You might try disabling and re-enabling that station and see if it makes a difference.

The next version of Indigo should include a revision to the plugin that handles this particular situation more gracefully (bearing in mind that this may or may not be the problem you're experiencing).
I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]
ryanbuckner
Posts: 1086
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2011 12:33 pm
Location: Northern Virginia
Contact:

Re: NOAA Plugin Failure?

Post by ryanbuckner »

I created a new device with the same Station and it's updating ok. Deleted the old one.
Svale_SP
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2019 5:50 pm

Re: NOAA Plugin Failure?

Post by Svale_SP »

Some data is now missing in NOAA Weather PLUS device. Was OK just a few days ago. Creating a new device did not change status.
Any ideas?

Examples:

currentCondition = NA

maxTempToday = 0

forecastTodayWorded =

etc.
User avatar
DaveL17
Posts: 6828
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 11:02 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Contact:

Re: NOAA Plugin Failure?

Post by DaveL17 »

I'm not sure that either plugin can do much when the data doesn't conform.

I'd suggest setting up a trigger or two to alert you when the data doesn't fall within some parameter(s).
I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]
wackena
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2022 10:29 am

Re: NOAA Plugin Failure?

Post by wackena »

NOAA Plugin v1.1.19 today staring to have this error,
2023-12-23 00:27:23.634 NOAA Weather Error Error in plugin execution runConcurrentThread:

File "plugin.py", line 178, in run_concurrent_thread
File "plugin.py", line 316, in update
File "plugin.py", line 475, in update_forecast_device
File "/Library/Application Support/Perceptive Automation/Indigo 2023.1/IndigoPluginHost3.app/Contents/Resources/PlugIns/requests/models.py", line 917, in json
type: [Errno Expecting value] <!DOCTYPE html>
<html>
<head>
<title>Error</title>
<style>
body {
width: 35em;
margin: 0 auto;
font-family: Tahoma, Verdana, Arial, sans-serif;
}
</style>
</head>
<body>
<h1>An error occurred.</h1>
<p>Sorry, the page you are looking for is currently unavailable.<br/>
Please try again later.</p>
<p>If you are the system administrator of this resource then you should check
the error log for details.</p>
<p><em>Faithfully yours, nginx.</em></p>
</body>
</html>
: 0

2023-12-23 00:27:23.634 NOAA Weather Error plugin runConcurrentThread function returned or failed (will attempt again in 10 seconds)
User avatar
FlyingDiver
Posts: 7285
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 10:36 am
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: NOAA Plugin Failure?

Post by FlyingDiver »

That seems pretty clear:

Code: Select all

<p>Sorry, the page you are looking for is currently unavailable.<br/>
Please try again later.</p>
The server is down.
So try later.
joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177
User avatar
DaveL17
Posts: 6828
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 11:02 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Contact:

Re: NOAA Plugin Failure?

Post by DaveL17 »

I've been having some trouble with the NOAA Forecast API for the last couple of days.
I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]
User avatar
DaveL17
Posts: 6828
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 11:02 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Contact:

Re: NOAA Plugin Failure?

Post by DaveL17 »

For folks who want to check for themselves, here is the endpoint listed in the NOAA docs:

https://api.weather.gov/gridpoints/TOP/31,80/forecast

As of this post, the result is still:
Screenshot 2023-12-24 at 1.12.09 PM.png
Screenshot 2023-12-24 at 1.12.09 PM.png (39.49 KiB) Viewed 2230 times
I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]
User avatar
DaveL17
Posts: 6828
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 11:02 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Contact:

Re: NOAA Plugin Failure?

Post by DaveL17 »

NOAA have updated the return on the forecast gridpoints API call.
NOAA API wrote:An error occurred.

The information you are requesting is unavailable until 01/01/2024 due to a known technical issue.
I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]
User avatar
wideglidejrp
Posts: 558
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 4:34 pm
Location: Danbury, CT
Contact:

Re: NOAA Plugin Failure?

Post by wideglidejrp »

Are things working properly with NOAA? The state values have not been updating for days. All was working well until recently.
John R Patrick
Author of
Home Attitude
User avatar
DaveL17
Posts: 6828
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 11:02 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Contact:

Re: NOAA Plugin Failure?

Post by DaveL17 »

My NOAA Forecast devices are now updating (as of today) and I've also hit the API directly -- which is also working properly. As far as I can tell, things are back to normal.

If your devices aren't updating as you'd expect, I'd try reloading the plugin (all devices should update when the plugin is started).
I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]
ryanbuckner
Posts: 1086
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2011 12:33 pm
Location: Northern Virginia
Contact:

Re: NOAA Plugin Failure?

Post by ryanbuckner »

Mine haven't updated since the 27th. Just tried a reload.

No errors:

Code: Select all

Jan 1, 2024 at 7:47:21 PM
   Reloading plugin "NOAA Weather 2023.1.1" using API v3.3
   Stopping plugin "NOAA Weather 2023.1.1" (pid 45884)
   Stopped plugin "NOAA Weather 2023.1.1"
   Starting plugin "NOAA Weather 2023.1.1" (pid 97487)
   Started plugin "NOAA Weather 2023.1.1"

 'IAD NOAA Weather' did not change from 2023-12-27 09:52:00', skipping update

User avatar
DaveL17
Posts: 6828
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 11:02 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Contact:

Re: NOAA Plugin Failure?

Post by DaveL17 »

It might be that the repairs that NOAA have rolled out haven't yet made it to all locations.

Try these steps:
1. Disable all but your Forecast device (optional).
2. Turn on debugging in the plugin menu.
3. Restart the plugin.

In the output, look for "Grid JSON". The JSON payload should include a key: 'forecast' that contains a URL like,

Code: Select all

https://api.weather.gov/gridpoints/LOT/77,44/forecast
Copy that URL and try to open it in a browser. If your site is working, you should get a full forecast payload.
I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]
ryanbuckner
Posts: 1086
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2011 12:33 pm
Location: Northern Virginia
Contact:

Re: NOAA Plugin Failure?

Post by ryanbuckner »

I never had a forecast device before. Only a station. I created one and it updated. The station hasn't updated.
Post Reply

Return to “NOAA Weather”