EZIO8SA, EZIO2X4, EZIO8T support in Indigo

Posted on
Tue Apr 28, 2009 12:26 pm
anode offline
Posts: 697
Joined: May 27, 2007
Location: NC

(No subject)

[quote="support"]
To change one of the binary outputs you can do this:

Code: Select all
set binary outputs of device "My EZIO Device" to {true, true, false, false}


Can you just address a single output?

Posted on
Tue Apr 28, 2009 1:53 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 18200
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

(No subject)

I don't have one with multiple outputs to test with, but you should be able to do:

Code: Select all
item 1 of binary outputs of device "whatever"


to access a specific output.

However, I don't believe you can set a specific binary output without sending the whole list. This is mainly because IO devices can have variable numbers of outputs and rather than change the AppleScript terminology for each specific IO device type, we wanted to keep it more abstracted.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Tue Apr 28, 2009 2:09 pm
anode offline
Posts: 697
Joined: May 27, 2007
Location: NC

(No subject)

I get this error:

Code: Select all
item 3 of binary outputs of device "OI_Rack 2"
Code: Select all
IndigoServer got an error: Can’t get item 3 of binary outputs of device "OI_Rack 2".


Or if I use a set with a plethora of 'to {values}' I get:

Code: Select all
   set item 3 of binary outputs of device "OI_Rack 2" to true
Code: Select all

IndigoServer got an error: Can’t set item 3 of binary outputs of device "OI_Rack 2" to true.
[/code]

Posted on
Tue Apr 28, 2009 2:52 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 18200
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

(No subject)

anode wrote:
I get this error:

Code: Select all
item 3 of binary outputs of device "OI_Rack 2"
Code: Select all
IndigoServer got an error: Can’t get item 3 of binary outputs of device "OI_Rack 2".


Or if I use a set with a plethora of 'to {values}' I get:

Code: Select all
   set item 3 of binary outputs of device "OI_Rack 2" to true
Code: Select all

IndigoServer got an error: Can’t set item 3 of binary outputs of device "OI_Rack 2" to true.


What kind of device is it exactly? If run from the script editor, what does the following result in:

Code: Select all
 binary outputs of device "OI_Rack 2"


Seems like there's an odd coercion issue here. Try this:

Code: Select all
set theOutputList to binary outputs of device "OI_Rack 2"
set theFirstOutput to item 1 of theOutputList


Did theFirstOutput get set to either true or false?

As I said before, I'm pretty sure the "set item 3" line won't work because it doesn't treat each binary output as a separate property, only a list. So, you'd want to do what Matt suggested above (and pass in a list with the value for each output in order).

But, I don't have an EZIO to test with so I'm not positive. ;)

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Tue Apr 28, 2009 2:59 pm
anode offline
Posts: 697
Joined: May 27, 2007
Location: NC

(No subject)

Its a 8SA firmware 2.5

The querying the outputs works

Posted on
Tue Apr 28, 2009 3:17 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 18200
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

(No subject)

anode wrote:
Its a 8SA firmware 2.5

The querying the outputs works


So, setting theOutputList and then getting item 1 of that list worked? I'm not exactly sure why referencing item 1 of the binary outputs on the same line doesn't work - yet another oddity when it comes to AppleScript coercions...

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Tue Apr 28, 2009 3:20 pm
anode offline
Posts: 697
Joined: May 27, 2007
Location: NC

(No subject)

Yeah, AS is a bit odd in some of its ways.

I've been using triggers and variables to work the outputs now.

Posted on
Fri May 01, 2009 9:20 pm
bobeast offline
User avatar
Posts: 400
Joined: Apr 16, 2003

Controlling a ceiling fan with EZIO4O

Hi Guys,

I'm using an EZIO4O relay module to control a ceiling fan. What I've done is wire the outputs directly up to the switches in a donor remote.

I've got the fan Hi/Lo/Off working as expected. Here's my problem. The Light button uses a very short duration press to toggle the light on or off. Any longer than about 1 second, and the light begins ramping up or down in brightness.

Is there a way to send the device an on, followed by an off within 1 second? I tried just sending consecutive on/off with no delay, but the toggle still takes over 1 second, resulting in bright/dim, as opposed to toggle.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance

Choose to chance the rapids.
Dare to dance the tide.

