2022.2.2 how to update a variable value in a URL

Posted on
Wed Jun 21, 2023 11:59 am
mundmc offline
User avatar
Posts: 1061
Joined: Sep 14, 2012

2022.2.2 how to update a variable value in a URL

I used to rely on this functionality, but it looks like it might be dead.

For example, I used to have an app (Locative) fire off http://USER:PWD@ADDRESS:8176/variables/ ... value=true

I read throught he new HTTP instructions, and I cannot tell if this approach can be approximated.

Posted on
Thu Jun 22, 2023 7:57 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 18224
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: 2022.2.2 how to update a variable value in a URL

Does the Locative app support doing HTTP POST requests? That's what you'll need to use along with the new HTTP API.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Thu Jun 22, 2023 10:09 am
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 7222
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: 2022.2.2 how to update a variable value in a URL

Or use the GeoFence plugin, which supports Locative.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Thu Jun 22, 2023 5:48 pm
mundmc offline
User avatar
Posts: 1061
Joined: Sep 14, 2012

Re: 2022.2.2 how to update a variable value in a URL

Thanks Jay- It DOES have a POST option, I am just uncertain how i package this in a URL encoded line... something maybe like this, but I am in the weeds here:
Code: Select all
https://mundmc.indigodomo.net//v2/api/indigo.variables.updateValue/VARIABLE_ID?api-key=MY_API_KEY


Hey Joe- I just installed your plugin and took a look at it. Am I correct that I need an account with the GeoFancy web service to use Locative (as opposed to just sending geofencing info directly to my reflector? I looked at the subforum but still wasn't clear on it.

Thanks all

Posted on
Thu Jun 22, 2023 6:02 pm
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 7222
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: 2022.2.2 how to update a variable value in a URL

Hey Joe- I just installed your plugin and took a look at it. Am I correct that I need an account with the GeoFancy web service to use Locative (as opposed to just sending geofencing info directly to my reflector? I looked at the subforum but still wasn't clear on it.


I don't think so. You just put the URL into the mobile app. Something like:

Code: Select all
https://mmdc.indigodomo.net/message/se.furtenbach.indigo.plugin.beacon/webhook?api_key=<your reflector token>

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Thu Jun 22, 2023 9:17 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 18224
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: 2022.2.2 how to update a variable value in a URL

jay (support) wrote:
mundmc wrote:
Thanks Jay- It DOES have a POST option, I am just uncertain how i package this in a URL encoded line... something maybe like this, but I am in the weeds here:
Code: Select all
https://mundmc.indigodomo.net//v2/api/indigo.variables.updateValue/VARIABLE_ID?api-key=MY_API_KEY


HTTP POST requests can't be completely specified on a URL line, so I'm unclear what you need exactly. Can you post a screenshot from the POST configuration screen in Locative?

When doing a POST, you specify the URL, headers (though that's optional), and a payload that gets posted to the URL.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Fri Jun 23, 2023 9:35 pm
mundmc offline
User avatar
Posts: 1061
Joined: Sep 14, 2012

Re: 2022.2.2 how to update a variable value in a URL

jay (support) wrote:
HTTP POST requests can't be completely specified on a URL line, so I'm unclear what you need exactly. Can you post a screenshot from the POST configuration screen in Locative?


I think that was what I needed to understand, thank you. I will play with Joe's plugin and see if I can figure this out with his tips.

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests