Is it just me, or is creating a virtual device very hard?

Posted on
Fri May 17, 2019 9:55 am
emergent offline
Posts: 44
Joined: Aug 30, 2013

Is it just me, or is creating a virtual device very hard?

So I have an action I created. If the status of something changes, it sets a variable to on. After a few minutes, it goes back to off.

Why is it so difficult to make a virtual on/off device that looks at that variable for its state?

Am I missing something here?

Posted on
Fri May 17, 2019 11:57 am
howartp offline
Posts: 3664
Joined: Jan 09, 2014
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Re: Is it just me, or is creating a virtual device very hard

You need my recently launched Variable Device plugin.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Posted on
Fri May 17, 2019 3:24 pm
emergent offline
Posts: 44
Joined: Aug 30, 2013

Re: Is it just me, or is creating a virtual device very hard

Ah, thanks. Looks like what I'm looking for.

So I have a variable that gets set to on or off. I used your plugin to set it up, and it works properly in Indigo.

Then I added it to HomeKit Bridge as a motion sensor. However the status doesn't change in Homekit for some reason.

Posted on
Fri May 17, 2019 3:34 pm
howartp offline
Posts: 3664
Joined: Jan 09, 2014
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Re: Is it just me, or is creating a virtual device very hard

I’m not familiar with HomeKit; feel free to ask the HomeKit devs, and let me know if I need to tweak my plugin to support something.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest