When I plugin 2413U while pressing LED, RED light is on - wh

Posted on
Sun Jan 07, 2018 7:01 pm
blindasabat offline
Posts: 9
Joined: Jul 25, 2014

When I plugin 2413U while pressing LED, RED light is on - wh

I have a 2413U that has stopped working. When I press the set button and plug it in, the led turns red. (Revision 2.3) I tried 2 older units (Revision 2.1) with the same result. I unplugged all my INSTEON units (2 - 2443's, 5 - 2456S3's and 2 - 2456S3E's) Then as I flipped each circuit breaker I pressed the set button on the 2413U and plugged it back in. Each time the red led turned on. Do you have any idea of what I can do?[/size][/size]

Posted on
Mon Jan 08, 2018 11:22 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 14156
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: When I plugin 2413U while pressing LED, RED light is on

I believe that any time the LED is red on a PowerLinc it means that it's having some kind of hardware issue. I'd recommend calling Smarthome to see what they have to say about it.

[MODERATOR NOTE] moved to correct forum.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Mon Jan 08, 2018 4:06 pm
blindasabat offline
Posts: 9
Joined: Jul 25, 2014

Re: When I plugin 2413U while pressing LED, RED light is on

Hi,

I called INSTEON support at 800 762-7845. They asked me to link the 2413U with a 2456S3 with out using the Indigo interface. It worked. They then said they do not have any information on Indigo, but it sounds like a problem with te PLM interface. I INSTEON/X10 Power Line Disable and Enable. Did not correct the problem. I did a INSTEON/X10 Power Line Configure and a Save. This did not correct the problem. At the bottom left of the Indigo display it shows, in green, Pwer Line 2413U. But when I try to turn on a unit the single goes half way across the display and stops. The lamp does not turn on. I am not sure what to do at this point.

Please is there someone I can talk to on the phone? My number is 813 988-1571

Thanks,
Jerry Morris and yes I am legally blind trying to do this.

Posted on
Mon Jan 08, 2018 4:34 pm
roussell offline
User avatar
Posts: 931
Joined: Aug 18, 2008
Location: Alabama

Re: When I plugin 2413U while pressing LED, RED light is on

Sounds like a communication problem. You didn’t recently upgrade your Mac to High Sierra, did you?

If not, try a different USB interface on the Mac, and if you have a cat, make sure there are no bite marks on the cable (happened to me)!

Terry


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Mon Jan 08, 2018 6:55 pm
blindasabat offline
Posts: 9
Joined: Jul 25, 2014

Re: When I plugin 2413U while pressing LED, RED light is on

I created a new temp database and added a device to it. It worked. I switched back to the original database. Now some devices turned on while others failed. Is their a utility that will check the validly of a database. Ot better yet, a way to unload and reload a database. Attached is the Log file.
Attachments
2018-01-08 Events.txt
(72.2 KiB) Downloaded 11 times

Posted on
Tue Jan 09, 2018 12:06 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 14156
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: When I plugin 2413U while pressing LED, RED light is on

Not sure what you mean by unload and reload - I think I'd just got through each device in my DB and do a define and sync (from the device edit dialog). Then you can determine if there are specific devices that are having issues.

I can say that these kinds of issues:

Code: Select all
2018-01-08 16:29:14.566   Interface Failure   failed to establish connection with serial interface PowerLinc Modem on port usbserial-A704EP6O

2018-01-08 16:45:59.641   Interface Failure   lost connection with interface


Indicate some kind of inconsistent communication between the Mac and the PowerLinc, which usually ends up being 1) a bad USB cable, 2) sporadic signal noise, 3) a bad PowerLinc, 4) a USB issue with the OS.

Also, this issue:

Code: Select all
2018-01-08 19:30:00.458   Action Collection Error   Error in plugin execution InitializeMain:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<string>", line 1, in <module>
  File "plugin.py", line 40, in __init__
  File "/Library/Application Support/Perceptive Automation/Indigo 7/IndigoPluginHost.app/Contents/PlugIns/plugin_base.py", line 256, in __init__
  File "/System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.7/lib/python2.7/logging/handlers.py", line 171, in __init__
  File "/System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.7/lib/python2.7/logging/handlers.py", line 64, in __init__
  File "/System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.7/lib/python2.7/logging/__init__.py", line 911, in __init__
  File "/System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.7/lib/python2.7/logging/__init__.py", line 941, in _open
IOError: (13, 'Permission denied', u'/Library/Application Support/Perceptive Automation/Indigo 7/Logs/indigoplugin.ActionCollection/plugin.log')


Indicates something is wrong with your Indigo installation. Rerun the installer and that might fix permission errors like that. If it doesn't then you'll need to attempt to repair permissions on your disk.

And then, these:

Code: Select all
2018-01-08 19:44:58.568   Error   "XMAS - Fireplace" on; send failed (no acknowledgment)
2018-01-08 19:45:09.286   Error   "XMAS - Fireplace" status request; send failed (no acknowledgment)
2018-01-08 19:49:16.289   Error   "XMAS - Tree" status request; send failed (no acknowledgment)
2018-01-08 19:49:22.413   Error   "XMAS - Left side yard" status request; send failed (no acknowledgment)
2018-01-08 19:49:28.543   Error   "XMAS - Inside back door" status request; send failed (no acknowledgment)
2018-01-08 19:49:34.668   Error   "XMAS - Front porch" status request; send failed (no acknowledgment)
2018-01-08 19:49:40.780   Error   "XMAS - Fireplace" status request; send failed (no acknowledgment)
2018-01-08 19:49:46.909   Error   "XMAS - Bottom of stars" status request; send failed (no acknowledgment)
2018-01-08 19:49:53.030   Error   "Lving Room left table lamp" status request; send failed (no acknowledgment)
2018-01-08 19:49:59.162   Error   "Left side yard" status request; send failed (no acknowledgment)
2018-01-08 19:50:05.285   Error   "Lamp post back yard (UNUSED)" status request; send failed (no acknowledgment)
2018-01-08 19:50:11.416   Error   "Front yard" status request; send failed (no acknowledgment)
2018-01-08 19:50:17.543   Error   "Back yard" status request; send failed (no acknowledgment)
2018-01-08 19:50:23.669   Error   "XMAS - Fireplace" off; send failed (no acknowledgment)
2018-01-08 19:50:29.812   Error   "XMAS - Fireplace" on; send failed (no acknowledgment)
2018-01-08 19:50:35.940   Error   "XMAS - Bottom of stars" status request; send failed (no acknowledgment)


Mean that Indigo told the PowerLinc to send the command, but the device never responded that it received the command. So those generally indicate signal noise issues. Given all of these errors, I'm guessing that you just have a bad case if noise which is causing not only PowerLinc to device communication errors, but it's also causing the PowerLinc to get so busy trying to decipher the signal noise that it's periodically not responding to the Mac, which causes the first error (the Mac losing connection to the PLM). Check the signal troubleshooting page for tips on finding and fixing signal noise.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Tue Jan 09, 2018 11:02 pm
blindasabat offline
Posts: 9
Joined: Jul 25, 2014

Re: When I plugin 2413U while pressing LED, RED light is on

This is a list of my devices.

1 - 2413U
2 - 2443
5 - 2456S3
2 - 2473SWH
5 - 2456S3E

I have a 2443 in the same room as the 2413U (One side of the house)
The 2nd 2443 is in my garage. (Second side of the house)

4 of the 2456S3's and 2 of the 2456S3E's are only used at Christmas. All had been working with out a problem until last week end.

Do you think a INSTEON Range Extender (2992-222) would help.

It is strange that this problem occurred out of the blue.

Posted on
Wed Jan 10, 2018 9:51 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 14156
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: When I plugin 2413U while pressing LED, RED light is on

A range extender is basically the same as a 2443. I have no idea what those part numbers are (the model name is much more useful), but more dual-band devices (either range extenders or other dual-band devices) may (or may not) help. If the problem started last weekend, consider carefully if anything changed - something as simple as changing out a lightbulb or plugging in something new or different.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Wed Jan 10, 2018 9:53 pm
blindasabat offline
Posts: 9
Joined: Jul 25, 2014

Re: When I plugin 2413U while pressing LED, RED light is on

I should have not been so shortsighted.

Hopefully this make more sense,
2 - Smarthome 2443 Access Point INSTEON Wireless Phase Coupler
5 - Smarthome 2456S3 ApplianceLinc V2 INSTEON Plug-In Appliance On/Off Module, 3-Pin (Discontinued)
2 - Smarthome 2473SWH OutletLinc INSTEON Remote Control Outlet
5 - Smarthome 2456S3E ApplianceLinc INSTEON Outdoor Plug-In On/Off Module

Even though they were all working before, I unplugged the units I use for Christmas. Now the system works. Tomorrow I will plug them back in 1 a time in an attempt to try to determine if they caused the problem.

Maybe we/you should change the Subject of this entry, to be more descriptive of my problem. St this point it appears that the failure is not with the Smarthome 2413U PowerLinc Modem INSTEON Dual-Band USB Interface.

Posted on
Thu Jan 11, 2018 12:06 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 14156
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: When I plugin 2413U while pressing LED, RED light is on

I don't believe any of those are dual-band - just an observation. Let us know what more you find.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Thu Jan 11, 2018 7:09 pm
blindasabat offline
Posts: 9
Joined: Jul 25, 2014

Re: When I plugin 2413U while pressing LED, RED light is on

I plugged in all my Christmas units. They are all working. I did find 1 error on a device used next to my fireplace.

an 11, 2018, 7:26:32 PM
Sent INSTEON "XMAS - Fireplace" status request (received: 100)
Error "XMAS - Fireplace" on; failed (PowerLinc not in module's database -- try the Define and Sync process in the device dialog)
Error "XMAS - Fireplace" off; failed (PowerLinc not in module's database -- try the Define and Sync process in the device dialog)

So I did a re-sync.

Jan 11, 2018, 7:27:22 PM
PowerLinc Linking - syncing PowerLinc links (address 44.85.79)
PowerLinc Linking - . . adding: INSTEON plc link to controller 20.B3.A9, flags 03, group 01, data 00 00 FF
PowerLinc Linking - sync complete
PowerLinc Linking - PowerLinc links updated
PowerLinc Linking - initializing remote device "XMAS - Fireplace" (address 20.B3.A9, firmware version 42)
PowerLinc Linking - adding PowerLinc to database of module 20.B3.A9
PowerLinc Linking - entered discovery linking mode (240 seconds)
PowerLinc Linking - received module button pressed from 20.B3.A9
PowerLinc Linking - exited linking mode
PowerLinc Linking - initialize complete
PowerLinc Linking - syncing remote device "XMAS - Fireplace" (address 20.B3.A9, firmware version 42)
PowerLinc Linking - syncing all links
PowerLinc Linking - . . . read: INSTEON dev link to controller 3D.96.C1, flags A2, group FE, data FF 00 00
PowerLinc Linking - . removing: old PowerLinc address 3D.96.C1 from device's database
PowerLinc Linking - . . . read: INSTEON dev link to controller 44.85.79, flags A2, group FE, data FF 00 00
PowerLinc Linking - comparing local and remote links
PowerLinc Linking - compare complete
PowerLinc Linking - sync complete
PowerLinc Linking - device "XMAS - Fireplace" links updated

I then did a Turn on, Turn off and then back on.

Sent INSTEON "XMAS - Fireplace" status request (received: 100)
Sent INSTEON "XMAS - Fireplace" on
Sent INSTEON "XMAS - Fireplace" off
Sent INSTEON "XMAS - Fireplace" on

I did not see a error after that. I am going to leave the units Plugged in for a couple of days to see if the problem returns.

Question. Does it make any difference how I schedule the times to turn the units off and on. Individually or all at one time. Please see the attachments.

I may have screwed up the attachments. Can I attach more that one screen shot at a time. I created the document Schedules.rtfd and tried to attach it. But it gives me the error. The extension zip is not allowed.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2018-01-11 at 7.55.37 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-01-11 at 7.55.37 PM.png (52.93 KiB) Viewed 735 times
Screen Shot 2018-01-11 at 7.54.52 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-01-11 at 7.54.52 PM.png (53.23 KiB) Viewed 735 times
Screen Shot 2018-01-11 at 7.52.31 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-01-11 at 7.52.31 PM.png (266.56 KiB) Viewed 735 times
Screen Shot 2018-01-11 at 7.52.31 PM.png
Example of how I set up my schedules.
Screen Shot 2018-01-11 at 7.52.31 PM.png (266.56 KiB) Viewed 735 times

Posted on
Fri Jan 12, 2018 10:59 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 14156
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: When I plugin 2413U while pressing LED, RED light is on

Those look fine.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Tue Jan 16, 2018 1:03 pm
blindasabat offline
Posts: 9
Joined: Jul 25, 2014

Re: When I plugin 2413U while pressing LED, RED light is on

My setup has stopped working again!

I have a 2-story house. My computer and the Smarthome 2413U PowerLinc Modem INSTEON Dual-Band USB Interface, computer and 1 of the Smarthome 2443 Access Point INSTEON Wireless Phase Coupler are in a 2nd floor bedroom. All the other INSTEON modules are on the 1st floor. When I move the Smarthome 2456S3 ApplianceLinc V2 INSTEON Plug-In Appliance and the Smarthome 2456S3E ApplianceLinc INSTEON Outdoor Plug-In On/Off Module modules to the 2nd floor, they all work. My normal setup has worked fine until Christmas. When Christmas comes and I add the control units for my lights, things sometimes work and sometimes do not. What I now have is proving to be too temperamental.

WILL it help stop my problems if I replace ALL the units with those that are dual-band devices? I am tired of the problems with those that seem to fail if a light switch is turned on! Or is there a list of local Tampa Florida installers I can call to correct/replace my system with one that will "just work each year"?

Please, any help would be great.

Posted on
Wed Jan 17, 2018 11:44 am
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 18371
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: When I plugin 2413U while pressing LED, RED light is on

Replacing the modules might help, but if there is bad enough power line noise/interference then we've seen that confuse modules enough that they don't work correctly even via RF.

What errors are you seeing in the Event Log window now?

Image

Posted on
Wed Jan 17, 2018 4:17 pm
blindasabat offline
Posts: 9
Joined: Jul 25, 2014

Re: When I plugin 2413U while pressing LED, RED light is on

This the event log. I hope this helps.
Attachments
2018-01-17 Events.txt
(903 Bytes) Downloaded 8 times

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests