Tivo Channel Change with Harmony Hub and Amazon Echo

Japple55
Posts: 230
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2015 2:54 pm
Location: NE Tennessee

Tivo Channel Change with Harmony Hub and Amazon Echo

Post by Japple55 »

Struggling a bit here and need some advice. I got my Harmony Home Control Hub set up and working fine with the Amazon Echo and IFTTT to run the power on and off macros. I'm now trying to integrate the Indigo Tivo plugin so I can send channel changes to Indigo via the Echo. I set up a virtual device to send the IR code to channel up/down, but it will only work once, presumably because it is either on or off. Alexa just grunts at me when I try it a second time. Any thoughts on what I'm doing wrong, or another better way to accomplish this?
Thanks,
Jim
Japple55
Posts: 230
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2015 2:54 pm
Location: NE Tennessee

Re: Tivo Channel Change with Harmony Hub and Amazon Echo

Post by Japple55 »

Well this was apparently a voice recognition issue with Alexa. I have it mostly working now with ChannelUP and ChannelDOWN commands, Alexa sometimes doesn't understand it.
User avatar
RogueProeliator
Posts: 2517
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2012 3:54 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, LA

Re: Tivo Channel Change with Harmony Hub and Amazon Echo

Post by RogueProeliator »

You can try renaming them something slightly different that sounds the same... I want to say "Alexa, turn off iTunes", but the only way I could reliably get it to work was to name the device (in the Alexa Bridge) as "eye tunes". Now works every single time.
Japple55
Posts: 230
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2015 2:54 pm
Location: NE Tennessee

Re: Tivo Channel Change with Harmony Hub and Amazon Echo

Post by Japple55 »

Thanks Adam, good to know. I'll give that a try.
Jim
Post Reply

Return to “TiVo Network Remote”