Misinterpreted Z-Wave command shut off my chest freezer

Posted on
Sun Sep 27, 2020 1:35 pm
beaker offline

Misinterpreted Z-Wave command shut off my chest freezer

I noticed today that my basement chest freezer was shut off. I have it connected to an Aeotec DSC06106 switch, but it's not part of any scenes, triggers, schedules, or anything else - I'm only using it to monitor the amount of power being used. The "Show Dependencies" option returns nothing.

Since it's not part of any actions, and the only way to turn it off is at the switch or manually within Indigo, I didn't have any triggers to tell me when power was shut off. That was a big, expensive, wateful mistake because it had been off for two weeks, spoiling around $1,000 worth of food.

I checked the logs, and it wasn't sent a command to turn it off, but it was turned off when I triggered my "going to bed" action that turns down the heat and turns off a bunch of other things. I've been using this action for around two years and haven't changed it since it was created. It does trigger other Aeotec DSC06106 switches, but not the one connected to the freezer.

The logs show that when I triggered that action, the freezer switch turned off, even though no commands were sent to it.

I have a trigger now to send me a message when the device state changes, but this is really concerning to me. I assumed that it wasn't possible for a Z-Wave device to respond to a command not sent to it, but that's clearly not the case.

I doubt there are any answers for this other than "sometimes weird things happen", but I thought I'd post a message to let people know about it, just in case my experience could help others.

Posted on
Sun Sep 27, 2020 5:09 pm
agame offline

Re: Misinterpreted Z-Wave command shut off my chest freezer

I've had a z-wave controlled window open totally without explanation. Quite weird.