totally new to this world

Posted on
Sun Jan 15, 2006 5:24 am
cejero offline

totally new to this world

So I'm new to this, but of course you know this, because you read the thread title. I currently have no setup (not X10 or Insteon) So I've got a couple questions that I'm hoping people can answer.

1) Thru Indigo can I have RF X10 Motion Detectors turn on INSTEON SwitchLinc V2 (Talking via INSTEON not X10 compatibility mode) or do I have to wait until

2) I've got 2 switches that control the same set of lights (ie: overhead kitchen lights) and understand that to be a 3-way situation. Do I purchase 1 SwitchLinc V2 and an ICON Dimmer to have a 3-way thing go on or 2 Switchlinc V2s or what... I can't really find an answer to these.

3) If I have controllable Dimmer switches inplace (INSTEONs) then I don't need to use X10 receptacles in the walls correct? I'm only controlling lights at this point anyway, no HVAC, or coffee machines.. Just lights which i want controlled via motion detectors at sunset and night.

My goal is to develop my house with the capability to upgrade and add new features and capabilities as they come, and not limit myself in any way. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

-Chris-

Posted on
Sun Jan 15, 2006 3:04 pm
Alexander offline

Re: totally new to this world

cejero wrote:
1) Thru Indigo can I have RF X10 Motion Detectors turn on INSTEON SwitchLinc V2 (Talking via INSTEON not X10 compatibility mode) or do I have to wait until

Yes. You'll need a W800RF32 and a serial adapter to get the X10 RF into your Mac, then an Insteon PowerLinc to get Insteon signals out. Indigo 1.8 can then handle bridging the X10 RF to Insteon powerline.

cejero wrote:
2) I've got 2 switches that control the same set of lights (ie: overhead kitchen lights) and understand that to be a 3-way situation. Do I purchase 1 SwitchLinc V2 and an ICON Dimmer to have a 3-way thing go on or 2 Switchlinc V2s or what... I can't really find an answer to these.