Sony Bravia plug in just stopped working with my TV

Posted on
Mon Nov 16, 2015 5:16 pm
brianlloyd offline
User avatar
Posts: 215
Joined: May 26, 2013
Location: San Antonio, TX, USA

Re: Sony Bravia plug in just stopped working with my TV

BTW, as a further data point, with the TV off it still responds to pings, which implies that the cpu is still running the network stack. It also supports IPv6 now. (I don't know if my older TV did.) Previously you could wake it up with its MAC address if I recall. Now it looks like maybe the wake-up might be an IP packet.

Posted on
Tue Nov 17, 2015 7:59 am
RogueProeliator offline
User avatar
Posts: 2437
Joined: Nov 13, 2012
Location: Baton Rouge, LA

Re: Sony Bravia plug in just stopped working with my TV

I just got two new Bravia TVs. These are the new "Android" TV. The plug-in works with the new TV for everything except turning the TV on. Yes, I have enabled Remote Start (supposedly allows a remote system to "wake up" the TV) and I have played with "Simple IP Control" both on and off. Nothing seems to change the behavior. Once the TV is on everything works just fine. Any suggestions?

What's the model number? I'll have to look it up and see if I can find the code to send... the Wake-On-LAN that previously worked is almost definitely not going to work, as you surmised, if the TV's interface is remaining powered... it will think it is already powered up and won't know to just turn on the screen power. I would be really surprised if there is not an equivalent ON command, maybe even responding to the power IR code or something.

Adam

Posted on
Tue Nov 17, 2015 8:08 am
brianlloyd offline
User avatar
Posts: 215
Joined: May 26, 2013
Location: San Antonio, TX, USA

Re: Sony Bravia plug in just stopped working with my TV

The two new TVs are: XBR49X830C and XBR55X810C. Probably going to get a couple more.

Posted on
Sat Nov 21, 2015 9:40 pm
RogueProeliator offline
User avatar
Posts: 2437
Joined: Nov 13, 2012
Location: Baton Rouge, LA

Re: Sony Bravia plug in just stopped working with my TV

I just got two new Bravia TVs. These are the new "Android" TV. The plug-in works with the new TV for everything except turning the TV on.

Do those TV models respond to the TV Off command through the plugin (available via the Send Button command)? If so, then gives this IR code a try by going to the Send Arbitrary Command option on the Plugins menu. This corresponds to the ON button's IR code:

AAAAAQAAAAEAAAAuAw==

Adam

Posted on
Sat Nov 21, 2015 10:38 pm
brianlloyd offline
User avatar
Posts: 215
Joined: May 26, 2013
Location: San Antonio, TX, USA

Re: Sony Bravia plug in just stopped working with my TV

RogueProeliator wrote:
I just got two new Bravia TVs. These are the new "Android" TV. The plug-in works with the new TV for everything except turning the TV on.

Do those TV models respond to the TV Off command through the plugin (available via the Send Button command)? If so, then gives this IR code a try by going to the Send Arbitrary Command option on the Plugins menu. This corresponds to the ON button's IR code:

AAAAAQAAAAEAAAAuAw==

Adam


That did it. The TV came on when I sent it that code.

I suppose you could have the plug-in send both wake-on-LAN and the 'On' code above.

Posted on
Tue Nov 24, 2015 8:16 pm
brianlloyd offline
User avatar
Posts: 215
Joined: May 26, 2013
Location: San Antonio, TX, USA

Re: Sony Bravia plug in just stopped working with my TV

FYI, I just discovered that one of my new TVs lost its pairing with the server and I had to re-pair it. Unfortunately I did that before turning debugging on again.

Regardless, it looks like your fix for pairing didn't work.

Sorry.

Posted on
Wed Jan 27, 2016 11:10 pm
brianlloyd offline
User avatar
Posts: 215
Joined: May 26, 2013
Location: San Antonio, TX, USA

Re: Sony Bravia plug in just stopped working with my TV

Just discovered that the TVs have lost their pairing again. So, yeah, the fix didn't work.

I have to get some more displays. Would you recommend something other than Sony? I just use them as monitors but use indigo to turn them on/off and select the desired HDMI input. I notice you have done the plug-in for Sharp as well. Would you care to comment on which has the more robust control protocol? I must admit, having to manually re-pair the Sony TVs to Indigo has become a bit tiresome.

Posted on
Wed Jan 27, 2016 11:23 pm
RogueProeliator offline
User avatar
Posts: 2437
Joined: Nov 13, 2012
Location: Baton Rouge, LA

Re: Sony Bravia plug in just stopped working with my TV

I have to get some more displays. Would you recommend something other than Sony? I just use them as monitors but use indigo to turn them on/off and select the desired HDMI input. I notice you have done the plug-in for Sharp as well. Would you care to comment on which has the more robust control protocol? I must admit, having to manually re-pair the Sony TVs to Indigo has become a bit tiresome.

I'd like to see if we can figure out why yours are not auto-re-pairing, but just haven't had the time... work being extremely stressful and time consuming at this moment (company is in oil & gas... enough said). :-(

ANYWAY, I think we could still work through the issues, but to answer your question the Sharp is far, far, far better of a control protocol. My Sharp TV provides full feedback on every features/status including power on/off. No pairing is involved (it is a simple username/password security mechanism) and is solid. A few TVs don't support all commands (I seem to remember Jay's, in fact, not supporting all commands/states), but the basic operation / status is there for every one I've investigated. The nice thing is that Sharp seems to (normally) produce the command set in their manual, so we can tell ahead of time if a TV is support and which features will work.

Adam

Posted on
Thu Jan 28, 2016 7:24 am
brianlloyd offline
User avatar
Posts: 215
Joined: May 26, 2013
Location: San Antonio, TX, USA

Re: Sony Bravia plug in just stopped working with my TV

RogueProeliator wrote:
I'd like to see if we can figure out why yours are not auto-re-pairing, but just haven't had the time... work being extremely stressful and time consuming at this moment (company is in oil & gas... enough said). :-(


No rush. I can relate to the works issues. I live in Texas.

ANYWAY, I think we could still work through the issues, but to answer your question the Sharp is far, far, far better of a control protocol. My Sharp TV provides full feedback on every features/status including power on/off. No pairing is involved (it is a simple username/password security mechanism) and is solid. A few TVs don't support all commands (I seem to remember Jay's, in fact, not supporting all commands/states), but the basic operation / status is there for every one I've investigated. The nice thing is that Sharp seems to (normally) produce the command set in their manual, so we can tell ahead of time if a TV is support and which features will work.


OK. I'm going to make my new displays Sharp instead of Sony. I haven't been real happy with the quality of the Sony displays when in 4k mode anyway, at least not when using them as monitors with the computer generating a native 4k raster. There doesn't appear to be any attempt at anti-aliasing in the sony display at 4k. 1080p is beautiful but 4k is rough has heck. Maybe Sharp lives up to their name.

Posted on
Mon Feb 01, 2016 12:24 pm
nsosnicki offline
Posts: 168
Joined: Nov 14, 2004
Location: Boston, MA, US

Re: Sony Bravia plug in just stopped working with my TV

FWIW, I was very happy with my 2014 Sharp 70" both in terms of picture quality and ease of HA integration using the Indigo plug-in.

Then it died after 18 months, out of warranty. Fortunately, I had an extended service plan (SquareTrade). When I spoke to their Sharp TV specialist, he said that this type of failure is very common with Sharp. They replaced every board in the TV still with no luck. They then decided to replace the TV, but they very much pushed a Sony as the replacement instead of other brands.

I got the XBR75X850C but haven't had it long enough to make a decision on the picture quality. I can say that the Android TV integration was a pain and it took me hours to shut it all down (sometimes, you just want a monitor and don't need suggested youtube videos or your calendar appointments popping up).

Hopefully I'll get to trying out the Sony plug-in for Indigo soon.

Posted on
Mon Feb 01, 2016 1:03 pm
brianlloyd offline
User avatar
Posts: 215
Joined: May 26, 2013
Location: San Antonio, TX, USA

Re: Sony Bravia plug in just stopped working with my TV

All I use my TVs for is monitors. If I could get rid of all the useless "smart TV" stuff I would. Alternatively, if I could hack them to run my own software I would be much happier. (Does anyone know of any TV that has been hacked to run linux and still function as a switchable monitor?)

I now have three Sony Bravia TVs. The Indigo plug-in works well as long as the TV is 'paired' with Indigo. Every 2 weeks or so I have to re-pair the TVs to allow Indigo to control them. When paired they work just peachy. But then my needs are simple: on, off, HDMI1, HDMI2, HDMI3, HDMI4. I don't use any other TV functions. When used as a 4K monitor the Sony has no anti-aliasing (that I can see) so text ends up looking pretty jaggy. But having a 50" monitor for each computer works really well.

Posted on
Mon Feb 01, 2016 9:29 pm
RogueProeliator offline
User avatar
Posts: 2437
Joined: Nov 13, 2012
Location: Baton Rouge, LA

Re: Sony Bravia plug in just stopped working with my TV

Okay... still busy as heck, but a couple of "lights at the end of the tunnel" have given me a tiny bit of time in the evenings when I can investigate things. When it fail with pairing, can you once again turn on full debug and try a command so that we can see the full return information? As before, just need enough to get the full scope of what is being sent back.

Did my fix for the re-pairing work for a while before it stopped again? I only ask because some time in there I switched to the Requests module in Python so I am wondering if I introduced a bug in the "not paired" detection or something.

Adam

Posted on
Tue Feb 02, 2016 8:22 am
brianlloyd offline
User avatar
Posts: 215
Joined: May 26, 2013
Location: San Antonio, TX, USA

Re: Sony Bravia plug in just stopped working with my TV

OK, I will get a dump of the response next time one of the TVs stops responding. As before, I'll turn on debug, send a couple of commands, re-pair, send a command to confirm it is working, and turn off debug.

At first it appeared your fix might have been working but my gut feel is that it really did not fix the problem and, in fact, nothing has changed. I was thinking that a hack would be to periodically re-pair with the TV and just ignore that error that is returned if the pairing is valid. But that is always going to leave a window where the TV and Indigo are not paired. Yes, the right answer certainly is to be able to figure out from the error message that the pairing has expired and to re-pair automatically, and then resubmit the last (failed) command.

I am going to be busy on a project for a week that will preclude running this test now. The house is torn up as part of the remodel and I am going to have to take my Z-wave network down. I'll let you know when I have an example to show you.

Posted on
Tue Feb 23, 2016 8:01 am
brianlloyd offline
User avatar
Posts: 215
Joined: May 26, 2013
Location: San Antonio, TX, USA

Re: Sony Bravia plug in just stopped working with my TV

OK, the pairing went away again and this time I remembered to enable debugging. I tried to turn the TV on (it failed), I then re-paired it, and then sent the TV-on command again (this time it was successful). Here is the dump.

Feb 23, 2016, 07:50:45
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Plugin preferences updated

Feb 23, 2016, 07:51:10
Action Group Guest TV on
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Returning default GUIConfigValue for sonyTvRemoteDevice:deviceIsChildDevice
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Returning default GUIConfigValue for sonyTvRemoteDevice:deviceIsChildDevice
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Returning default GUIConfigValue for sonyTvRemoteDevice:deviceIsChildDevice
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Returning default GUIConfigValue for sonyTvRemoteDevice:deviceIsChildDevice
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Returning default GUIConfigValue for sonyTvRemoteDevice:deviceIsChildDevice
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Returning default GUIConfigValue for sonyTvRemoteDevice:deviceIsChildDevice
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Command queue has 2 command(s) waiting
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Command queue has 1 command(s) waiting
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Received SOAP/JSON command request:
/sony/IRCC
urn:schemas-sony-com:service:IRCC:1#X_SendIRCC
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<SOAP-ENV:Envelope SOAP-ENV:encodingStyle="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/encoding/" xmlns:SOAP-ENV="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/envelope/">
<SOAP-ENV:Body>
<m:X_SendIRCC xmlns:m="urn:schemas-sony-com:service:IRCC:1">
<IRCCCode xmlns:dt="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:datatypes" dt:dt="string">AAAAAQAAAAEAAAAuAw==</IRCCCode>
</m:X_SendIRCC>
</SOAP-ENV:Body>
</SOAP-ENV:Envelope>

Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Processing SOAP/JSON operation to /sony/IRCC
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Sending SOAP/JSON request:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<SOAP-ENV:Envelope SOAP-ENV:encodingStyle="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/encoding/" xmlns:SOAP-ENV="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/envelope/">
<SOAP-ENV:Body>
<m:X_SendIRCC xmlns:m="urn:schemas-sony-com:service:IRCC:1">
<IRCCCode xmlns:dt="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:datatypes" dt:dt="string">AAAAAQAAAAEAAAAuAw==</IRCCCode>
</m:X_SendIRCC>
</SOAP-ENV:Body>
</SOAP-ENV:Envelope>
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Command Response: [403]
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug SOAP_REQUEST command completed.


Feb 23, 2016, 07:53:12
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Received an authentication command, attempting connection
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Sending Auth Request: {"id":13, "method":"actRegister", "version":"1.0", "params": [{"clientid":"DuncanwareRemote:34c43339-af3d-40e7-b1b2-743331375368c", "nickname":"DuncanwareRemote (IndigoPlugin)"}, [{"clientid":"DuncanwareRemote:34c43339-af3d-40e7-b1b2-743331375368c", "value":"yes", "nickname":"DuncanwareRemote (IndigoPlugin)", "function":"WOL"}]]}
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Response to Auth Request: [200] [('set-cookie', 'auth=BA0A76C8A66EE07CF4207BF459F3F17698BAD29F; Path=/sony/; Max-Age=1209600; Expires=Tue, 08 Mar 2016 13:53:07 GMT+00:00'), ('content-length', '21'), ('content-type', 'application/json'), ('connection', 'close')]

{"result":[],"id":13}
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Obtained Auth Cookie: auth=BA0A76C8A66EE07CF4207BF459F3F17698BAD29F
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Entering deviceStopComm for TV-Guest BR; ID=118323906
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Returning default GUIConfigValue for sonyTvRemoteDevice:deviceIsChildDevice
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Initiating shutdown of communications with TV-Guest BR
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Command thread ending processing
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Shutdown of communications with TV-Guest BR complete
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Exiting deviceStopComm for TV-Guest BR
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Entering deviceStartComm for TV-Guest BR; ID=118323906
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Returning default GUIConfigValue for sonyTvRemoteDevice:deviceIsChildDevice
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Returning default GUIConfigValue for sonyTvRemoteDevice:deviceIsChildDevice
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Returning default GUIConfigValue for sonyTvRemoteDevice:deviceIsChildDevice
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Exiting deviceStartComm for TV-Guest BR
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Concurrent Processing Thread started for device 118323906
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Returning default GUIConfigValue for sonyTvRemoteDevice:updateStatusPollerIntervalProperty
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Returning default GUIConfigValue for sonyTvRemoteDevice:updateStatusPollerActionId
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Returning default GUIConfigValue for sonyTvRemoteDevice:emptyQueueReducedWaitCycles
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Returning default GUIConfigValue for sonyTvRemoteDevice:databaseConnectionEnabled
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Database access enabled:
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Database access has been disabled, skipping connection
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Command queue has 1 command(s) waiting
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Create connection command de-queued
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Returning default GUIConfigValue for sonyTvRemoteDevice:updateStatusPollerStartupDelay
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Command queue has 2 command(s) waiting
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Initiating sleep of 3.0 seconds from command.
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Command queue has 1 command(s) waiting
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Ignoring status update request, no action specified to update device status

Feb 23, 2016, 07:54:33
Action Group Guest TV on
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Returning default GUIConfigValue for sonyTvRemoteDevice:deviceIsChildDevice
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Returning default GUIConfigValue for sonyTvRemoteDevice:deviceIsChildDevice
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Returning default GUIConfigValue for sonyTvRemoteDevice:deviceIsChildDevice
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Returning default GUIConfigValue for sonyTvRemoteDevice:deviceIsChildDevice
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Returning default GUIConfigValue for sonyTvRemoteDevice:deviceIsChildDevice
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Returning default GUIConfigValue for sonyTvRemoteDevice:deviceIsChildDevice
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Command queue has 2 command(s) waiting
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Command queue has 1 command(s) waiting
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Received SOAP/JSON command request:
/sony/IRCC
urn:schemas-sony-com:service:IRCC:1#X_SendIRCC
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<SOAP-ENV:Envelope SOAP-ENV:encodingStyle="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/encoding/" xmlns:SOAP-ENV="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/envelope/">
<SOAP-ENV:Body>
<m:X_SendIRCC xmlns:m="urn:schemas-sony-com:service:IRCC:1">
<IRCCCode xmlns:dt="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:datatypes" dt:dt="string">AAAAAQAAAAEAAAAuAw==</IRCCCode>
</m:X_SendIRCC>
</SOAP-ENV:Body>
</SOAP-ENV:Envelope>

Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Processing SOAP/JSON operation to /sony/IRCC
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Sending SOAP/JSON request:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<SOAP-ENV:Envelope SOAP-ENV:encodingStyle="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/encoding/" xmlns:SOAP-ENV="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/envelope/">
<SOAP-ENV:Body>
<m:X_SendIRCC xmlns:m="urn:schemas-sony-com:service:IRCC:1">
<IRCCCode xmlns:dt="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:datatypes" dt:dt="string">AAAAAQAAAAEAAAAuAw==</IRCCCode>
</m:X_SendIRCC>
</SOAP-ENV:Body>
</SOAP-ENV:Envelope>
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug Command Response: [200] <?xml version="1.0"?>
<s:Envelope
xmlns:s="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/envelope/"
s:encodingStyle="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/encoding/">
<s:Body>
<u:X_SendIRCCResponse xmlns:u="urn:schemas-sony-com:service:IRCC:1">
</u:X_SendIRCCResponse>
</s:Body>
</s:Envelope>
Sony Bravia Network Remote Plugin Debug SOAP_REQUEST command completed.

Posted on
Tue Feb 23, 2016 8:22 am
brianlloyd offline
User avatar
Posts: 215
Joined: May 26, 2013
Location: San Antonio, TX, USA

Re: Sony Bravia plug in just stopped working with my TV

BTW, I was thinking of switching to a Sharp TV but there are a number of horror stories out there about failing displays and poor support from the importer. The Sony Bravia TVs are a bit more expensive but they seem to be pretty reliable even if the API over the ethernet isn't as easy to work with.

OTOH, if there were a plug in for the LG OLED TV's ...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest