Page 5 of 15

Re: Pushover Plugin - push notifications

PostPosted: Sun Jul 19, 2015 2:51 pm
by markf424
The issue of needing a delay is actually a plugin issue. The http connection isn't closed properly. I've submitted a change here: https://github.com/markf/indigo-pushover

The easy way to fix is to simply add:
Code: Select all
conn.close()

as the last line of
Code: Select all
 /Library/Application Support/Perceptive Automation/Indigo 6/Plugins/pushover.indigoPlugin/Contents/Server Plugin/plugin.py

Re: Pushover Plugin - push notifications

PostPosted: Sun Jul 19, 2015 11:27 pm
by MarcoGT
Thanks a lot, I will give it a try :)

Re: Pushover Plugin - push notifications

PostPosted: Sun Jul 26, 2015 9:28 pm
by discgolfer1138
nice catch, why not submit a pull request ? :)

Re: Pushover Plugin - push notifications

PostPosted: Sun Jul 26, 2015 10:22 pm
by discgolfer1138
got your pull request, merged and updated version to 1.1.3. new release available here:
https://github.com/IndigoDomotics/indig ... tag/v1.1.3

Re: Pushover Plugin - push notifications

PostPosted: Sun Jul 26, 2015 11:48 pm
by MarcoGT
Thanks :)

Re: Pushover Plugin - push notifications

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2015 12:39 pm
by LeeButler
I'm running 1.1.3 and everything appears to work but Pushover messages are never being delivered. The Event Log has the message sent but no error conditions at all.

Testing from pushover.net or sending email all work fine, but nothing I send from Indigo is arriving. How can I debug this?

Thanks,
Lee

Re: Pushover Plugin - push notifications

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2015 1:04 pm
by LeeButler
Well, this is a little embarrassing.. More experimentation fixed my problem. The message body is a required field. As log as I have something in the message field (vs title) the messages arrive.

Re: Pushover Plugin - push notifications

PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2015 9:00 am
by markf424
LeeButler wrote:
Well, this is a little embarrassing.. More experimentation fixed my problem. The message body is a required field. As log as I have something in the message field (vs title) the messages arrive.


I use the title as a classification of sorts, and the message as my data. For instance, if the message has to do with my pool, title will be "Pool", and message will be something like "Solar Heat Off due to warm water." Or whatever. I find it useful to categorize the messages this way.

Re: Pushover Plugin - push notifications

PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2015 11:53 am
by cjp767
Here is a problem that is clearly mine-- I have a number of Pushover notifications set for different things-- they're working perfectly. Unfortunately, I have created a Pushover notification set with the wrong verbiage-- the text I am sending in Pushover does not reflect what's going on. (I likely did a copy/paste into an incorrect Trigger or Action Group).

So, how can I find which trigger or action group that Pushover notification is coming from? I do not see a reference for it in the Event Log. Further, the message is intermittent. You gotta love troubleshooting intermittent issues. The only Pushover entries in the log reflect my upgrading to Pushover 1.1.3 (i'm a little late to the party).

It's obvious I've made an error. Is there a list of "pushovers sent" and their sources?

thanks for any help!

Re: Pushover Plugin - push notifications

PostPosted: Sun Sep 13, 2015 12:41 pm
by markf424
One way is to get into Terminal on your server machine and do the following:
Code: Select all
cd /Library/Application\ Support/Perceptive\ Automation/Indigo\ 6/Databases/
grep -B6 -A50 "your erroneous string here" <your database>.indiDb


You may have to change the B (lines before) and especially A (lines after) to bigger numbers to give you enough clues. This should at least give you the raw output of the section of your DB that is triggering the alert. You will see your alert Action, preceded or followed by any other action, then you'll see the Conditions listed under the ConditionList heading. The conditions should be enough to tell you what's causing the erroneous alert.

Hope this helps.

Re: Pushover Plugin - push notifications

PostPosted: Sun Sep 13, 2015 1:10 pm
by cjp767
That's a great input, thank you. I'll use that the next time I see an issue. Of course I haven't had any "bad" Pushover notifications since I posted. The system likely thinks I have embarrassed myself sufficiently.

Re: Pushover Plugin - push notifications

PostPosted: Wed Sep 23, 2015 9:36 am
by whmoorejr
Simple question:

Leave device field blank = all devices

Device name = just that device

Device names format? = 3 of 10 devices

If you want to send a push to 3 of your 10 devices, what is the format? I've tried all kinds of combinations... Space, comma, slash etc between device names. In my experiments, either just the first device in my list gets the push or all devices in my push universe.... But not just the 3 devices.

I'm trying to limit my random experiments as everytime the kitchen iPad dings, the Rottweiler thinks we are under attack and looses her mind -> wakes baby -> wife upset -> anti nerd commentary -> Because our house will be awesome!, now make me a sandwich! (Last part is just in my head, don't tell her I said that)

Re: Pushover Plugin - push notifications

PostPosted: Wed Sep 23, 2015 10:28 am
by markf424
whmoorejr wrote:
If you want to send a push to 3 of your 10 devices, what is the format? I've tried all kinds of combinations... Space, comma, slash etc between device names. In my experiments, either just the first device in my list gets the push or all devices in my push universe.... But not just the 3 devices.


From https://pushover.net/api:
device - your user's device name to send the message directly to that device, rather than all of the user's devices (multiple devices may be separated by a comma)

The plugin doesn't do anything with the text you enter except strip() it, meaning removing leading or trailing whitespace. So if you enter your devices separated by a comma and no spaces, you should get the desired outcome.

For instance:

Code: Select all
iphone,tablet,desktop

I just tested this and it works in my configuration.

Re: Pushover Plugin - push notifications

PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2015 7:25 pm
by philipbasile
discgolfer,

quick question before I move to pushover.

If I send text messages from indigo to my iPhone with the plugin will they all land in a single thread on my iPhone or will they each be their own thread.

Thanks

Philip

Re: Pushover Plugin - push notifications

PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2015 8:02 pm
by whmoorejr
philipbasile wrote:
discgolfer,

quick question before I move to pushover.

If I send text messages from indigo to my iPhone with the plugin will they all land in a single thread on my iPhone or will they each be their own thread.

Thanks

Philip


It's not a "text" message (MMS or SMS). It's a push notification. (Each one will be on a separate line in the pushover app on your phone.

The major up-side to a push notification versus a text is the delivery speed.

I hope that helps.