Page 5 of 10

Re: Yamaha RX Plugin - a/v receiver control

PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2017 8:09 pm
by Ramias
Thanks for doing this. A few observations/requests:

Can you add support for Scenes? I like to use Scenes because it is a single action that powers on and sets the input at the receiver; thus no potential timing issues. On my receiver, Scene 2 (TV) also powers on the Samsung TV via HDMI-CEC on the Yamaha (Indigo doesn't do this; it just sends the Scene 2 command).

Also, it looks like it switches Zones, then issues commands. The old plugin allowed for discrete Zone 2 commands while the Main receiver was physical on Zone 1. Any way you can add in discrete Zone 2 commands instead of having to switch to Zone 2 first?

In terms of Status Update, I'm getting this message in my logs:
Error cannot update device state for key input to value HDMI5 (invalid enumeration value)

My use case is to trigger when Input AV4 = True (that gets set automatically when I turn the TV on via HDMI-CEC for some reason; AV4 is the Optical return and I can't get the receiver not to do that) and then immediately switch it back to HDMI5 which is my TV input. But that trigger isn't even firing yet so it's not what is causing the HDMI5 log error.

Thanks

Re: Yamaha RX Plugin - a/v receiver control

PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2017 11:30 am
by jay (support)
Ramias wrote:
Can you add support for Scenes? I like to use Scenes because it is a single action that powers on and sets the input at the receiver; thus no potential timing issues. On my receiver, Scene 2 (TV) also powers on the Samsung TV via HDMI-CEC on the Yamaha (Indigo doesn't do this; it just sends the Scene 2 command).


I don't see any scene support in the rxv library which is what I'm using for communication, so unless someone adds it to that library it won't work in the plugin (and then someone would need to add it to the plugin).

Ramias wrote:
Also, it looks like it switches Zones, then issues commands. The old plugin allowed for discrete Zone 2 commands while the Main receiver was physical on Zone 1. Any way you can add in discrete Zone 2 commands instead of having to switch to Zone 2 first?


This is how the library works - it stores one zone as the "active" zone and all commands got to that zone. So you have to switch between zones before sending commands if you want to switch. It would be possible to modify the plugin to do otherwise probably, but it would be a non-trivial amount of work and not something I'd be interested in doing myself since my receiver doesn't have multiple zones. Perhaps one of the other contributors to the plugin would like to take a stab at it and then submit a PR. I'd be glad to offer some suggestions as to how to approach it.

Ramias wrote:
In terms of Status Update, I'm getting this message in my logs:
Error cannot update device state for key input to value HDMI5 (invalid enumeration value)

My use case is to trigger when Input AV4 = True (that gets set automatically when I turn the TV on via HDMI-CEC for some reason; AV4 is the Optical return and I can't get the receiver not to do that) and then immediately switch it back to HDMI5 which is my TV input. But that trigger isn't even firing yet so it's not what is causing the HDMI5 log error.

Thanks


That error means that HDMI5 isn't in the list of valid inputs retrieved from the rxv library - not sure why that would be the case if you are able to set that input through the plugin. Does it always do that or only sometimes?

Re: Yamaha RX Plugin - a/v receiver control

PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2017 4:09 pm
by Ramias
Thanks Jay

Looks like the library is somewhat incomplete if it doesn't support scenes and zones. I went back to my rev of the plugin so no longer get the HDMI5 error. The only think my version doesn't do is the auto detect of receivers and update status.

I may look at your code and see if I can get status updating working in mine. That way when the receiver switches to Optical I can automatically switch it back to HDMI5 without using a timer but instead an event.

Yamaha RX Plugin for a RX-V581

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2017 1:25 pm
by tjm000
This plugin seems to work, mostly, with my RX-V581.
My receiver was discovered and I'm able to use the following commands:

volume (increase, decrease)
set volume
toggle mute
set mute
toggle power
set power
set sleep
set input
although I have not been able to link up with AirPlay yet
menu up, down (but maybe not all the time)

display device states (these are the ones that I checked: Power, Input, Sleep, Volume)
but when the Pandora input is selected nothing gets updated in the device state display

But the following commands don't seem to work:
menu left, right
menu select
menu return

play net radio station
I tried to enter various station names but nothing I seemed to use worked.

Also I'm not sure what the "get status" command is supposed to do.

I only have a single zone so I couldn't mess around with the set zone command.

Re: Yamaha RX Plugin - a/v receiver control

PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2017 9:19 am
by jay (support)
Is there an error or debug messsage in the Event Log when you have Pandora selected? Or any errors/debug messages in the Event Log when you try to use the commands that aren't working? Menu left and right are not consistent on my V473 either, but select and return seem to work all the time.

Unfortunately, this is one of the downsides to using a 3rd party library: sometimes they aren't fully tested, etc. And, in this instance, the library only claims to work on the Vx73 line, I was just hoping it would work equally well on other, newer models.

Re: Yamaha RX Plugin - a/v receiver control

PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2017 9:37 am
by tjm000
Yes, I keep getting the following error message (on a fairly frequent basis) in the Event Log when the Pandora option is selected:

Error cannot update device state for key input to value Pandora (invalid enumeration value)

I wasn't observing the Event Log when I tried the commands that didn't seem to work. So I'll try them again to see if anything pops up in the Event Log.
I'll try again with the Menu Select / Return feature just to be sure they are not working for me.

Also, I was hoping that the "experimental" command that you have was also going to work....

Re: Yamaha RX Plugin - a/v receiver control

PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2017 10:05 am
by jay (support)
Ok, I know what the pandora problem is. I think I could make the input state choices more dynamic, but that's a non-trivial amount of work that I really didn't want to do. In the Github repo, add an issue with the information above about Pandora. I don't know when I'll have time to circle back to this plugin, but perhaps someone else will.

Re: Yamaha RX Plugin - a/v receiver control

PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2017 10:49 pm
by kelmk
I'm having a strange issue with this plugin. Generally it works great but in the log when I am on HDMI5 I get this error continuously
Error cannot update device state for key input to value HDMI5 (invalid enumeration value)
It seems to slow my system down quite a bit as well until I change to a different input.
Any ideas?
Thanks

Re: Yamaha RX Plugin - a/v receiver control

PostPosted: Mon May 22, 2017 9:45 am
by jay (support)
It shouldn't be slowing anything down - the plugin is just reporting that it doesn't understand that HDMI5 is a valid input (the receiver I tested with only has 4). I've added a new v1.0.1 release on Github that I think should fix that.

Re: Yamaha RX Plugin - a/v receiver control

PostPosted: Mon May 22, 2017 9:54 am
by jay (support)
jay (support) wrote:
It shouldn't be slowing anything down - the plugin is just reporting that it doesn't understand that HDMI5 is a valid input (the receiver I tested with only has 4). I've added a new v1.0.1 release on Github that I think should fix that.


Also attempted to add Pandora support as identified above - let me know if that works.

Re: Yamaha RX Plugin - a/v receiver control

PostPosted: Mon May 22, 2017 10:09 am
by jay (support)
Try the 1.0.2 release - it has a switch in the plugin's config dialog to toggle debug logging (so you can stop it).

Re: Yamaha RX Plugin - a/v receiver control

PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2017 3:48 am
by kelmk
That's fantastic thanks!

Re: Yamaha RX Plugin - a/v receiver control

PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2017 12:37 pm
by jltnol
I'm contemplating a new Yamaha RX-A series receiver and am curious if anyone has any idea if the newer series of receivers might work with this plugin..

Of course, I'm not looking for promises... just some informed idea.... 'cause my idea is just "hope that it will.."

Re: Yamaha RX Plugin - a/v receiver control

PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:06 pm
by jltnol
Hey guys

Just a quick note that I was able to do a quick test this plug in with both the RX-A1070, and the RX-A3070, and everything seems to be working just fine. No doubt there may be a few control differences, but from the short time I was experimenting, all major functions seemed to work fine.

This is a great plugin, and thanks for everyone who has worked so hard to bring it up to date.

Cheers

Jeffrey

Re: Yamaha RX Plugin - a/v receiver control

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2018 10:45 am
by jay (support)
jltnol wrote:
Hey guys

Just a quick note that I was able to do a quick test this plug in with both the RX-A1070, and the RX-A3070, and everything seems to be working just fine. No doubt there may be a few control differences, but from the short time I was experimenting, all major functions seemed to work fine.

This is a great plugin, and thanks for everyone who has worked so hard to bring it up to date.


Good news indeed. Which device type did you specify to get those working (RX-Vx73 or RX-3900)? I'll update the docs to reflect them.

Also, is the input selection list correct?