Posted on
Sat May 02, 2009 6:15 am
anode offline
Posts: 697
Joined: May 27, 2007
Location: NC

(No subject)

Bob, applescript I think can do it, use a "on for 1" for a one second on time.

Now the question is can Indigo, the powerlinc and EZIO all work that fast?

Posted on
Sat May 02, 2009 10:59 am
bobeast offline
User avatar
Posts: 400
Joined: Apr 16, 2003

(No subject)

anode wrote:
Bob, applescript I think can do it, use a "on for 1" for a one second on time.

Now the question is can Indigo, the powerlinc and EZIO all work that fast?


Thanks! I'll give that a try.

Choose to chance the rapids.
Dare to dance the tide.

Posted on
Sat May 02, 2009 12:04 pm
bobeast offline
User avatar
Posts: 400
Joined: Apr 16, 2003

(No subject)

bobeast wrote:
anode wrote:
Bob, applescript I think can do it, use a "on for 1" for a one second on time.

Now the question is can Indigo, the powerlinc and EZIO all work that fast?


Thanks! I'll give that a try.


Alas. that did not work. The device requires something like this;

Code: Select all
set binaryOutputVals to (get binary outputs of device "Bob's Fan")
set item 1 of binaryOutputVals to true
set binary outputs of device "Bob's Fan" to binaryOutputVals


To turn on a specific output. That pattern doesn't accept for 1 as a modifier. If I do this;

Code: Select all
set binaryOutputVals to (get binary outputs of device "Bob's Fan")
set item 1 of binaryOutputVals to true
set binary outputs of device "Bob's Fan" to binaryOutputVals
set item 1 of binaryOutputVals to false
set binary outputs of device "Bob's Fan" to binaryOutputVals


it still takes too long, (note I'm not using any delay at all, in this example) The latency is just to great.

Matt/Jay, any chance of getting UI to manipulate the device's internal delay timer? (EZIO4O)

Choose to chance the rapids.
Dare to dance the tide.

Posted on
Sat May 02, 2009 4:06 pm
jamus offline
Posts: 179
Joined: Dec 01, 2007

(No subject)

bobeast wrote:
it still takes too long, (note I'm not using any delay at all, in this example) The latency is just to great.


http://ourworld.compuserve.com/homepage ... /page9.htm has an example of a circuit that will activate a relay for only a second after the button is pressed. Look for "555 timer Mono stable (one shot) circuit".

Posted on
Sat May 02, 2009 7:10 pm
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 21411
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

(No subject)

Did you try entering a 1 in the Enable output timers edit field of the EZIO's module settings (via Edit Module Settings.. button in Device dialog)? Also make sure you check Use seconds for output timer intervals, and then press Upload All Settings.

Using a 1 there should cause the EZIO to toggle it back to off within around 1 second. I think that is the fastest it can be done without using something like a 555 timer as Jamus mentioned.

Image

Posted on
Sat May 02, 2009 8:40 pm
bobeast offline
User avatar
Posts: 400
Joined: Apr 16, 2003

(No subject)

support wrote:
Did you try entering a 1 in the Enable output timers edit field of the EZIO's module settings (via Edit Module Settings.. button in Device dialog)? Also make sure you check Use seconds for output timer intervals, and then press Upload All Settings.

Using a 1 there should cause the EZIO to toggle it back to off within around 1 second. I think that is the fastest it can be done without using something like a 555 timer as Jamus mentioned.


Duh. I completely missed that UI and set the timers using SHN's PC utility. That solved the dimming problem (sort of).

It looks like SHN's idea of "1 second" varies from activation to activation!! Sometimes, The relay opens back up immediately (much less than 1 second), such that the fan doesn't see the press at all. This drives my state out of context, so I STILL can't tell if the light is on or off via a variable.

And here all along, I though 1 second was well....1 second :?

Choose to chance the rapids.
Dare to dance the tide.

Posted on
Mon Sep 06, 2010 6:17 pm
editordz offline
Posts: 67
Joined: Dec 01, 2006
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA

Re: EZIO8SA, EZIO2X4, EZIO8T support in Indigo

I have a (small) feature request for the EZIOs... would it be possible to add "toggle binary output" in addition to "turn on" and "turn off"?

-Dan

Page 5 of 10 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 ... 10

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests