[ANSWERED]Sample schedules in the software: why no errors?

Posted on
Wed Jul 29, 2015 6:44 am
mlevin77 offline
Posts: 11
Joined: Jul 29, 2015

[ANSWERED]Sample schedules in the software: why no errors?

I just noticed in my Log that a bunch of weird scheduled events appear:

Jul 29, 2015 8:15:00 AM
Schedule workday schedule - at work
Sent (offline) "downstairs thermostat" set heat setpoint to 67.0
Sent (offline) "upstairs thermostat" set heat setpoint to 67.0
Sent (offline) "downstairs thermostat" set cool setpoint to 82.0
Sent (offline) "upstairs thermostat" set cool setpoint to 82.0

I don't have any of these devices and then I realized these are defaults that come with the software. Ok, so they can serve as examples or templates - great. But question: how come it doesn't show any sort of error, when a bunch of schedules go off for devices that don't exist? Shouldn't it notify the user if it tries to execute a schedule and gets no contact with whatever device is being controlled?

Posted on
Wed Jul 29, 2015 9:02 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 15473
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Sample (default) schedules in the software: why no error

The sample database is made up of X10/Insteon devices. If you don't have the X10/Insteon interface enabled, then it will show that the interface is offline when sending commands:

Code: Select all
Sent (offline)


If you enabled the interface, you'd see errors. Just delete the unused devices/schedules. Or, just create a new empty database.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Wed Jul 29, 2015 9:05 am
mlevin77 offline
Posts: 11
Joined: Jul 29, 2015

Re: [ANSWERED]Sample schedules in the software: why no error

Ok, so scheduled events continue to run (and don't log or report an error) if the interface they are meant to use is disabled?

Posted on
Wed Jul 29, 2015 9:40 am
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 19134
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: [ANSWERED]Sample schedules in the software: why no error

Schedules and Triggers run independently of any enabled or disabled interfaces (they have to since the same schedule/trigger might have several actions attached to it, some not related to interfaces at all).

If you want to start with a clean database file then choose the File->New Database menu item.

Image

Posted on
Wed Jul 29, 2015 9:48 am
mlevin77 offline
Posts: 11
Joined: Jul 29, 2015

Re: [ANSWERED]Sample schedules in the software: why no error

Got it, thanks. I was just surprised that scheduled items don't trigger an error if they don't (or can't) run.

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest