ISY Bridge Plugin

Posted on
Tue Dec 19, 2017 9:57 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 14404
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: ISY Bridge Plugin

It's doubtful that anything about the plugin itself isn't working with Indigo 7 - AFAIK we've not deprecated or changed anything that would break backwards compatibility. So I think it's more likely that the ISY API has changed somehow (nobody has worked on that plugin in a very long time).

Any errors/clues in the Event Log?

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Wed Dec 20, 2017 6:13 pm
rifraf4u offline
Posts: 6
Joined: Dec 17, 2017

Re: ISY Bridge Plugin

Ok, got it working! thanks... issue was specifying port 80... which was being defaulted elsewhere... took that out, and all is good.

thank you.

Posted on
Wed Jan 03, 2018 10:02 pm
joel.snyder offline
Posts: 18
Joined: Aug 31, 2016

Re: ISY Bridge Plugin

Folks:
I have made a pull request on the Github ISY after making significant changes in the plugin to support more devices (specifically Z-Wave), fix a number of bugs, and generally clean up Insteon/X-10 support with the UDI.

I have this running against V7 Indigo/v5 UDI, so this should work with any recent version.

For my particular devices, it has been going flawlessly for 3 weeks, so I am pushing the code up and offering it to anyone else who wants to give it a try.

My main goal here is to make the UDI act as an "extension" or slave of the Indigo side. What I really need is large property support, and Indigo won't handle multiple Z-Wave networks while UDI is in perpetual Alpha (for 2 years!) on their multi-device support. So I'm not trying to export all of the features of the UDI; in particular, I have not bothered to look at anything related to running programs on the UDI side (since I figure you can write them on the Indigo side and just touch the devices on the UDI side). Most of my testing has focused on X-10 and Insteon plus Z-Wave devices attached to the UDI being properly displayed/managed/updated on the Indigo side.

Problem reports welcome, as is any collaboration for anyone who wants to go further and add more devices or features of devices.

You can see my pull request here: https://github.com/IndigoDomotics/ISY-Bridge/pull/8 or if you want to just download my stuff and give it a try, here: https://github.com/JoelSnyder/ISY-Bridge

Posted on
Thu Jan 04, 2018 2:07 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 14404
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: ISY Bridge Plugin

Thanks Joel for the contribution, it's great someone is running with this plugin. I've merged the changes in the Github repo, created a new release, and added that release to the plugin in the Plugin Store.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Wed Jan 10, 2018 4:30 pm
rifraf4u offline
Posts: 6
Joined: Dec 17, 2017

Re: ISY Bridge Plugin

Joel, perfect timing... I have been trying to get the ISY bridge fully operational, and for the most part it works (after hacking the multicast issue)... one issue is that the scene and program lists seem not to update properly... I have found that the 'replacePluginPropsOnServer method doesn't alway seem to work.... so for example the code in updateISYScenes:

self.debugLog("Here are the keys: %s" % pluginProps.keys())
dev.replacePluginPropsOnServer(pluginProps)
self.debugLog("Did the replace")

is called, and the debug shows that the scene props are there...

but in populateSceneList, if I do this

self.debugLog("Here are the keys: %s" % ISY.pluginProps.keys())

the newly added scene keys are not in the props... I can';t figure out how to debug this!!!!

I'm not an accomplished programer, but can hack around so to speak... before I try your likely better version, did you come across this issue and fix it?

Posted on
Wed Jan 10, 2018 7:39 pm
rifraf4u offline
Posts: 6
Joined: Dec 17, 2017

Re: ISY Bridge Plugin

Rubatosis : :D

Posted on
Thu Jan 11, 2018 3:41 am
joel.snyder offline
Posts: 18
Joined: Aug 31, 2016

Re: ISY Bridge Plugin

Hi rifraf4u.

I did not venture at all into the scenes/programs part of the UDI plugin, because I was basically running everything programmatically from the Indigo. In other words, for example, my nightly "lights out" program runs on the Indigo and reaches over the plugin each time for each light that goes out. I understand that there are differences in what and how you program, so maybe that's not for everyone.

Anyway, all I'm saying is that I haven't investigated that section, not to discourage you from doing it your way, because I didn't need it. However, I can take a look at it when I get back at the end of the month if you haven't figured it out.

In terms of debugging, I have to say that the robustness of the Indigo system really impressed me, so what I have been doing is editing the plugin and doing a re-load. You can probably see a ton of commented-out debugging. I spent a LOT of time in UpdateISYDevices which should be pretty similar to UpdateISYScenes, and getting the plugin to flow stuff over to the Indigo side was usually pretty reliable. Honestly, I haven't found much instability on the Indigo side. That said, there were a lot of logic errors in the original plugin in UpdateISYDevices, so I wouldn't be surprised if there are some incorrect assumptions on UpdateISYScenes. I tried to add a ton of comments so it should be slightly more readable than it was before.

I do remember that the Indigo side didn't throw errors when perhaps it should have, for example if I tried to refer to a device that didn't exist. Eventually, it popped out as an error in trying to refer to the data structure, but you might want to be sure when you're doing updates that the updates hit the Indigo and they're actually there. I am not sure if you can see Scenes in the GUI, but I found the GUI on the Indigo side invaluable for "seeing" what was going on with devices.

Let me know if you don't figure it out and we can connect in a few weeks and work on it to get it cleaned up.

Joel (jms@opus1.com)

Posted on
Sun Apr 29, 2018 2:28 pm
qcvictor offline
Posts: 70
Joined: Apr 23, 2015
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: ISY Bridge Plugin

Can I get variables states created in the ISY ? I'm using Autelis Hayward pool control previously with the isy, will be great if can catch this data....

Posted on
Mon Apr 30, 2018 1:53 am
joel.snyder offline
Posts: 18
Joined: Aug 31, 2016

Re: ISY Bridge Plugin

>Can I get variables states created in the ISY ?

Just to make sure I understand: you want variables that were created on the Indigo side to be propagated to the ISY side?
Or variables that change on the ISY side to be propagated to the Indigo side?

My experience running an ISY coupled to the Indigo has been not too good. I got the plugin working and very stable, but ... The ISY folks have been in alpha with v5 of their software for years, and there are lots of small bugs attached to v5, especially in Z-wave land (which is what I care about most). I ended up leaving the bare minimum on the ISY and have moved all my programs to the Indigo side. Indigo is not guilt-free here either---there are VERY few bugs, but some functionality is missing (e.g., saving and restoring programs easily) . But that has worked best for me.

Anyway I don't want to tell you how to do things, but if you are trying to propagate variables from one side to the other, it might be simpler to have the program run where the variables are already living.

Let me know which direction you're trying to have the variables go, and the next time I'm editing the plugin, I'll try and get that feature in. Probably won't be before July 4.

Joel
(jms@opus1.com)

Posted on
Mon Apr 30, 2018 4:02 am
qcvictor offline
Posts: 70
Joined: Apr 23, 2015
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: ISY Bridge Plugin

Hi Joel
Initial goal was to get variables that change on the ISY side to be propagated to the Indigo side, but found more easily to get information from the Autelis pool controller via xml file 'http://poolcontrol/status.xml' and parse data with the plugin GhostXML, couple virtual switches and triggers do the trick excepted for temperature where I don't now how display value....
So the ISY is go back on the shelve ;-)
Vic

Posted on
Mon Apr 30, 2018 9:59 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 14404
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: ISY Bridge Plugin

joel.snyder wrote:
but some functionality is missing (e.g., saving and restoring programs easily) .


Can you shed some light on that statement? Is that a shortcoming in the ISY plugin or something in Indigo?

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest