INSTEON Communication Woes...

Posted on
Thu Dec 24, 2020 6:02 pm
bobm91001 offline

INSTEON Communication Woes...

I've been fighting communications issues to several of my devices, for the purpose of this post I'll concentrate on two of them.

First a bit about my set up. I've been using Indigo for many years, mostly with INSTEON devices. I currently have, I think, 44 INSTEON devices of various types I also have an X10 bridge between the two phases in the house. Indigo is running on a Mac mini with a PowerLink 2448A7. Most device communications to/from Indigo a pretty reliable. However there are a few that are much less so.

The two I'll concentrate on are a KeypadLinc (brand new since I thought the old one might have been the issue) and an I/O Linc for the garage door.

First, the KeypadLinc (Firmware 45(. It is in a gang of three, all share the same common, ground and power connections. I took me well over an hour with many attempts to sync links after replacing the old with the new. The other two in the gang are SwitchLinc relays (Firmware 41 and 43); these seem to respond just fine. The KeypadLinc fails on roughly 50% of status requests. Most of my issues seem to be with KeypadLincs.

Second is the Garage Door I/O Linc (Firmware 41). It also fails on approximately 50% of the status requests. As an experiment I plugged an On/Off Module (Firmware 48) directly into the I/O Linc. it is pretty much 100% reliable.

Due to these issues getting the garage door to be reliable has been nearly impossible.

FWIW, both of these are on the same circuit (I know since I couldn't open the garage door while I changed out the KeypadLinc! :? )

Thanks for any ideas on how to deal with this.

Posted on
Sat Dec 26, 2020 3:18 pm
matt (support) offline
Site Admin

Re: INSTEON Communication Woes...