Any experience with the Yale Assure Lock?

Posted on
Sat Mar 31, 2018 11:57 am
zini offline
Posts: 58
Joined: May 19, 2013

Any experience with the Yale Assure Lock?

https://www.amazon.com/Yale-Assure-Touc ... merReviews

Anyone have any experience with this lock and it's integration with Indigo? Considering giving it a shot. Forgive me if I missed it, but I wasn't able to find any feedback on it here in the forums.

Thanks!

Mark

Posted on
Sat Mar 31, 2018 2:47 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 14659
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Any experience with the Yale Assure Lock?

Most Z-Wave locks work correctly for basic functionality (lock/unlock/status) so it seems likely it will work as well though I can't promise of course.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Sun Apr 08, 2018 11:11 am
rycardo offline
Posts: 53
Joined: Jul 10, 2015

Re: Any experience with the Yale Assure Lock?

zini wrote:
https://www.amazon.com/Yale-Assure-Touchscreen-Deadbolt-Z-Wave/dp/B076WZT4VD/ref=sr_1_1_sspa?ie=UTF8&qid=1522346342&sr=8-1-spons&keywords=zwave+yale&psc=1#customerReviews

Anyone have any experience with this lock and it's integration with Indigo? Considering giving it a shot. Forgive me if I missed it, but I wasn't able to find any feedback on it here in the forums.

Thanks!


I just installed one this weekend. However, I purchased the HomeKit compatible one since my house is entirely Insteon/Indigo and Home(Kit).

Installation, Setup, and Use is super easy. The hole in my door was not the size (54mm) that the Yale lock requires, but it was easy enough to drill a large hole, if you don't own your house, this might be an issue. From their website you can down load a template which shows the holes required, so you can check this before purchasing. A template comes with the lock, use that over printing your own, my printed one was off by about 2mm even though I said to print it at 1:1 scale.

I like that you buy the lock with the network module you want. Whether it's Home, Z wave, or one of a few others. If I decided I wanted to ditch Home and go with an other system (or no system), I would just need to buy that little plugin module, not an entirely new lock.

The Yale Secure app could do a few things a little better (like labelling PIN Codes), but overall works really well, once the lock is setup you don't need to use the Yale Secure app unless you need to change lock or PIN settings.

I use Homebridge to bring all my Indigo devices into Home, for devices that aren't in Indigo but are in Home, if I want them in Indigo for status and/or triggers, I create a virtual device, and have Home call Action Groups to control those Virtual devices. I also add the Virtual devices to the Homebridge exclude list so they are not duplicated back in to Home. Since Homebridge I find myself using Indigo Control pages less, and Siri more to control. However, I use a tonne of Indigo Schedules and Triggers, I don't see those going away, even with Home's Automation (triggers).

I had a small issue (read human error) with installing the lock to get around it, I did a factory reset on the Yale lock. However, then it wouldn't join Home again. Even though the instructions said to do a factory reset without the network module, at least for Home, you have do do it with the network module installed. After that, the lock rejoined Home instantly.

Hope this helps, if you have any questions I didn't cover, feel free to ask.

Rycardo

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests