Safe update checks FTW!!

User avatar
jay (support)
Site Admin
Posts: 18310
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Austin, Texas
Contact:

Safe update checks FTW!!

Post by jay (support) »

I don't often single out developers because you guys are all awesome, but I'm going to make an exception. Adam gets a big gold star for implementing update checks that handle adversity (in this case, GitHub requiring TLS1.0) very well. Today, this is what I see in my logs:

Code: Select all

   TiVo Network Remote Plugin         Checking for updates...
   TiVo Network Remote Plugin Warning Error checking for new plugin version.


Just once with no muss and minimal fuss. Mind you, I'm running a fairly old version of the plugin (from mid last year I think) so it isn't after he's adapted to the current issue.

Congratulations Adam, here's your gold star: Image
Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn
User avatar
RogueProeliator
Posts: 2516
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2012 3:54 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, LA

Re: Safe update checks FTW!!

Post by RogueProeliator »

Congratulations Adam, here's your gold star

ROFL, thanks Jay! :-) I've actually been trying to find some time to take out all those update checks -- it is only in one base class, so as often is the case it isn't the coding but the time to test holding me back. But my plugins SHOULD all handle it that way so it hasn't been a critical priority... (BTW, you can disable the check in the settings or you will get those two lines once per day I believe).

Adam
User avatar
nicb
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 8:57 am

Re: Safe update checks FTW!!

Post by nicb »

I think this GitHub TLS change is also preventing me from creating new triggers

Screen Shot 2018-03-29 at 12.59.58.png
Screen Shot 2018-03-29 at 12.59.58.png (43.44 KiB) Viewed 3570 times
User avatar
Colorado4Wheeler
Posts: 2794
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 10:48 am
Location: Colorado

Re: Safe update checks FTW!!

Post by Colorado4Wheeler »

nicb wrote:I think this GitHub TLS change is also preventing me from creating new triggers

Screen Shot 2018-03-29 at 12.59.58.png

That's a clever way to let a user know there's an update.
My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here
User avatar
RogueProeliator
Posts: 2516
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2012 3:54 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, LA

Re: Safe update checks FTW!!

Post by RogueProeliator »

I think this GitHub TLS change is also preventing me from creating new triggers

Correct, that Event that fires depends upon the GitHub integration so won't work any longer... It is going away in the next plugin release.

In a nutshell, the GitHub change has affected pretty much everyone's update notifications no matter how they are materialized for you... but Jay mentioned in one of the announcements that they were aware of this and would bring some form of update or notification or what not to the Plugin Store eventually. For now, I guess just check the message boards is all I can say. I haven't always posted of new minor updates but will do so now when they are published to the store.

Adam
User avatar
jay (support)
Site Admin
Posts: 18310
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Austin, Texas
Contact:

Re: Safe update checks FTW!!

Post by jay (support) »

RogueProeliator wrote:Jay mentioned in one of the announcements that they were aware of this and would bring some form of update or notification or what not to the Plugin Store eventually,


We will be building in update checks into a future release so that plugin developers don't need to do anything special in their plugins. In the meantime, we've published an API that developers can implement, in place of the older library they were using, to do update checks against the Plugin Store.
Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn
User avatar
RogueProeliator
Posts: 2516
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2012 3:54 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, LA

Re: Safe update checks FTW!!

Post by RogueProeliator »

In the meantime, we've published an API that developers can implement, in place of the older library they were using, to do update checks against the Plugin Store.

Doh, I think I missed that office API, thanks for the pointer... last I remember was the discussion of others creating a few things. Thanks!

Adam
Post Reply

Return to “TiVo Network Remote”