Set up a trigger

Posted on
Sat Dec 26, 2020 5:19 am
yassi offline
Posts: 444
Joined: Sep 06, 2015
Location: Germany

Set up a trigger

I'm trying to set up two triggers wich should modify a variable ("imBuero") treue/false when the Indigo server is playing.
Airfoil & Airfoil Satellite are installed on the Indigo server and actually everything is working, but the the triggers aren't updating the variable.
Can someone point me in the right direction?
What do I have to select in the "device state"? Indigo (Indigo Speaker) or Indigo Airfoil?
Attachments
Bildschirmfoto 2020-12-26 um 12.12.36.png
Bildschirmfoto 2020-12-26 um 12.12.36.png (53.71 KiB) Viewed 512 times
Bildschirmfoto 2020-12-26 um 12.12.25.png
Bildschirmfoto 2020-12-26 um 12.12.25.png (52.71 KiB) Viewed 512 times
Bildschirmfoto 2020-12-26 um 12.11.12.png
Bildschirmfoto 2020-12-26 um 12.11.12.png (124.64 KiB) Viewed 512 times

Posted on
Sat Dec 26, 2020 2:33 pm
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 20380
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: Set up a trigger

What does the Event Log show when the state changes? And how is your Action defined (your screen shots just show the Triggers)?

Image

Posted on
Mon Dec 28, 2020 9:56 am
yassi offline
Posts: 444
Joined: Sep 06, 2015
Location: Germany

Re: Set up a trigger

Wait a minute, Matt.
I though, a trigger should be enough. Don't have an action.
I'm actually connecting to Indigo via Airfoil from other Macs and then Airfoil Satellite activates the "speaker" Indigo.
Isn't this enough to fire the trigger and update the variable?

Posted on
Mon Dec 28, 2020 10:21 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 16557
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Set up a trigger

yassi wrote:
Wait a minute, Matt.
I though, a trigger should be enough. Don't have an action.
I'm actually connecting to Indigo via Airfoil from other Macs and then Airfoil Satellite activates the "speaker" Indigo.
Isn't this enough to fire the trigger and update the variable?


So, on the Actions tab of your Trigger, there's nothing? That's where you'd update the variable right?

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Mon Dec 28, 2020 10:41 am
yassi offline
Posts: 444
Joined: Sep 06, 2015
Location: Germany

Re: Set up a trigger

jay (support) wrote:
yassi wrote:
Wait a minute, Matt.
I though, a trigger should be enough. Don't have an action.
I'm actually connecting to Indigo via Airfoil from other Macs and then Airfoil Satellite activates the "speaker" Indigo.
Isn't this enough to fire the trigger and update the variable?


So, on the Actions tab of your Trigger, there's nothing? That's where you'd update the variable right?


Oh, the action in the trigger setup. I though Matt was speaking about Action (Groups).
For sure. In both cases they are populated.

Nevertheless, only if I fire the trigger manually something appears in the logs (the message that the trigger was fired) . Otherwise (for instance when I select "Indigo" in Airfil on another Mac, nothing happens.
Attachments
Bildschirmfoto 2020-12-28 um 17.38.54.png
Bildschirmfoto 2020-12-28 um 17.38.54.png (73.26 KiB) Viewed 380 times
Bildschirmfoto 2020-12-28 um 17.34.43.png
Bildschirmfoto 2020-12-28 um 17.34.43.png (63.04 KiB) Viewed 380 times
Bildschirmfoto 2020-12-28 um 17.34.31.png
Bildschirmfoto 2020-12-28 um 17.34.31.png (61.55 KiB) Viewed 380 times

Posted on
Mon Dec 28, 2020 12:45 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 16557
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Set up a trigger

This works for me - just tried it with Airfoil on the same Mac. Why would you have Satellite and Airfoil installed? Shouldn't you only need Airfoil? I wonder if that's causing some kind of issue...

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Tue Dec 29, 2020 4:13 am
yassi offline
Posts: 444
Joined: Sep 06, 2015
Location: Germany

Re: Set up a trigger

jay (support) wrote:
This works for me - just tried it with Airfoil on the same Mac. Why would you have Satellite and Airfoil installed? Shouldn't you only need Airfoil? I wonder if that's causing some kind of issue...


Well, without Satellite how should I send from other Macs to the Indigo server (where the speakers are connected - actually a soundbar)?
If Satelitte is running, then I can select "Indigo" as a target for audio.
How are you doing it?
Attachments
Bildschirmfoto 2020-12-29 um 11.10.49.png
Bildschirmfoto 2020-12-29 um 11.10.49.png (170.24 KiB) Viewed 324 times

Posted on
Tue Dec 29, 2020 12:07 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 16557
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Set up a trigger

Ah, I see, you're doing a double indirection. I believe this is the configuration you want:

  1. On your remote Mac or whatever, select the Indigo speaker (which is the Airfoil Satellite running on your Indigo Server). This will cause the sound from that source to play on your Indigo Mac.
  2. On your Indigo Server, you would be using the "Computer" speaker (not the "Indigo" speaker) to turn toggle the sound on/off (I think).

I'm not entirely sure that Rogue Amoeba meant for Airfoil and Airfoil Satellite to be used in this configuration, but in any event Indigo is controlling Airfoil itself (not Satellite), and it's not reporting (via it's API) any changes when it connects/disconnects the "Indigo" speaker, probably because it's a Satellite speaker running on the same Mac.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Tue Dec 29, 2020 12:11 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 16557
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Set up a trigger

yassi wrote:
How are you doing it?


I'm not - I have no reason to send sound from a different source to my Indigo Server... :wink:

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Thu Dec 31, 2020 4:19 am
yassi offline
Posts: 444
Joined: Sep 06, 2015
Location: Germany

Re: Set up a trigger

jay (support) wrote:
Ah, I see, you're doing a double indirection. I believe this is the configuration you want:

  1. On your remote Mac or whatever, select the Indigo speaker (which is the Airfoil Satellite running on your Indigo Server). This will cause the sound from that source to play on your Indigo Mac.
  2. On your Indigo Server, you would be using the "Computer" speaker (not the "Indigo" speaker) to turn toggle the sound on/off (I think).

I'm not entirely sure that Rogue Amoeba meant for Airfoil and Airfoil Satellite to be used in this configuration, but in any event Indigo is controlling Airfoil itself (not Satellite), and it's not reporting (via it's API) any changes when it connects/disconnects the "Indigo" speaker, probably because it's a Satellite speaker running on the same Mac.


Ok, thanks. I will try this.
Or probably I'll wait for the HomePod Mini to arrive, then I will send to it.

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest