Logitech

Plugins to extend Indigo integration to additional hardware and apps to extend Indigo onto other platforms.
Pilott28
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2011 10:36 am

Logitech

Post by Pilott28 »

Looks like you have done a lot of work with remotes. I have a home theater with all the equipment running off the Logitech Harmony touch screen remote except the lights. Indigo says they are not interested in integrating Logitech directly, but suggested a 3rd party plug in. Would you have any interest in helping me figure out how to make this work?

Thanks, Keith
User avatar
toille27
Posts: 234
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 7:21 pm
Location: Doylestown PA

Re: Logitech

Post by toille27 »

I've been using my Logitech Harmony remote with the Insteon IR linc receiver for four years now and it works well. I only use it to control one device associated with my theater system but I could expand it to control any of the Indigo devices.

http://www.smarthome.com/irlinc-receive ... oC6c_w_wcB

Logitech's Harmony software supports the item. https://support.myharmony.com/en-us/compatibility ....type in Smarthome 2411R

The device essentially reads any button press of the Logitech remote and reports it to the Indigo log and from there you can set up triggers to do anything you want. The Logitech software lets you associate any button on the remote with the custom home theater activity you create.

On the down side it does take a while to set up and occasionally there are delays in reaction time.
User avatar
RogueProeliator
Posts: 2517
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2012 3:54 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, LA

Re: Logitech

Post by RogueProeliator »

I am pretty sure that the Logitech remote (outside of the hub) is IR-only, so there isn't all that much integration that can be done outside of what @toille27 describes. At least I am pretty sure it cannot active URLs or IP-control devices.

Adam
User avatar
jay (support)
Site Admin
Posts: 18313
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Austin, Texas
Contact:

Re: Logitech

Post by jay (support) »

Pilott28 wrote:Indigo says they are not interested in integrating Logitech directly, but suggested a 3rd party plug in.
Just to be clear - your question was specifically about the Harmony Hub. As others report, IR integration can be accomplished in a variety of ways, including the Global Cache devices and the Cynical Cache 3rd party plugin.
Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn
Pilott28
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2011 10:36 am

Re: Logitech

Post by Pilott28 »

Thanks Adam and toille27 for clarifying and offering your solutions. I ordered the 2411r. Shame insteon doesn't offer a wall switch with ir integration... That would be a simple solution.

Jay, I looked at the global cache solutions and they seemed more expensive. I got a deal on a refurbed ir unit off amazon and think it will fit my limited need.

Thanks, Keith.
Post Reply

Return to “RogueProeliator's Plugins and Apps”